1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD to Showcase B3 Phenoms at CeBIT 2008

Discussion in 'News' started by malware, Jan 25, 2008.

  1. malware New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    5,476 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    Due to the TLB (translation lookaside buffer) bug, AMD has postponed the launch of its upcoming quad-core Phenom 9700 and 9900 CPUs to the second quarter of 2008, however the company is planning to showcase them at CeBIT 2008 along with the fixed B3 stepping Phenoms, according to DigiTimes citing sources at the motherboard makers. AMD will also showcase the energy-efficient Phenom 9100e. Advanced Micro Devices is confident that it has solved the bug in the B3 stepping revision, but since the company has not yet revealed an actual shipment date for the new stepping, it is unclear whether the showcase will also mark the new beggining of the AMD Phenom epoch. CeBIT 2008 will take place in Hannover Germany 4-9 March, 2008.

    Source: DigiTimes
  2. moto666 Guest

    Hope They learnd from the past!
    And do the right thing!

    So B3 is solved and ready for take off!

    Intel reaction would price drops and I become my Q6600 for a little cheaper!

    :pimp:
  3. von kain New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    Messages:
    782 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    49
    Location:
    athens/greece
    my guess is that it is like atholon once again...
  4. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,796 (3.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    If it is, then thats a good thing. Being like the athlon. I think the next step of the phenom will be more competitive with Intels Quads.
  5. candle_86 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,916 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    well B3 is supposed to overclock really well also.
  6. devguy

    devguy

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Messages:
    1,239 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    SoCal
    Where did you hear that? I've heard the same thing, but I haven't been able to find any reliable sources saying so...
  7. candle_86 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,916 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    forums.amd.com
  8. Urbklr

    Urbklr

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,346 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Location:
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    It had better overclock better, or AMD is in trouble with alot of user's like us... The Q6600 can be tooken to 3.2GHz+, with the current Phenom's barely reaching 2.7GHz. I would love to see a 3.5+GHz Phenom though, may be asking much, but it would be awsome:D....Please B3, bring me a 3.5GHz Phenom<3
  9. jpierce55

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,335 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    91
    If any hit 3.5 I would be surprised, maybe the new BE if there is one. That would make a fantastic chip.
  10. happita

    happita

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2,356 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    395
    Indeed it would, makes me think if the new phenoms are going to put a fight with wolfdale/yorkfield. Might have to wait to see some performance numbers before settling with an E8400/8500

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page