1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Rolls Out Athlon II X2 280 Value Dual-Core Processor

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Feb 6, 2013.

  1. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5,987 (6.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,938
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    This. Nor will it ever be. You don't unlock these kinds of things. Sometimes I think people want everything to be unlockable but the truth it, AMD and Intel want you to invest more in a faster processor, not unlock it for everything that they make money on. So why would they add an easy switch to change it unless it was cheaper to produce the same silicon for both (which I seriously doubt.) :twitch:
  2. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,158 (5.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,959
    Location:
    Home
    Most of the people I know don't really encode and transcode while playing games, yours might be different. At any rate you wouldn't do that if you are running low end processors while playing games.

    I don't know about the advantage of 8 cores over 4, in 2 years time, but what I know is that we had this discussion when Phenom II x6 was released and it turned out that the extra 2 cores were not really useful compared to better 4 cores for most people. So given the current trend, I tend to recommend better 4 cores over 8 cores. You can call me shortsighted, but when I do need 8 cores I will go for 3770(K) rather than 8350 due to my set of circumstances.
    Last edited: Feb 7, 2013
  3. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,419 (3.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,110
    The thing is most programs don't need all those cores, so I totally agree with you there. Multithreading is coming more and more though, especially in the mobile space, but you're right that most people don't need it anyway.
  4. jagd

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2009
    Messages:
    445 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    87
    Location:
    TR
    Factory capacity ; phenom/thuban /regor chips are 45nm piledriver is 32 nm . AMD had to stop 45nm production line ( until they updated to 32nm ) and use 32nm product line for 1core /2thread piledriver than .
    We will see piledriver/steamroller 1module/2thread cpus eventually in production when fab process updated or high end moved to lower process (28-22 nm )

  5. xvi

    xvi

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,897 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,026
    Location:
    Washington, US
    My Phenom II X2 550 BE did not unlock. I remember the unlock success rate being decently good, but not great.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,651 (7.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,971
    Location:
    some AF base
    Youtube is full of video game videos obviously someone is transcoding/encoding while playing games.

    I do see you as being short sighted. Honestly in applications that take advantage of the 8 cores the 3770K doesn't normally do any better than the 3570K. All hyperthreading can do is keep the pipes loaded down, if they are already loaded down it does nothing but hurt.

    This is also a forum about pushing the bleeding edge we are not "most people." Most people don't need more than a dual core like the one listed in this thread. There are no games it cannot handle and no internet browser it cannot run. My tablet and phone both have four cores if you think things are not getting more multithreaded...:rolleyes: Might want to think that one through again.
  7. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,158 (5.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,959
    Location:
    Home
    And to do that you need a very powerful PC, not a cheap dual core. See the streamers thread in the clubhouse forums.

    I will re-evaluate my position in a years time, don't worry. For the past few years since the first gen i7 came out it has always been "strong single core performance after 2 threads, get the faster of the two if equal". It has become "strong single core performance after 4 threads", which is where the FX 4xxx chips becomes very potent in my eyes, while the FX6xxx "has no aim", the 8320 is cheap enough to completely skip the 6 cores. Given the average casual workload (ie not much demands like streaming etc.), my current rule of thumb it will be G540, G860, FX4300/ i3 3225 for those who doesn't need external graphics, then 3570K. For those who needs much more horsepower there is the 8320 right after 4300, and then 8350 for those willing to pay more. Those looking for upgrading will be considered case by case. Feel free to comment on my "go to" processor list, and explain why other choices (if you think so) is superior :toast:
  8. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5,987 (6.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,938
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    It doesn't mean that they have drives with fast I/O storing uncompressed video and doing it after the fact. On the fly encoding is the hardest on the CPU even for a quad core because you have to encode it in real time and still be able to process the game.

    Doing this well in HD on a dual-core might be a stretch though. There are cases where even my 3820 struggles a little bit with it. There is a big difference recording 24p video and 60p video at 1080p though.
  9. GoFigureItOut

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    187 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Could a Celeron G550 or G540 be used for a hackintosh build? I've the feeling the CPU does not have enough power for that OS.
  10. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,651 (7.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,971
    Location:
    some AF base
    Never said the dual core in this thread could handle it. That being said it would outperform a hyperthreaded single core hands down. As for the streamers as I said earlier the FX series performs very well at that better than any of the current more budget minded Intel performance chips available (3570K, 3770K and 3820).

    Only thing I would toss in would be an APU depending on budget and need for better video. Other than that I have no issues with your list.

    Umm...they do lets just leave it at that.
  11. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,158 (5.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,959
    Location:
    Home
    Yeah I was assuming that we are focusing on cheap ass stuff, opps :eek:

    There is no denying that FX is quite decently priced for streamers but from my experiences streamers are the minority which require special attention rather than the majority.

    Forgot about those, but it should come after the G860 for people who can't afford graphics.
  12. tokyoduong

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Messages:
    478 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    119
    My X3 720 did unlock but had to run it at 2.1 ghz to be stable :(

    I had a toss up between 3570k and 8350 black also. In the end, i ended up going intel simply because of better single thread performance(something i can use now!) and micro center had a bundle deal 3570k+asrock z77 extreme4 for ~220. Also power difference, I only had a Corsair CX430 to work with at that time.
    Now i got a Corsair HX650 and my pc sounds like a bird cage.
  13. Ravenas

    Ravenas

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,635 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    Location:
    Tennessee
    That is unbelieveable. I love AMD.
    hellrazor and blibba say thanks.
  14. soryuuha New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Messages:
    95 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    im using old AM2 socket with Athlon 4400+...can I buy this and replace my old 4400+?
  15. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,066 (4.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,373
    depends if that motherboard will support the CPU, and if the board maker has launched a bios update for it.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page