1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD sent HD 4830 samples to reviewers with missing shaders

Discussion in 'Articles' started by W1zzard, Oct 22, 2008.

  1. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,969 (3.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,783
    Last edited: Oct 25, 2008
    peach1971, wolf, infrared and 5 others say thanks.
  2. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,263 (5.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,600
    Location:
    Florida
    Intriguing ill see if we have a sample.

    Do you think their were 2 different batches? 560SP for internal testing until they finally decided on a shippable 640SP?
     
  3. wolf2009 Guest

    interesting .

    How did you disable SIMD ?
     
  4. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,370 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,221
    Pushing the big red button. Might get a fix for opening other doors and getting shaders back.
     
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  5. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,020 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,641
    well if its a disable bit, i wonder if its hard disabled or just bios disabled, because you could modify the disable bit to get the 640 shaders, but i think this was the bios encoders fault or something.
     
  6. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,713 (11.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,669
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Did you read the article?

     
  7. ArkanHell New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2006
    Messages:
    96 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Paraguay
    Wiz, you are the man.
     
  8. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,048 (6.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,109
    They've done in the past.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  9. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,260 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    967
    The King of all Wizards.

    THANKS FOR THE INFO!
     
  10. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,110 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,635
    Did you pull the coolers to see if the chips are labeled the same?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,969 (3.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,783
    look at the two reviews. i took photos of both gpus
     
  12. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,110 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,635
    oops
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,232 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    832
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
     
  14. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,969 (3.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,783
    why would amd state 640 shaders in their product brief then and risk to be exposed?
     
  15. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,232 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    832
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    that part is bit shady. Had they said 560 and kept the price down with excellent media center capabilities I will jump on this.
     
  16. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,048 (6.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,109
    I'm sure it wasn't intentional, really. The 560 SP cards were more than likely early samples, that probably just got mixed up when sending them out to reviewers. They certainly wouldn't intentionally send out the lower shader cards to the reviewers. I just hope none of them got sent out to retail channels.

    The HD4830 is already available on newegg for $119 after rebate, or at least it was yesterday.

    Edit: The PowerColor one is actually available for $114.99 after rebate.
     
    Last edited: Oct 23, 2008
    suraswami says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  17. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,616
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    They didn't think you would get GPU-Z to figure it out so quick?
     
  18. Polaris573

    Polaris573 Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2005
    Messages:
    4,281 (1.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    718
    Location:
    Little Rock, USA
    When any product leaves a factory, in this case GPUs, an in depth analysis in not performed on every single unit rather a single unit is selected from that batch (production run of indefinite length) and only that unit is tested. This is generally enough to insure the quality of a batch of product, but if the manufacturing process is for some reason incorrectly producing 1 out of every 4 units a tester can easily miss that when only testing one unit from a batch. These are common quality control procedures, and while I do not know AMD's precise QC procedure I'm sure a scenario like similar to what was mentioned above is conceivable. When dealing with corporations there is a tendency for many people, without thinking about the situation, to jump on the "guilty until proven innocent" bandwagon. While it is entirely possible that it is conspiracy, it is more likely that when producing thousands of units a bad batch escaped.
     
  19. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,616
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    My comment was meant to be tongue-in-cheek ;)

    I do not think AMD is trying to pull a fast one.
     
  20. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,232 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    832
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    oops I didn't see that. hmm I checked yesterday for 4670 but don't remember seeing this. oh well.
     
  21. dwarf Neoseeker Staff

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hey, this is Kevin from Neoseeker. I wanted to report that my ATI review sample HD 4830 is missing the shaders.

    When I started work today I was sort of surprised when glancing over some other reviews stating that the HD 4830 kicks the 9800 GT's ass. That wasn't what I found. Now it makes a bit more sense.

    Sort of nullifies my review, which sucks. Ah well; so it goes.

    Great work W1zzard, investigating this. You are the man.
     
  22. davidletterboyz New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I noticed that all the early reviews (that shows GPU-Z screenie) that received HD4830s from AMD have 560sp. If u google a bit for reviews with GPU-Z screenies, those HIS and Powercolor samples have 640sp. I guess it's a human mistake from AMD's side, packing the wrong samples? LOL
     
  23. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,969 (3.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,783
    bump for updated bios in article
     
  24. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Was it AMD that released the BIOS? Or did a third party mod the BIOS? Just curious.
     
  25. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    So if I'm reading this right. All HD4830 GPUs are hard locked to 640SP, but for some reason the ati cards shipped with a bios locked to 560SP?
    So a simple flash sets it back at 640SP?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page