1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD to Power TELUS' New Virtual Private Cloud

Discussion in 'News' started by Cristian_25H, Apr 17, 2012.

  1. Cristian_25H

    Cristian_25H News Poster

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    4,626 (4.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,164
    Location:
    Still on the East Side
    AMD today announced that TELUS, a leading Canadian telecommunications company, has chosen AMD Opteron processors to power its latest offering, the TELUS AgilIT Virtual Private Cloud. The TELUS AgilIT Virtual Private Cloud, announced today, offers AMDs' immense processing capabilities at outstanding power/performance per-dollar.

    TELUS chose AMD Opteron 6100 Series processors as well as the new AMD Opteron 6200 Series processors, which are based on the high-throughput core formerly codenamed "Bulldozer," to power its cloud. AMD's high-performance server processors are ideal to help TELUS deliver computing resources on-demand across three world-class data centers located in Canada.

    "In a data center, performance per-watt per-dollar is the most important metric used to calculate the true cost of a processor," said Tony Krueck, vice president of Business Products and Services, TELUS. "In our evaluation, our AMD-based servers use less power than comparable x86 solutions for the same workload, and are dramatically less expensive. And of course less power requires less cooling, adding even more savings to the equation. AMD was an obvious and easy choice."

    "AMD Opteron processors are helping TELUS deliver a high performance, energy-efficient cloud solution," said Vladimir Rozanovich, vice president, North America Commercial Business, AMD. "AMD server solutions continue to be recognized by leading cloud providers, including TELUS, as a superior and efficient choice to deliver the services their customers demand in a cost effective way."

    The TELUS AgilIT Virtual Private Cloud service allows businesses of all sizes access to on-demand computing resources, with a powerful, full-featured portal providing 24x7 remote access to their cloud, and a centralized view of cloud-based activity.
     
  2. ChristTheGreat

    ChristTheGreat

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Messages:
    954 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    441
    And what about the Electrical consumption? If the first 2 years, AMD cost less, but after 4, with the electrical consumption AMD cost more....

    Anyway, that is a good news for AMD. Happy to hear that :)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. repman244

    repman244

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,104 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    456
    I wonder why :laugh::laugh:
     
  4. Dos101

    Dos101

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Messages:
    569 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    145
    Cool! Good to hear some companies are still choosing AMD. Now if Telus could finally push the Mediaroom 2.1 update to my STB that would make my day.
     
  5. AlienIsGOD

    AlienIsGOD

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    3,484 (1.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,544
    Telus FTW :D my wife uses a Telus fone :p
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. seronx

    seronx

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    994 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    219
    Location:
    USA, Arizona
    It says it uses 6200s as well. LTR.
     
  7. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Servers are about the only thing that the Bulldozer / Interlagos is good for.
    L2Read maybe?
     
  8. Thefumigator

    Thefumigator

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    417 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    66
    What's wrong with the optys? Apart from anandtech review which is wrong in my opinion.

    Also, HE versions are really power efficient. They are perfect for a cloud.
     
  9. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,251 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    837
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    Bulldozer is best suited for multi-threaded apps and hence servers and virtuals suits best.
     
  10. arakan94 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2012
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2

    "In our evaluation, our AMD-based servers use less power than comparable x86 solutions for the same workload, and are dramatically less expensive. And of course less power requires less cooling, adding even more savings to the equation. AMD was an obvious and easy choice."
    :)
    They don't agree with you... ;)
     
  11. ChristTheGreat

    ChristTheGreat

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Messages:
    954 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    441


    well, maybe it's different from the desktop CPU... as actually an AMD CPU at same performance vs intel consume more power. And I just saw that I miss that line hahaha.

    But I find it very strange that AMD CPU consume less than Intel CPU on the server market as for desktop it's way different. But maybe it's where bulldozer is fast, on the server market. so at less speed, less power consumption, good performance, small price..
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. arakan94 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2012
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    well... :)
    Bulldozer is server architecture... ;)
    They really improved troughput, which is, especially in cloud and virtualization, very important...
     
    ChristTheGreat says thanks.
  13. Inceptor

    Inceptor

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    Messages:
    497 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    119
    Don't forget that Opterons have lower clocks than the consumer versions; reducing voltage and clock speed drastically reduces power consumption.
     
    ChristTheGreat says thanks.
  14. repman244

    repman244

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,104 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    456
    I know and I read it all, but you would expect them to buy the newest stuff on the market...you clearly didn't get what I was trying to say so..LTR
     
  15. ChristTheGreat

    ChristTheGreat

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Messages:
    954 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    441
    But, Xeon server also, no? I would like to compare in real usage these two :)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. repman244

    repman244

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,104 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    456
  17. Super XP

    Super XP

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,773 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    539
    Location:
    Ancient Greece, Acropolis
    They don't plan on Overclocking, on idle Bulldozer does just fine... ;)
    Anandtech? They are way Pro Intel regardless. The same can be said about CPU Magazine.
     
