1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Teams Up With Patriot And VisionTek To Take Radeon DDR3 Memory To Retail Channel

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Nov 28, 2011.

  1. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,773 (4.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,856
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    The esthetic design of these sticks is awesome.
  2. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,759 (4.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    Location:
    US
    They look alright, but would of like them more if they were using Patriot ram that they just used their heatsink as well with a little mark up.. Just like if they used any other companys like say G.Skill Ripjaws and just bumped the priced up 5-10$.

    The heatsinks look standard, and yeah i know there is not really any need for flashy heatsinks but still.

    Because tell you the truth if i can get some Patriot ram with there cool heatsinks i would still buy them over these plain and simple ones.
  3. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,647 (3.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,763
    Location:
    Chicago
    Riiiight...and as I posted in some other thread recently people here think it's lame and laughable to be such a sheep-like Apple devotee but it's somehow cooler and ok to throw your money at AMD all the time.

    And hey buddy I got a (not exactly) news flash for you...the vast majority of this "iCrap" are kick ass and quite worthy of purchase compared to the competitors. Can't really say that about AMD products anymore that's for goddamn sure. Without ATI they'd be so done.
    iLLz says thanks.
  4. WarraWarra New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
    Messages:
    268 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    This makes sense, they have contracts for excess ram modules that was as backup if the new gpu ?? fancy ram failed so might as well use this ram or pay the contract fine for pulling out.

    Likely that this ram would be handled by ATI side of AMD so it should end up pretty decent.
    The expertise from the gpu side and their ram skills is a perfect match for this.

    First is Patriot Memory, we suspect that Patriot Memory is the OEM behind AMD branded modules.

    I can imagine Patriot stock exchange shares doubling in the next year or more, same as what Apple did when they "Ibm to Intel" unofficially bought half of Intel / bailed Intel out.

    Design, seems like they stick to function over form, so this would be the winxp vs win7 of ram modules minus the BSOD and would likely overclock a lot.

    AMD + Patriot, this gives patriot the large scale buying power / "standing order" power to get their game on so this slow 1866mhz is just the tip of the iceberg in terms of performance and quality.
    Can imagine what this would do for stability / national security "local manf." / jobs creation "made in the USA" and the supporting industry's.
    5* idea. Jobs "Patriot USA / AMD Canada / some minor initial Mexico fabrication"
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 29, 2011
  5. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,520 (4.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,948
    i thought the vendor was responsible for what ram chips he puts on his PCB.
    ati just does the cores and ref designs, right?

    anyhoo the chips come from OEMs like hynix etc. so im guessing RAM division will be different.
  6. _JP_

    _JP_

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,681 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    734
    Location:
    Portugal
    Those look good, but I would like to see performance figures and price, plzkthxbye. :)
  7. Fx

    Fx

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    Messages:
    501 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    87
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    I will be keeping an eye on their performance & stability as well. hopefully these end up being legit
  8. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,078 (4.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,376
    You Mean Motorola to Intel

  9. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    I know peoplel with apple products, and they tell me how wonderful their apple products are yet most of them mention in passing how they have had to send their product away for repairs.

    Customer service and repairs out this way for mac is down to three places in the whole country.

    A customer want to purchase a Macbook to VGA adpator which is phenomenally expensive for what it is.

    Had a customer come in with an iPhone four wanting me to retrieve data 3 months ago.
    I should not expect this kind of failure and feeling of needing to take delicate care from a product which has a price with a premium.

    I don't recall, people who purchase AMD needing to throw money away all the time.
    It's not like AMD products come with a premium fee either.:confused:
  10. nothappy New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2011
    Messages:
    35 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    The nightmare called reality (Jakarta, Indonesia)
    True finds or Marketing WAR CRIMES, or REVENGE?

    Do you remember the first time BIOS mods unlocking disabled VGA capabilities? it was the radeon 9550 to 9600 (or was it 9700) for me.

    Do you remember the first time we hear of an unlockable core? I bet you it was AMD X3's

    Then we got another shocker 6950's bios tweaked to 6970's. My sources say that high end models are actually shipped from AMD close to ready ness and that the partners (HIS, SAPHIRE, etc) just gave it its pcb's. So basically AMD had full control, did they not test this?

    So for me, are these really true? AMD usually brings latest (often still unused) technology to the table, trendsetters to be exact. And ATI did these small stunts to bump sales (or did they?), which my next paragraph will be the core of this post.

    IS AMD SWALLOWING THINGS UP TO GET THEIR TRICKS OF THE TRADE? they did set trends by defeating INTEL's RAMBUS by using DDR, and now they are making RAM?

    Does this have any thing to do with RADEON 7000 using XDR? and here's my mind boggling punch line :

    "So NVIDIA got PHYSICS eh? well I'm gonna use only XDR, and then I'm gonna use Hypertransport only, and then some I'm only gonna work with RADEON branded HARDWARE, so INTEL can also kiss my ass"

    Wow, if this is true then AMD is really clinging to the old klingon proverb: "REVENGE is a dish, BEST SERVED COLD!"
    :toast::nutkick::nutkick::nutkick::nutkick::nutkick::nutkick::nutkick::toast:
  11. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,253 (11.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,585
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Wrong thread.
  12. nothappy New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2011
    Messages:
    35 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    The nightmare called reality (Jakarta, Indonesia)
    uhm, sorry guys, my mistake, My head just jumped with conspiracy theories.

    Truly, my appologies. Thanks btarunr.
  13. kkaddu

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Messages:
    22 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Uganda
    ocz Ram Rocked!

    Really doubt that. though its your opinion.
    their low profile ram was among the top performers for less money paid.
    Only now bettered by mushkin (reads: more expensive)

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page