1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD sent HD 4830 samples to reviewers with missing shaders

Discussion in 'Articles' started by W1zzard, Oct 22, 2008.

  1. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,019 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,638
    no, possible etching of the PCB was done either on purpose or accidentally, that or the cards were locked further because of Shader Flaws in the earliest batches, just managed to slip thru the cracks, but no worries, if the card doesnt meet the specs advertised you can take the part back and ask for your money back, but with this set of cards, i say until AMD gets the bugs out, i say go with the 4850 or 4870.
     
  2. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,965 (3.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,770
    Yes. Whether some kind of BIOS mod can be used on HD 4830 to go from 640 -> 800 is unknown, but I highly doubt it.
     
    alexp999 says thanks.
  3. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,232 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    832
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    But you are the Wiz, you can make it:D
     
  4. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,965 (3.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,770
    bump for statement by amd
     
  5. wolf2009 Guest

    pheew ... .

    btw how do you disable SIMD ?
     
  6. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,260 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    967
    BUMP and thanks to w1zz for identifing the issue, informing AMD, getting a fix, and posting it!

    :toast: :toast: :toast:

    What a champ...
     
  7. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,043 (6.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,104
    Ah, so it was just a faulty BIOS issue.

    Does that mean a re-review of the ATi card is coming? Or did you already have to send the card back? Any chance boards slipped into the retail market with the defect?

    I wonder if they flashed the BIOS with the locked pipes to possible test an even lower end configuration for the 4800 series. Maybe we will see an HD4810?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  8. wolf2009 Guest

    and flash it to HD4830, or even 4850 !! Yay !!! :D
     
  9. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,965 (3.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,770
    nah already had enough troubles with the damn hd 4830 .. look at the powercolor review for the performance, look at the amd review for the rest
     
  10. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,043 (6.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,104
    Cool, thats what I figured.

    Off Topic: Any tips on overclocking an HD4670? I bought the same one you reviewed from HIS, but I can't overclock it at all via software. I tried using AMD's GPU Clock Tool (0.9.8), but any time I adjust the core frequency at all the computer just locks up.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  11. wolf

    wolf Performance Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5,543 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    842
    how did you manage to alter the usable shader count without rebooting W1z?
     
  12. rui New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi W1zzard,

    Where can I download the "560" shaders 4830 BIOS, or can you share this BIOS with us? Thanks!
     
  13. Chicco85 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2005
    Messages:
    10 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Verona - Italy
    I have a 4830 ES that has only 560 stream processor enabled. Flashed with the bios, i went up to 640 without problem (perlin noise test from 180 to 250 fps...).

    Thanks a lot W1zzard.

    [​IMG]

    AMD said to me that the alu are physically disable. ;)
     
  14. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,177 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    that is really good point
     
  15. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,177 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    ohh , w1zzard really nice work , ati now very thankful to you im sure
     
  16. Betty (Kung Pow) New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2004
    Messages:
    49 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    BUMP

    Sry for it but this one catched my interest.

    When you found this out, did you see if there were any diffrence in heat as well between the cards?

    Or even better, if there were any differ in current consumption?

    :D
     
  17. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,965 (3.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,770
    technically there is less heat output and lower power draw. i seriously doubt you will be able to measure the temperature difference with today's in-gpu sensors. the lower power draw should show up on any half decent watt meter
     
  18. Betty (Kung Pow) New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2004
    Messages:
    49 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Thx.

    I was just thinking if this could be done on laptops to reduce power consumption, or if its already done by the power saving mechanics?
     
  19. in_awe New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2009
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    W1zzard,

    How did you disable SIMD units on the fly? You mention a register, so I assume you edited that somehow, but what program did you use? I found it very interesting that the AMD 4830 used significantly less power at idle than the PowerColor 4830. Only about 25% of my time on my PC is spent on gaming. My biggest gripe with the 48xx cards (and now the 47xx cards too by the looks of the initial reviews) is their idle power usage in comparison with a 3850 (my current card) or a 4670. If SIMD units could be turned off on the fly on a 4850 or 4870, say down to 4670 levels, and there was a corresponding idle power usage decrease, that would be perfect, even if a restart was required to re-enable them. The power of a high end card when needed, the low power usage of a low end card when not.

    Thanks in advance for any information you can provide.
     
  20. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,713 (11.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,669
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    He didn't disable it, he received a sample that came with a defective BIOS that used only 560 SPs.
     
  21. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,019 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,638
    wow bring back a topic that has been dead and over with for some time now. Attn All 4830s have the 640 Shaders. May we please close this topic?
     
  22. in_awe New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2009
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    Wow... super-fast reply! Yes, his test unit did come with only 560 SPs enabled, but he then went on to gradually disable SIMD units on a 4850 to see if there was a linear decrease in performance. I'm wondering how he disabled them on the 4850.
     
  23. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe

    Couldnt you edit the bios so the idle clocks are lower?
     
  24. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,713 (11.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,669
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    No, a comparison between HD 4830 (with the old defective BIOS), the HD 4830 (with its proper BIOS) and HD 4850 was made. End result effectively is the comparison between RV770LE 560, 640, and RV770Pro 800 SP.

    To make things ideal, a reference AMD HD 4830 board was compared to the reference HD 4850 board (same PCB layout and components).
     
  25. in_awe New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2009
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    eidairaman1,

    Sorry to have bumped an old post. I just stumbled on it... late to the party. I tried to find some discussion of this in other posts or on other sites, but it looks like W1zzard is the only person who took his testing to this level. I'm not actually interested in how many shaders a 4830 has, but rather in being able to disable shader units on any 48xx card in order to reduce idle power consumption. W1zzard was able to disable them on a 4850 without even rebooting... I'm just hoping to benefit from his advanced knowledge.


    [I.R.A]_FBi,

    Lowering the idle clocks does help, but not enough. I bought a 4850 when they first came out and tried super-low settings. That was when the BIOSes were shipping with the wrong settings in them. The idle power usage never came anywhere near 3850 levels though. W1zzards testing potentially opens up a new way to lower power usage.
     
    Last edited: Apr 28, 2009

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page