  18. repman244

    repman244

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,104 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    456
    Can you point out what exactly is pro Intel in those comparisons?
     
  19. Thefumigator

    Thefumigator

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    417 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    66
    -The use of dual socket configs instead of quad socket config where oterons would stomp everything. Yeah its not so cheap but the 64 cores are there and its possible to build it without breaking the bank.

    -Comparing power consumption when 2 different psu were used in each system (the intel system runs a 80plus platinum PSU!)

    -The use of a set of benchmarks for everything except cloud computing. While virtualization benchs is useful, its still not cloud computing.

    -No linux tests.

    -Of course intel is a great product. It just doesn't shine when they face a quad socket AMD opteron 6200 system. That's the important point, in my opinion.
     
    repman244 and Vulpesveritas say thanks.
  20. repman244

    repman244

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,104 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    456

    - Quad socket Opteron would go head to head with E7/E5 Xeons (10 core/20 thread CPU's: http://ark.intel.com/products/53580...7-8870-(30M-Cache-2_40-GHz-6_40-GTs-Intel-QPI), and also Xeon E5-4600 series), yes the cost of those Xeons (E7) is huge but it would be interesting to see the performance you get and the power consumption compared to quad BD setup
    - The PSU is a valid point, but AFAIK all enterprise PSU's are in 90% efficiency +- few %, and I doubt there is a huge difference (even magny-cours Opterons are sometimes more power efficient), although I could be wrong
    - You could think of many more benchmarks that haven't been used...no cloud computing makes them pro Intel?
    - Does no Linux test make them pro Intel? I do understand why they should include linux tests but it would probably take even longer to tweak each system and get everything optimized (just me guessing)

    BD offers very good performance for the price (and a lot of cores), but it's weakness is the performance per watt, which is very important when it comes to servers (most of the time it's more important then the initial cost of the system).

    Also don't take my posts the wrong way, I'm not bashing BD Opterons or anything, I'm just comparing and discussing here :toast:
     
  21. Thefumigator

    Thefumigator

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    417 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    66
    yeah I agree that power consumption is important, but if you see the difference, is somewhat small. We are talking about a mere 1 to 10 watts (no more) in multitasking in favour of intel against a 6200. And on idle is even less specially thinking that those servers could be on idle a huge amount of hours. Who knows... They even didn't tested the HE versions.

    Its a tradeoff really. In some cases one would be better than the other, and viceversa.

    I finally think that if you are a medium computing enterprise, you should have both kind of servers.

    What I don't like of anandtech review is like it feels rushed in. Of course is important to have a good preliminary review but if you are running a small office or small software company, or small medium cloud computing company, most likely you will go for the most cheap thing available. And quad socket from AMD is possible even for mere mortals like us, there's no quad socket mobo from intel in newegg, as far as I know.

    So why intel is charging so much for the high end server parts? well, in a dataserver data itself could cost several millions so its a smart policy from intel to charge whatever they want, it will sell it anyway.

    But in the end, these guys from TELUS choose AMD and I believe they had to have some good reasons to do so. I can Imagine they are not running dual socket, most likely quad socket. I see no other reason.

    Agreed to add coolness to discussions, it wouldn't be so fun to discuss if not. :toast:
     
  22. repman244

    repman244

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,104 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    456
    Hmm now that I look at it more closely the difference in power consumption isn't big.
    I had some experience with a 6 core HE version of Opteron (45nm) and I can tell you that those things run very very cool and the power consumption is just amazing, but didn't have a chance to play with the low power Xeons yet (L series Xeons).

    Agree, that for smaller scale servers the initial cost becomes an important factor, but when it comes to larger scale (for example rendering farms) Intel, like you said, can charger whatever they want because those companies don't care so much for the initial cost as they care for the high performance.

    Maybe with Piledriver Opterons AMD can further optimize the design (adding quad channel RAM, increasing IPC/clocks, and even adding more cores perhaps) and lowering the power consumption even further they could have a really good server CPU. BD is almost there but to me it just feels a bit unrefined (let's say a Phenom to Phenom II transition).
     
  23. Thefumigator

    Thefumigator

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    417 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    66
    Yeah everyone is waiting for piledriver actually
    Most likely it needs to mature more.
    Opterons don't run already on quad channel on socket G34?
     
  24. repman244

    repman244

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,104 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    456
    I'm not sure about this one but I think they use double dual channel, I'll look into it more...
     
  25. arakan94 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2012
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    They are using quad channel... ;)
     
    repman244 says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page