1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Starts Selling Radeon-branded DDR3 Memory Modules

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Aug 8, 2011.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,972 (10.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,758
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    At first glance, one would have discarded the news as some company's attempt to use the AMD brand to sell memory modules, but it is indeed AMD selling memory. AMD is selling Radeon-branded DDR3 memory modules to the consumer market, not just OEMs, which were spotted in stores in Japan. AMD is selling certified DDR3 memory in three segments: Entertainment, UltraPro Gaming, and Enterprise. Entertainment deals with DDR3-1333 MHz modules that are best suited for home and business client PCs, UltraPro Gaming deals with DDR3-1600 MHz modules suited for gaming PCs of all shapes and sizes, while Enterprise deals with registered un-buffered DDR3 memory for use in AMD Opteron-driven servers and workstations.

    While baffling, the move to sell its own-branded memory makes some sense. High performance DDR3 memory kits sold in the market today that operate at DDR3-1600 rely on Intel eXtreme Memory Profiles (XMP), a proprietary SPD extension by Intel to let users set the marketed speeds easily. AMD platform motherboards don't support XMP, leaving it at an obvious disadvantage. Radeon-branded memory use JEDEC profiles for 1600 MHz, along with certified timings and voltages to run stable and perform optimally. It might also be using AMD's own SPD extension called "Black Edition profiles", but CPU-Z doesn't seem to be able to spot that. Pictured below is the Entertainment 2 GB module, which uses AMD-branded memory chips. In Japan, the 2 GB module is priced at the equivalent of US $20. Other pricing information is unknown for the moment.

    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Source: PC Watch

    UPDATE (11/8): We contacted AMD to talk a little bit about these new memory products that surfaced literally out of nowhere. AMD told us that these are channel products, and as such they don't plan to sell it in a big way on the retail market:
     
    Last edited: Aug 11, 2011
  2. human_error

    human_error

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,762 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    498
    Interesting move, I guesss there's money to be made from using a brand you advertise for gpus to push sales of memory. I wonder who's fabbing the memory chips? GF or someone else?
     
  3. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,972 (10.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,758
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    I have a strong feeling they're re-branded Hyundai (Hynix) chips.
     
  4. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    They certainly have that look about them.

    Why have AMD decided to push budget ram though surely that's bad for brand image?
     
  5. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    As long as quality is good its going to be fine.

    I wonder how will theses clock?
     
  6. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,972 (10.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,758
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    To enlarge the portfolio. It tells customers that AMD even has its own certified memory that's guaranteed to work.
     
  7. ObSo-1337

    ObSo-1337 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2009
    Messages:
    234 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    Location:
    Scotland
    Wow! 2 gig of DDR3 ram for £12.20. That has me hooked instantly. I know what RAM to purchase for my next upgrade :)
     
  8. n0tiert

    n0tiert

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    926 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    404
    Location:
    Frankfurt/Main - Germany
    no heatsink, and green pcb layout, may they gonna style it hopefully
     
  9. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,972 (10.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,758
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Those are pictures of the final product. They were taken in a retail store in Tokyo's Akihabara district.
     
  10. qwerty_lesh

    qwerty_lesh

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    534 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    hope the UltraPro ones have more bling and stuff.

    Good to see AMD getting their fingers into more pies, you'd think that with OCZ pulling from the ram market there would be some wiggle room for someone else. :)
     
  11. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    The specs on the ''Ultra Pro Gaming Dimms'' look terrible to me, the timings are way to high for only 1600MHz.

    And now people will start wondering whether or not they'll need AMD memory to make their AMD based system perform good.:ohwell:
     
  12. extrasalty

    Joined:
    May 13, 2009
    Messages:
    176 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    Typical of AMD- just when DDR3 prices hit record low, they decide to get in the market. Sure, fire Dirk and then think how the f@#! are we gonna make profit. Morons.
     
  13. H82LUZ73

    H82LUZ73

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,792 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    274
    Location:
    Cobourg,Ontario
    Yep that is exactly what they ,They used these same chips on the cards Hence the AMD Radeon Branding,Hey they did say when they dropped Ati they would sell the Radeon brand in more ways then one in the Asian market.

    Hey Extrasalty look at the stock markets today everything is low ....If it get`s lower expect to start paying more for everything.Also F1 cancelled the Japan Grand Prix,Also Indy cars why ....Radiation .
     
