1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD to Release GPU Acceleration for Applications to run Faster than Ever

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Nov 13, 2008.

  1. jbunch07

    jbunch07 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    5,261 (1.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    614
    Location:
    Chattanooga,TN
    :roll:

    yeah, it's somewhat hard to compare unless they are using same specs...
     
  2. breakfromyou New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Messages:
    298 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    virginia, usa
    man did that make me laugh.
     
  3. mdm-adph

    mdm-adph New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,478 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    Location:
    Your house.
    Hate to say it, but you got a point -- companies sometimes pick utterly retarded things to compare speed against.

    It's like comcast in the US saying that you can "download 50,000 emails" before you hit their bandwidth caps -- who even cares? Tell me how many movies I cant d/l on Netflix, or how many HD films I can stream on Apple TV before you cut me off -- "emails" or "MP3 files" is useless. :p
     
  4. Dehx New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2006
    Messages:
    21 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Either way tho... 24 minutes to convert a full 1080p hi-def stream is time saved. My overclocked 4870 should be able to knock it down by a couple of minutes.
     
  5. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,225 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    991
    Location:
    Miami
    The real issue is coding. CUDA is a high level language, easy to code... if ATI's GPGPU isnt, then no one will want to write SH**T for it except for Ati.
     
  6. mdm-adph

    mdm-adph New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,478 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    Location:
    Your house.
    I'm pretty sure ATI's new version of GPGPU (either CTM or this new Stream) is supposed to be just like CUDA.
     
  7. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,990 (11.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,300
    cude and ATI's stream thingo, are both requirements for DX11. DX11 is going to be based on programmable GPU's (its already been announced this is how they're doing physics), so this is how they're going to make DX10 cards run DX11 features - just program it in, and have the GPU's do it in 'software' instead of dedicated hardware for each function.
     
  8. imperialreign

    imperialreign New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,043 (2.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    909
    Location:
    Sector ZZ₉ Plural Z Alpha
    so, it seems AMD has had something cooking in the background for sometime. Damn, they've really been stepping up to and on nVidia's toes this year.
     
  9. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,225 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    991
    Location:
    Miami
    bout damn time... now if they can only get the clowns in the processor department to do the same thing. :roll:
     
  10. imperialreign

    imperialreign New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,043 (2.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    909
    Location:
    Sector ZZ₉ Plural Z Alpha
    I'm sure they're up to something, too . . . they can't just go releasing specs left and right, cause Intel sandbags something fierce . . . anytime AMD release specs for something decent, Intel releases another batch of CPUs with higher clocks or some more features unlocked.

    AMD is just operating in stealth mode right now, and will come out fighting with some 1337 ninjer skillz. TBH, I expect this stream idea will be a major force behind their next CPU line.
     
  11. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,610 (3.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,390
    wow best news i've heard all week!! Woot!! :D
     
  12. spearman914

    spearman914 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,339 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York 11223
    Is this FPS specifically or just loading times??? If it's fps there's no use for such high fps.
     
  13. imperialreign

    imperialreign New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,043 (2.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    909
    Location:
    Sector ZZ₉ Plural Z Alpha
    no - this is any program that doesn't specifically require the GPU solely for running . . . pretty much, anything but games. It's meant that the GPU could potentiall offload some of the CPUs workload, offering better performance in just about any application you could open up.
     
  14. xfire

    xfire

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,397 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    Hyderabad,India
    Hasn't anyone used Avivo yet?
    http://game.amd.com/us-en/drivers_catalyst.aspx?p=xp/radeonxavivo-xp
    Install Catalyst
    Install Avivo package
    Start Catalyst in basic mode
    In the easy setup wizard select Avivo converter and proceed.

    and incase you search the ATI website for more stuff and run across Hydravision(tranperency effects and such) don't install it, It hit my IGP's perfomance CS went from 60+ to 15 fps. Even after uninstalling it was hit.
     
  15. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    This will speed up folding wont it?
     
  16. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,990 (11.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,300
    no. folding already uses their programmable architecture, this just allows other programs to use it too.
     
  17. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,187 (2.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    650
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    im know some information about this before , but what is i know this driver only for 4870x2 some driver can enable some some kind of bridge between the two core's which is can make run faster , but know i see this is more here , we can called it some reaction from ati on nvidia bigbang2 , but i hope it will be better than nvidia bigbang 2 which they lose this name when release the 180.43 and say it will be 30% more performance , this driver give good performance but maybe 5-7% only sure they was lie about 30% performance
     
  18. raptori

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Messages:
    655 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    66
    yea i think its gonna accelerate some programs causes the stream processors will take the load from CPU isn't it some how similar to CUDA of course with different programs.
     
  19. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,187 (2.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    650
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    agree my friend , ati high core speed must be more useful they don't use it well right now, and we know some gpu speed more than 12x cpu speed
     
  20. xfire

    xfire

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,397 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    Hyderabad,India
    screenies
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    The whole thing is pretty fast but doesn't let me change the resolution of the Video
    Should be faster on other cards.
     
  21. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,610 (3.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,390
    ok you say Everything HD 2000 and upward..... why now am i seeing that it only supports the 4800 series gpu's? what gives? ppl not getting there facts right oh what? I hope im wrong! :wtf:
     
  22. xfire

    xfire

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,397 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    Hyderabad,India
    still in the initial stages wait for it. As you can see my card(x1200) has been supported for some time now and its only an IGP.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page