1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Silently Deems Phenom II X6 1075T a Black Edition Part, Starts Listing in Europe

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Aug 11, 2010.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,972 (10.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,758
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    AMD has expanded its Phenom II X6 market lineup with the Phenom II X6 1075T Black Edition model (model number: HDT75ZFBGRBOX), which has started hitting stores in Europe for as low as 227.35 EUR. Although the 1075T model has stayed in leaks and BIOS support lists ever since the series first surfaced, it is only now that we get to know that it's a Black Edition part. The chip carries a clock speed of 3.00 GHz, and with its unlocked BClk multiplier, helps with overclocking the chip. AMD already has a higher-priced, higher-clocked model, the 3.20 GHz Phenom II X6 1090T, and there's no indication that 1090T will be displaced from its current price point of ~250 EUR.

    Based on the 45 nm "Thuban" die, the Phenom II X6 1075T features six cores, with a nominal speed of 3.00 GHz, that can increase by up to 400 MHz with load thanks to the TurboCore feature, the cores have dedicated L2 caches of 512 KB, and share an L3 cache of 6 MB. The chip comes in the AM3 package, and is backwards compatible with AM2+ socket, it supports both DDR3-1333 MHz and DDR2-1066 memory types, with room for higher frequencies. It has a TDP rated at 125W.

    [​IMG]
     
    WarEagleAU says thanks.
  2. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,565 (11.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,836
    seems strange to place a lower down BE, once you factor in the unlocked multi it almost seems silly to buy the 1090T over this?
     
  3. happita

    happita

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2,384 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    423
    Should be focusing on more important things, like tweaking the next gen Bulldozer :shadedshu
     
  4. Meizuman

    Meizuman

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    626 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    88
    Location:
    Finland (northern)
    A bit like 9850 BE and 9950 BE back in the day. Only slight price and speed differences.
     
  5. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,244 (6.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,281
    Or 955BE and 965BE.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  6. naram-sin

    naram-sin New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Messages:
    103 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    Zagreb, Croatia
    Maybe, but, maybe it is a low(er)-quality silicon.

    Anyhow, someone somewhere mentioned some kind of HT tech some months ago. And some kind of "multichannel" memory controller at that. What's with that now?!

    Beggars can't be choosers, AMD, start working on gaining tech leadership (again!) or you are screwed.

    All hail the underdog! :)
     
  7. AlienIsGOD

    AlienIsGOD

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    3,514 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,579
    And budget overclockers rejoiced at the news!!!
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (2.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    It probably doesn't take much effort releasing a BE product to be honest.
     
  9. $immond$ New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    394 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Edmonton
    Yea or maybe fixing their issues with there chipsets supporting 6 gbps.. :shadedshu
     
  10. ebolamonkey3

    ebolamonkey3 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    773 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    102
    Location:
    Atlanta/Marietta, GA
    Depends how much that translates to USD, if it's $250~ then I can definitely see more people springing for this, who wouldn't have forked over $300 for the 1090T normally but would've gotten the 1055T.

    Makes sense for AMD financially, especially if these are just lower binned 1090T chips and doesn't cost them anything extra besides changing a little number on the packaging. Basically just AMD trying to capitalize on all segments of the market.
     
  11. francis511

    francis511

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,547 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    271
    Location:
    N.Ireland
    Good news for the buyer anyway..
     
  12. Yellow&Nerdy?

    Yellow&Nerdy?

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2009
    Messages:
    392 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    57
    A bit like the 965BE and 955BE. Although Intel is kind of an douche-bag corporation, they do have the faster CPUs. I hope that AMD manages to give Intel a run for it's money with Bulldozer, not that because I'm a AMD fanboy, but because it'll mix things up, make them more interesting and it benefits us buyers too.
     
  13. HillBeast

    HillBeast New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    407 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    Location:
    New Zealand
    The 1090T is guaranteed to do the those clock. Still this is a hot product and I can see it selling well. It really is making it tempting for AMD to be in my next build (not for my main system but in some computer of mine at least).
     
  14. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,338 (4.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,376
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    Thats my current opinion vs the 1055t, even without the unlocked multi, on air or water the 1055t will do the same clocks or very close to the 1090 at a much lower price. So offering the unlocked multi at a lower price shouldn't change too much.
     
  15. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,808 (3.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    547
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    I am glad to see another part out even if it is a BE part.

    Regarding the AMD getting back on top deal, I would like to see it. I am tired of seeing Digital Storm Online, Maingear, OverdrivePC, etc using Intel only. LOL.

    Come on Bulldozer!
     
  16. twilyth Guest

    Maybe that's true, but does everyone have the skill to get a 1055t to 4ghz. I'm pretty sure that I don't and if we're talking a difference of $50 or so, I would want to spend that to start out at 3.2 rather than 3.0. Just sayin'.
     
  17. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,440 (2.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,043
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    I was able to set my 1055T to 4Ghz my first try. Actually it's never ran at stock speeds after i received it. It's also, been crunching strong @ 100% for months with a sunbeam core contact freezer. and it's rocking steady at 37c @ 100%. :rockout: Of course I can't say for every chip it will be that easy to oc. Mine my have came from the better part of the waffer. But I can say I'll be buying another one shortly... I hope.. hehehe

    Edit: I like the temps a lot better on the 1055T, over my i7 860.
     
    1Kurgan1 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. twilyth Guest

    That's pretty amazing. My 1090t is at 4ghz but runs about 42C under load (WCG). I'm using a Xigmatek S1283 which is also a direct contact design, and Noctua thermal paste.
     
  19. Kitkat New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    768 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    theres also a X2 560 someplace too
     
  20. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,440 (2.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,043
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    Hey that's not a bad temp either. What voltage are you at? I just checked the temps on it (I've not checked it in awhile..hehe) The room is around 73F and it's at 39c. It's been hot as hell here.. lol My air never switches off. Just to give you an Ideal this set for 70F and the temps in here are at 73F. but i do have a LOT of hardware in here...lol :roll:
     
    Last edited: Aug 11, 2010
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. twilyth Guest

    A little over 1.35 IIRC (not at that rig right now). I hope you meant 73F and not C since otherwise, you're dead and just don't know it yet. :twitch: :laugh:

    edit - I'm just messin' with you. I can't always tell when that's obvious and when I just sound like a dick. Anyway, temps in the "office" are around 78-80F (too lazy to do the conversion to C).
     
  22. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,440 (2.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,043
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    :roll: Good catch! but yea F not c..lol I'm ready to go.. it's been a long F'n day.. :roll:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,253 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    837
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    Happy to see new sku coming out, but where the heck is the 1035 (which I guess would be around $175 :D). Would be the perfect upgrade for my VM server from Quad to Hex and 24GB ram :D
     
  24. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,440 (2.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,043
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    +1 ^^ I like seeing the new sku as well, but I don't see a reason to buy anything other than the 1055T until the 1035 comes out.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,180 (3.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,821
    Location:
    04578
    id spring for a 1035T in a heart beat if its released
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page