1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD to Launch Interim AM2+ 45nm Phenom X4

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Sep 9, 2008.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    29,743 (10.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,209
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    AMD plans to bring about a gradual transition with its desktop quad-core Phenom chips. Contradicting roadmap slides, Taiwanese industry observer DigiTimes has come up with fresh rumours that AMD could release a pair of AM2+ exclusive Deneb 45nm quad-core processors towards the end of this year. Their clock-speeds could range between 2.60 to 3.00 GHz and TDP ratings at 125W. Meanwhile AM3 designs would surface for manufacturing of both the processors and supportive motherboards that feature DDR3 memory support. It is expected that my May thru June next year, there will be enough AM3 based products in the market for AMD to stop producing any more of these "AM2+ only" Deneb chips. Earlier projections based on company slides showed the two chips coming up in January.

    Source: DigiTimes
     
    p_o_s_pc, pentastar111 and suraswami say thanks.
  2. Morgoth

    Morgoth

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,795 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    250
    Location:
    Netherlands
    i hope next generation amd cpu's can compete highend core 2 and nehalem
     
  3. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,812 (3.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    547
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    I hope they keep compatibility as well like they said they were. Nice to see some earlier releases of these chips. Should I wait for these or get me a 9950 now....choices, choices...
     
  4. jbunch07

    jbunch07 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    5,261 (1.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    614
    Location:
    Chattanooga,TN
    I dont think im going to upgrade my 9850 till the FX Phenoms come out.
     
  5. Polarman

    Polarman New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,627 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    Rimouski
    Same here.

    The Phenom FX will be replacing my aging FX.
     
  6. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,309 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    870
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    Woo hoo, thats good news. I hope ECS releases a bios update for these bad boys.
     
  7. jbunch07

    jbunch07 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    5,261 (1.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    614
    Location:
    Chattanooga,TN


    Wow those things are rare. ^
     
  8. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,309 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    870
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    hey bta, see if you can dig some info on the prices. I hope the 2.6 is priced right, so I can afford and do some OCing.
     
  9. HTC

    HTC

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,267 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    313
    It will be interesting to see what kind of stomping these Deneb chips will produce on the current quad FXs.

    Imagine ...

    if a deneb @ 2.6 GHz could do what the 4850 did to the 3850 in terms of performance increase ...
     
  10. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple
    They should be able to be more competitive with Core 2 but not nehalem. It's gonna depend on how well they overclock, if they can be overclocked from their stock frequencies of 2.6-3.0GHz to 3.6-3.8Ghz with the help of the new SB750 then Core 2 will face some stiff competition from AMD. They won't be able to take on Nehalem, but with Nehalem hardware priced at a premium they will offer an alternative to inexpensive Core 2 chips and will give AMD some breathing room until they release AM3 with DDR3 support.

    On side note, AMD stock is continuing to drop again.
     
  11. devguy

    devguy

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Messages:
    1,240 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    SoCal
    So, will you be able to put AM3 chips into an AM2+ motherboard (perhaps with a BIOS update) and use DDR2? That is what I believe AMD was alluding to. However, if this turns out to be another s939 vs AM2 issue, and I bought this AM2+ motherboard for only AM2+/AM2 processors, my next build may be with Intel...
     
  12. candle_86 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,916 (1.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    we have no idea how well deneb will actully preform
     
  13. PCpraiser100 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1,062 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    My AMD friend gave me a couple of benches of the Deneb in action, damn thing has a gift in multi-core applications. As for overclocking, the CPU has a very big advantage over the other Phenoms as you can OC the fastest sibling near 4GHz if you got the cooler for it (no liquid cooling needed) but this might change overtime if HT 3.1 shows up. BTW, I can't show you the benches as my friend said he could get in trouble.
     
  14. MadClown

    MadClown New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,362 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    108
    Location:
    NY, the state were you cant defend yourself
    Time to upgrade, =D
     
  15. PP Mguire

    PP Mguire New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Messages:
    5,005 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    453
    Location:
    Venus, Texas
    On another forum i have a good quote im known for.
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Ill prolly jump on the Deneb FX bandwagon.
     
  16. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (7.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Don't hold your breath. ECS has the worst BIOS coders I've seen. lol.
     
  17. PP Mguire

    PP Mguire New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Messages:
    5,005 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    453
    Location:
    Venus, Texas
    qfmft
     
  18. PCpraiser100 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1,062 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    Can't show benches so I hope people are trusting me. Mguire if you are too curious you have to be the judge once Deneb is released.
     
  19. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,309 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    870
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    LOL, they have the largest selection of compatible cpus for any particular board. Only reason this might not be supported is because its a 125w cpus. They don't officially support it but 9850 still works perfect.
     
  20. candle_86 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,916 (1.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    ECS doesnt enable Phenom support on any of there AM2 boards, just there AM2+ boards though, thats the issue
     
  21. PP Mguire

    PP Mguire New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Messages:
    5,005 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    453
    Location:
    Venus, Texas
    Ill be purchasing an FX no matter what benches say ;)
    Orly? Try putting a Phenom in MY ECS board and see if it works. I bet you 100 bucks it dosent.
     
  22. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,187 (2.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    650
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    the new amd phenom fx can give answers , and not only compete with core 2 even quad , and it will release nearly
     
  23. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,187 (2.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    650
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    +1 , 20x-24x multiplier

    any amd 790fx and 790gx can support new phenom fx

    im just want to see in q1 2009 new amd 45nm with ddr3 2000 chipset
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 10, 2008
  24. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    14,166 (4.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,052
    Unfortunately there really isnt any 790FX boards with a 750 Southbridge.
     
  25. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    29,743 (10.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,209
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page