1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Sets the New Standard for Price, Performance, and Power for the Datacenter

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Mar 29, 2010.

  1. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,394 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    634
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Just beggin' for a couple 5970's.
  2. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,070 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    794
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
  3. Kantastic

    Kantastic

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,140 (2.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    993
    It'll happen in a year's time. And yes, I also wondered what type of aftermarket cooling solutions manufacturers are going to come up with. They'll probably just make a larger base.
  4. a111087

    a111087

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,738 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    US
    heatsink like Ultra 120 already have pretty big and wide base. i bet they will work just fine with it
  5. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    that suprisingly looks like a socket 939 mount:laugh: maybe you have to dig up your old coolers,eh?:p
  6. pr0n Inspector

    pr0n Inspector

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,332 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    164
    8 über fast 1.5GHz cores.:roll:
  7. a111087

    a111087

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,738 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    US
    even if it is going to be lower clocked cpu, don't forget that it is going to be brand new architecture. :)
  8. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,394 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    634
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    I'll take it :)

    Four of 6128 (which run at 2Ghz BTW) + a board might come out under $2K if boards prices stay low. (current 4P boards are pretty cheap compared to a couple generations ago, $650-850)

    32 cores to crunch with!
  9. fatguy1992

    fatguy1992 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2008
    Messages:
    419 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Would it be possible to just put one CPU on the 4P board, and then add more later on?
  10. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,394 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    634
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    ^ Maybe. The manual isn't out for the one I posted above, but the board Supermicro released for the 6-core Opterons last year had two SR5690 chips. One connected to the southbridge, some PCIe slots, while the other handled the rest of the PCIe slots. It only mentions that you need at least two CPU's to have full functionality. I'm reading that as you could have 1, but you wouldn't be able to use any slots or onboard devices that relied on the second CPU being there.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page