1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD to Cut Phenom Prices Today

Discussion in 'News' started by malware, Dec 17, 2007.

  1. malware New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    5,476 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    German hardware site Planet 3D Now! informs us that AMD will cut prices of its Phenom 9000 series processors today. Exact prices weren't mentioned in the statement, but according to AMD the Phenom 9500, 9600 and a new unlocked Phenom 9600 Black Edition will be available today at "dual-core CPU prices". In addition, on January 7th next year, AMD will reduce prices of some dual- and single-core processors.

    Source: Planet 3D Now!
     
  2. DaJMasta

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2005
    Messages:
    479 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    Silver Spring, MD
    If this makes them competitive and they fixed the cache bug then I'm in for one this holiday season.





    I can only hope ;)
     
  3. nguyenpeter76 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2007
    Messages:
    312 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    looks like amd is trying to compete with intel and nvidia by lowering their processor pricese b4 new intel processors come out and gettin the 3870x2 out before the 9xxx cards.
     
  4. spacejunky New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2007
    Messages:
    96 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    TX
    exactly. gotta fix the probs.

    they probably didn't and that's why they are making them cheap.
     
  5. OnBoard

    OnBoard New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,044 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Finland
    So 9500 for 160€? That'll be one cheap Quad!
     
  6. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,223 (2.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    944
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    So when will Newegg Lower its prices so I can buy a new Phenom.
     
  7. ktr

    ktr

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,407 (2.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    687
    hopefully this week, and my guessing around $160-180 bucks, and $200-250 for the black.
     
  8. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,223 (2.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    944
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    I sure hope your right.

    Im not even sure if my AM2 Board is will take a PHenom?:confused:
     
  9. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,364 (2.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    914
    It will, all AM2 boards will take a phenom. They are down to $230 at the egg.
     
  10. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,223 (2.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    944
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    OH thanks, but is that price with the newly heard of AMD Discount?
     
  11. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,135 (5.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,458
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    Not all "Some do not have the memory to support it"

    You need a BIOS update, in which the board company has to provide it to you.
     
  12. Basard

    Basard

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2006
    Messages:
    586 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    Oshkosh
    Man the hyperthreading on them boards is insane, the new ones. Can you put an Athlon X2 in one, then just bump up HT to 2.6Ghz, then just lower multiplier maybe? I'd hate to have a Phenom with such a crappy HT speed on a regular AM2 board.
     
  13. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,223 (2.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    944
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    Oh, anyone know if the MotherBoard in my system Specs can take a Phemon Processor?

    Anyone tryed it?
     
  14. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,135 (5.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,458
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
  15. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,223 (2.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    944
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
  16. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,146 (5.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,170
    Location:
    Ohio
    Cutting thier prices...
    This puts AMD in thier normal place again. Cheaper and somewhat weaker than the competition, but price/performance is better.

    I want a phenom so I can fold 2x faster... :)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. jocksteeluk

    jocksteeluk New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Messages:
    1,457 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    The 13th room on the 13th floor of the 13th buildi
    Very smart move by AMD and once again those who had to be first missed out.
     
  18. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,416 (6.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,493
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Hey, if AMD's Phenom chips will be priced lower than that of Intel's 45nm based proc. I myself for one will be going back to my roots! Phenom with an HD3850 anyone?
     
  19. Silverel

    Silverel New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,769 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    Location:
    Detroit, MI
    They were already priced appropriately, this is gonna turn heads and make Intel spin a little harder. This is what AMD is good for, and why I'll support them. Bugged or not, average users will be able to get their hands on a quad. I hope they drop these in line with the X2's right near the top. Stick the 9500 just under the 6400BE. When x3's come out, shift everything lower to move them in-between the x2 and x4's. We might actually see a sub-200$ x3 at launch. :)

    Without AMD, Intel wouldn't move in price. A year from now you'd still be paying 300+ for a quad. AMD isn't king of the hill, and it doesn't look like they really have any aspirations for it anymore. They are the mainstream/budget chip of choice IMO.
     
  20. rhythmeister New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Messages:
    987 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    Belfast...N. Ireland mate!
    I just hope Biostar get off their collective arse and release a bios that allows me to use the damn things in the TF7025-M2! :banghead:
     
  21. jpierce55

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,335 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    91
  22. springs113

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    725 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    158
    you have ppl who price gouge because they know no matter what someone will buy it...and then you have those that want to turn profit from what they originally spent. AMD needs to develop a store for themselves...they are like the only manu that does not have a store selling their own products... in USA
     
  23. devguy

    devguy

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Messages:
    1,239 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    SoCal
    I do remember reading that the 9600 black edition won't have the TLB errata. However, the 9500 and 9600 still will.
     
  24. jpierce55

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,335 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    91
    Wasn't the 9700 suppose to be clean at release? The 9600 Phenom is likely the only Phenom that will be worth looking at but still need to be under $300.
     
  25. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    a 9600 BE at the price of a 5000/6400 BE would be preety sweet, and about the only other way to sell phenoms
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page