  14. extrasalty

    Joined:
    May 13, 2009
    Messages:
    176 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    I'm not even referring to the latest events- DDR3 prices were at their lowest for the last month.
     
  15. ensabrenoir

    ensabrenoir

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,274 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    231
    AMD has loyalists who will flock to this. 4 amd by amd. No more excuses about compatibility. The price will be low so as long as its not garbage they can't loose. The enthusiast might not be impressed but the average joe (the meat and potatoes of the revenue makers) should b just fine.
     
  16. mitsirfishi

    mitsirfishi New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    Messages:
    924 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    Grantham UK, Lincs
    looks like micron ram put a sticker on it and rebrand it
     
    ensabrenoir says thanks.
  17. faramir New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Messages:
    203 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    Memory tests on Llano made it evident that (1) anything beyond 1600 MHz is a waste of money and (2) that tighter timings don't translate into proportionally better results, hence they are also a waste of money. Now if you get these for free (by overclocking) ... I'm sure somebody is going to put these modules to the test soon enough so we'll be able to judge whether they are worth the money or not but I wouldn't dismiss them as quickly as you did.
     
  18. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,244 (6.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,277
    I agree, 11-11-11 is way to high. I also wonder if the two sticks are really the same memory. The screenshot shows that the 1333 sticks have a JDEC profile for 760MHz@10-10-10 already, so I'm guessing they just added a JDEC profile for 800MHz@11-11-11 to the same cheap RAM that they used with the 1333 sticks.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  19. Damn_Smooth

    Damn_Smooth

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,435 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    478
    Location:
    A frozen turdberg.
    I know right? They should totally concentrate on making different sockets for the same chip before they worry about ram.

    The real profit obviously comes from trying to confuse average consumers instead of guaranteeing compatibility.
     
  20. Thefumigator

    Thefumigator

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    420 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    option 1: Core i7 + intel chipset based mobo + Radeon DDR3 + Nvidia graphics card
    option 2: Core i7 + intel chipset based mobo + Generic DDR3 + Radeon graphics card
    option 3: Core i7 + intel chipset based mobo + Generic DDR3 + Nvidia grapics card
    option 4: Core i7 + intel chipset based mobo + Radeon DDR3 + Radeon graphics card
    option 5: Phenom II + AMD chipset based mobo + Generic DDR3 + Nvidia graphics card
    option 6: Phenom II + AMD chipset based mobo + Radeon DDR3 + Nvidia graphics card
    option 7: Phenom II + AMD chipset based mobo + Radeon DDR3 + Radeon graphics card
    option 8: Phenom II + AMD chipset based mobo + Generic DDR3 + Radeon graphics card

    out of 8 combinations, AMD products appears in 6. You barely scape from AMD domination :D
     
    cadaveca says thanks.
  21. happita

    happita

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2,384 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    422
    There, fixed.


    I think that the memory is a good idea. The majority of computer users have no idea what is compatible with each other. If retailers bundle these things with the processors, it is a guaranteed sale given that someone who isn't too computer saavy purchases them.
     
  22. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,565 (11.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,836
    i like this. yes, its not high end OC'ers gaming ram... but its standard ram you know is going to be compatible, and work.

    i'm sick to death of fixing systems where the only problem is users who installed ram and never manually set the voltages and timings right - and ram with JEDEC voltages and proper SPD timings is exactly the solution.


    Edit: to clarify, i mean this is perfect for office PC's, budget gaming systems, etc. memory timings really dont change gaming performance as much as other components like CPU and GPU, so cheap compatible ram is exactly what 90% of users want (and most of those who get faster ram, never end up setting it to those faster settings anyway)
     
  23. Damn_Smooth

    Damn_Smooth

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,435 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    478
    Location:
    A frozen turdberg.
    Keep your hands off my sarcasm. :slap:
     
  24. yogurt_21

    yogurt_21

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    4,453 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    598
    Location:
    AZ
    interesting, with memory amd bundles will have nearly the complete essentials of a rig. all they'd need after that is case, psu, and hard disk. And really with entering the memory market they could move into SSD's if they chose to.


    with office rigs in mind that's actually pretty nice.
     
  25. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    639
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    I could see these selling very well if AMD had some sort of combo deal.
    Buy an AMD CPU and a percentage gets cut from the price of the RAM if you purchase both.

    Other wise I don't think many people will be going for these unless the average consumer thinks, "I have an AMD processor so this AMD RAM should run the best with it".
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page