1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Rolls Out New Low-Power Athlon 64 Processors

Discussion in 'News' started by malware, Sep 19, 2007.

  1. malware New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    5,476 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    At the Embedded Systems Conference this week, AMD announced the addition of three new low power AMD Athlon 64 processors to its embedded product lineup, giving systems designers the benefits of AMD64 technology in a thermal envelope as low as 8 watts. The single core AMD Athlon 64 processor models 2000+, 2600+, and 3100+ adopt Socket AM2 and feature power envelopes of 8, 15, and 25W maximum thermal design power, respectively. They support ECC memory for high reliability data applications and are especially applicable for systems such as Network Attached Storage (NAS), Advanced Mezzanine Cards (AMCs) for the telecommunications market, and various single board computing and industrial implementations. These models will be generally available in Q4.

    Source: AMD
  2. Exceededgoku

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2006
    Messages:
    409 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    f**k sake AMD we don't want low power parts! Give me a handheld that needs a 1kw PSU!

    PS this is a joke of course, we can all do with mobile devices with low power envelopes.
  3. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,973 (11.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,389
    i want 8W 3100+ chips.

    god, the laptop potential :D

    personally, i'd love a laptop with a 3000+, 1GB ram and overall it uses 30-40W power for the whole thing. 5+ hours battery ftw!
  4. a111087

    a111087

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,736 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    US
    it actually might be very good for those with HTPC, they will you passive coolers easily
    or those who run their pc 24/7
  5. Urbklr

    Urbklr

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,346 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Location:
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    Haha...more like no cooler easily. 8 watts....very nice!
  6. WhiteLotus

    WhiteLotus

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,530 (2.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    AMD need to create a market for themselves since intel is so strong. going green might be a good idea.
  7. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,117 (5.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    AMD is on a roll!!!

    I'm getting one of these and putting a TEC on it. Just to see what the Chip will do on a heavy overclock.
    -----


    I just told the boss man about these chips, and he was excited to say the least. We could cut the electric bill big time with PCs running these chips.
  8. jydie New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Messages:
    209 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Wow, these will be ideal in a home theater system!! Add a solid state hard drive and the only noise your system will produce will come from the optical drive. With one of these CPUs, you could passively cool the entire system and have nothing to worry about leaving it up 24/7.

    If they keep the cost rather low, I will definitely consider one of these!
  9. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,067 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    793
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    No More Single Core chips AMD. Please release Dual/Triple core chips with the same watt output. AMD will be seen in everybody's home (even more).
  10. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,796 (3.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Get a motherboard that you can put two or three in and bam, 24Watts of total useage. SWEET
  11. Zero Cool

    Zero Cool New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1,199 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Prague, CZ
    wow, imagine this power in a palm
  12. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,067 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    793
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    They are going VIA route?
  13. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    seems like it, but amd's kicking via. amd, just staped some 3100's together and make a 32W x4 cpu :D that would kick intel right in the balls.
  14. surfsk8snow.jah

    surfsk8snow.jah

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    457 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Irvine, CA
    Dude for realz... that's the beauty of this technology, and could potentially be where AMD starts to stomp. Make high-speed, low power consumption processors for cell phones, handheld game systems, heck a Garmin lol... portable and smaller is the way the world's goin, so this is a good market for AMD.
  15. a111087

    a111087

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,736 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    US
    actually 3100 will be 25W, 8W and 15W will be 2000 and 2600
    at least i think so, if i'm right it should be 100W for quad, not very good
  16. Urbklr

    Urbklr

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,346 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Location:
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    100W for a quad would still be pretty damn good!
  17. a111087

    a111087

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,736 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    US
    no, there are quads with lower power consumptions, take phenom for example
  18. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,648 (7.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,971
    Location:
    some AF base
    take the 95 watt C2DQ6600?
  19. a111087

    a111087

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,736 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    US
    well Intel doesn't specify it as max consumption and excludes some other parts, so no
    cdawall says thanks.
  20. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,648 (7.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,971
    Location:
    some AF base
    didnt know that thanks :D
  21. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,973 (11.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,389
    i thought my G0 was 89W?

    not that it matters, at stock it undervolts to around 1.1V, so it'd be 50-60W quad then.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page