1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD: TLB Bug Fixed, 45nm Processors Due to H2 2008

Discussion in 'News' started by malware, Jan 19, 2008.

  1. malware New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    5,476 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    AMD chief executive officer Hector Ruiz today uncovered that the TLB (Translation Lookaside Buffer) bug in all Phenom and Barcelona quad-core processors has been fixed. According to Ruiz, the fixed B3 stepping CPUs are "running through the paces internally" at this time with engineering samples expected to be shipped to customers within "2 to 3 weeks". Volume production is scheduled to begin "later in the quarter" and first systems with the fixed processors should become available late in Q1, president Dirk Meyer said. Production volume of Barcelona and Phenom quad-core will be about double of the nearly 400,000 units that were manufactured during Q4, CFO Bob Rivet noted. As previously reported, the higher speed and triple-core Phenoms will be postponed for the end of the first and the beginning of the second quarter. Hector Ruiz also commented on the company’s 45nm progress. Ruiz said that AMD's first 45 nm Opterons have been produced and the company is targeting for H2 2008 roll out.

    Source: TG Daily
     
  2. xfire

    xfire

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,397 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    Hyderabad,India
    Havent any asian sites got any benchies yet. Bet the bunchies have the benchies.
    Lets hope amd starts kicking arse now else Intel will die due to boredom.
     
  3. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    30,213 (10.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,608
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Fixed at last though we've to see how much the bug-fix actually impacts performance. DaMulta put a Phenom 9500 to an acid test, he reports never to have observed anything weird.
     
  4. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,211 (5.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,203
    Location:
    Ohio
    Might wanna change "H2 2008" to "Q2 2008" ;)

    unless I'm missing something?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  5. Urbklr

    Urbklr

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,346 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Location:
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    Yea, thats what i was thinking. But i think it means Half 2 of 08.
     
  6. a111087

    a111087

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,790 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    214
    Location:
    US
    there are to dates, B3 is Q2, 45nm is H2.
    thats how i read it :)
     
  7. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,812 (3.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    547
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Simply amazing. They are on the 45nm production roll out alot quicker than originally forcasted and alot quicker than I thought they could. Looks like things are looking up and my new system will be bug free :wipes a tear:
     
  8. Urbklr

    Urbklr

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,346 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Location:
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    Im wondering, if the phenom's will pass 3GHz, or even get near 4GHz(God, i wish). If they can pass 3.2GHz or close, im probably gettin one:p

    Back to ma M2R32-MVP mobo:p
     
  9. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    30,213 (10.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,608
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    H2 2008 = half two 2008 (or Q3/Q4)....in case you're taking this as a typo.
     
  10. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,979 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    Yeah, but they could butcher 45 nm like they did with 65 nm and the x2s. Unless Amd kept 90 nm chip around for a good reason which isn't really that likely.
     
  11. X-TeNDeR

    X-TeNDeR New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    110 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    Sharpening The Underdog's Teeth
    This is really good news from AMD. lets hope they deliver as schedule, and this time without a hitch. AMD-ATi FTW! :rockout:
     
  12. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (5.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    I'm glad to see that amd will have the ability to keep up with intel... bad news it won't be for a while now...
     
  13. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Should come sooner I already switched to Intel. You lost a long time fan AMD.
     
  14. Morgoth

    Morgoth

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,795 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    250
    Location:
    Netherlands
    yep intel is planing 32nm some where in 2009 :p
     
  15. moto666 Guest

    Finally some Good News!

    Better would bee to ship those CPUs today! :)

    If Competition is in the market, prices would drop sooner!

    I'm looking for a Q6600 for my Rig!

    If AMD can't stand up, intel will never drop prices!!!

    Meanwhile I will get a -=HD3870=- Good product and price tag! Just what I Love!
    (and a little money for AMD:D)
     
  16. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    40,630 (12.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15,458
    As an AMD stockholder.. thank you.:D
     
  17. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Yea I will still buy ATi cards just not AMD cause I will try and make my Gigabyte p35 last as long as possible.
     
  18. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,135 (4.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,459
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    The only problem that I found was memory timing with 4 sticks of ram, well even with 2 sticks. You just can't hit the low low timings that you can with the K8.
     
  19. pentastar111

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    994 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    Los Angeles...U.S.A
    I knew AMD would do it.:)..As I said in a previous post, AMD would get the bug out. When they start rolling out the higher gig procs they WILL be the best bang for the buck:toast:...Intel can take their $1000+ cpu's and shove 'em up their nose or butt wichever you prefer:nutkick: As a matter of fact...after looking at the 3870 cards, it looks like I will probably switch GPU camps as well...again $ vs performance ratio is tilted toward humble little AMD....I'm figuring one of the future "black" edition PHENOM's and 3 or 4 of those 3870's, that machine; while not a benchmark king, will be able to play anything out there with little to no sweat:D
     
  20. InfDamarvel New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Messages:
    500 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    My question is what the performance gain is over the chips with the bug. I wonder how many people who already brought it are going to go and have their cpus RMA'ed because "They magically broke".
     
  21. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,691 (6.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,987
    Location:
    some AF base
    lol @ inf it would only be funnier if they got back a non-B3 chip
     
  22. largon

    largon

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,784 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    433
    Location:
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    InfDamarvel, btarunr,
    TLB bug itself doesn't affect performance. Only the BIOS workaround does.
    An inherently non-bugged B3 isn't any faster than a bugged B2 - which is faster than a B2 that runs on a BIOS with a software workaround for the bug.
     
  23. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,691 (6.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,987
    Location:
    some AF base
    and the workaround is easily turned off in most bios's but if not i believe crystalcpu had an off for it
     
  24. Grings

    Grings

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,303 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    187
    Location:
    Blighty
    i just sure hope they have something competitive out soon, intel seem to think they've won already, judging by the pre-order prices of 8xxx/9xxx series core 2's

    i hope they do something against nvidia too, as they're prices are starting to climb too
     
  25. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,187 (3.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,402
    Nvidia seen to think they can do nothing wrong,the way their cramming all these differant cards down our throats.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page