1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD To Crank Up Phenom II Clock-Speeds Upto 3.50 GHz, Planning New Models

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Jan 30, 2009.

  1. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    The phenom II's arent a dream but the rest of ur post is, for now at least
    Last edited: Jan 31, 2009
  2. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,543 (1.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    510
    Location:
    Australia
    I agree they have been talking about it for awhile now, but the FX will come back i think, with this new line up of Phenom's and the way they are going there is a good chance. We have only seen the tip of the iceberg with the new K10, there is lots more to come ;)

    Im sure your right there, they wont be overclockable by much, they never real were =/ The FX-57 had a hard time getting to 3.1GHz, because they were pushed close to there limits out of the box. If they bring out a FX at 4.0GHz i cant see it clocking much higher on air?
  3. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,543 (1.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    510
    Location:
    Australia
    The difference is that back then the P4's at any clock speed couldn't even match a standard clock speed of a Athlon, but now the difference isn't that much, just over clock it a little and there you go you matched it, thats the difference.
  4. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    they have more up there sleeve trick, but its not ready yet
  5. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    Well yeah I know this but for now all they have is Over clocking and well to be quite frank we can do that just fine now can't we ..
    It will be nice to see just how high they are able to get them on stock air cooling .
  6. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,981 (3.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,751
    Location:
    PA, USA
    So why did this thread get so large? I'm just curious... all these chips are is 940s with the multiplier set a tad higher. Gimmicky.
  7. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    I would have to say it is my fault sorry about that . I got off on a rant on how AMD is playing the same game Intel did with the P4 and well it was me sorry .
  8. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,981 (3.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,751
    Location:
    PA, USA
    Ahhh! Nothing to apologize for lol. This is exactly like that. I mean people will have to pay a premium for the stock OC. :laugh:

    Sorry to fuel the fire guys :-/
  9. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    Yes this is exactly what I have been saying pay more for that stock over clock and get nothing in return ! Let the MHz WAR resume ! :rockout:
  10. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,651 (7.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,971
    Location:
    some AF base
    didn't we already go through this trick i proved you wrong in 3dmark cpu scores, wprime and something else?

    Q9550 and the PX4 overclocked perform the same now when AMD goes through with this 3.5ghz core clock thing there wont be a C2Q that can keep up@ stock. on top of that they will give core i7 a run for its money. if priced right they will be the better buy.
  11. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,912 (4.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,978
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    This is the truth as far as being a better buy. Though I'm not sure that PII will ever really give i7 a run for it's money.
  12. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    Hope you are right but I don't see it is all . from all the benchmarks and reviews I have seen the Phenom II 940 keeps up with the Q9550 yes but for you to make a statement like this is well speculation and really wrong . I am not going to get into this with you .
    I will however say sorry . I do hope to see some INNOVATIONS out of AMD as far as giving the i7 a run for the money well that just makes me :roll: . They are not even in the same league man !
  13. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,651 (7.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,971
    Location:
    some AF base
    when you compare the currently marketed i7's it has already been proven that a 3.5ghz phenom 2 would compete with the i7 920 and i7 940



    funny thing about that @3.5ghz its going to be hard for the 2.93ghz i7 to blow it out of the water. also in apps that don't use HT me and chickenpatty showed that at the same clock the i7 is NOT faster
    Darren says thanks.
  14. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,981 (3.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,751
    Location:
    PA, USA
    I've yet to see anyone on this forum do a stable 4.0/4.2 vantage run with their 940... how is that a better buy than the i7? I just can't see it as a "better buy" in a normal system. In an advanced media center or a LANbox I would agree that the Phenom II is a better choice. It just produces less heat, but I don't see them charging more for the same chip that already has an unlocked multi would make it less of a great buy and more of a marketing scheme.
  15. kid41212003

    kid41212003

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,584 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    533
    Location:
    California
    It will mark the first processor with premium pricing after C2D came out.

    My prediction: it would be around $450 for the PII 3.5GHz, which force the Core i7 940 to reduce price.
  16. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    Well I am not going to get into this any more you are right . AMD can smoke the i7 as it is fine and the Q9xxx is just a faded memory now AMD FTW !
    I say crank it up pay that premium price and live it up to each there own . Good luck .
  17. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,413 (5.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,349
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    I doubt that very much....the PII 3.5 is not due out until Q4 2009, by that time there will be several other i7's out and the i7 940 will probably be as low, if not lower than the PII, and if the PII 3.5 is $450 thats not a bad price in the run of things, the first AM3 chip to come will be probably be more expensive than the current AM2+ chips purely because of their added tech etc, then factor in all those suggested versions from the OP at at least $50 a hike for each one and well, the math speaks for itself.

    Anyways the lower end AM3 models as always will be the popular ones for us, lets hope that they can do 4gig+ on an AM3 board, that will definatly give them competition for enthusists, sadly though 90% of the market is mainstream.

    I will buy one for my next upgrade.....not i7 but only because I am bored with the same old Intel and wanna give AMD a play once again.
  18. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,651 (7.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,971
    Location:
    some AF base
    ill give it a go when i get home
    Binge says thanks.
  19. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,830 (1.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Westmere will actually be out by Q4 2k9 (or around the corner), ddr3 prices will be cheaper, as will boards, i5 will be out, ect. These won't compete w/ i7, they will compete w/ C2D like they do now and possibly i5 depending on how those do. It's pretty much a whole nother path they are taking, but they don't seem to be planning any kind of answer to intel's current tops for some time (probably about next year, a la PII=q9400).
  20. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,321 (5.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,371
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    Well seems it's calmed down a bit in here :p
    Last edited: Feb 1, 2009
  21. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,543 (1.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    510
    Location:
    Australia

    The P4 was a overpriced, high voltage, ran hotter, under performer....FACT's
    A P4 at 3.73GHz could not even match a Athlon at 2.8GHz FACT
    A P4 over clocked at 4.1GHz could not even match a Athlon at 2.8GHz FACT
    My m8s P4 @ 3.2GHz couldn't even match my 2.2GHz Athlon in anything FACT
    I will always be talking down the P4 because they are the SUCK FACT, so many people had P4's and they had no idea about Athlon's let alone AMD in general, so all they thought was higher clock speeds meant they was faster FACT, the end. Intel new this and always kept the price high even tho they was getting beat badly against the Athlon's in raw performance.
    Even the K7 vs the P4 was doing very well FACT, matching them in performance but having lower clock speeds, thats were AMD's number scheme came into play in the first place FACT. Then the K8 come out and Intel had nothing at all to counter it, the P4 had lost completely FACT.

    http://techreport.com/articles.x/8482/14

    http://www.simhq.com/_technology/technology_066c.html

    As you can tell the P4 could not match a Athlon at all, even with a clock speed of over 4GHz a total of 1.3GHz higher clock speed they still couldn't match the Athlons FACT. So to reference to the Phenom i dont think you need to over clock the phenom 1.3GHz or more to match intels Q9XXX series? if im wrong please prove me wrong?
    I think you need to get your FACT's straight before you say anything, my guess is that you owned a P4 and got burnt bad? and spent a F load on it and got beat by a CPU half its price?
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 1, 2009
    Valdez, wahdangun and cdawall say thanks.
  22. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,340 (6.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,360
    Location:
    IA, USA
    This means Intel is going to have to finally move the stock Core 2 speeds up because AMD is finally competing with them. Problem is though that this will become a flashback to P4 and Athlon XP/64 where they don't overclock far because at stock, they are running close to their limits. This is good news if you don't overclock, and somewhat bad news if you do.

    Intel ought to consider increasing their Core 2 clocks especially after announcing they'll be around longer.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,651 (7.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,971
    Location:
    some AF base
    this is true but at the same time if AMD and intel start really binning there chips we will start to see a group of chips that oc like crazy. ie P4 631 and celeron D 347 and then chips that cost more and dont clock ie. P4 660.


    hopefully like i said earlier in this thread maybe this will mean a new FX i see a 4ghz 150w phenom FX coming out Q4.
  24. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    I tell you if AMD comes out with a STOCK 4.0GHz CPU I will be right there in line to get one . No doubt about it .
  25. zithe

    zithe

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,087 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    North Chili, NY
    I'd love to see some FX chips. If those came out, Intel would actually have to drop prices. XD

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page