1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Unveils A10-7800 Quad-core Socket FM2+ APU

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Jun 30, 2014.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    29,160 (10.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,806
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    AMD unveiled a new mid-range APU to take on Intel's Core i3 "Haswell" processors, the A10-7800 (model: AD7800YBI44JA). Based on the 28 nm "Kaveri" silicon, and built in the socket FM2+ package, this part differs from the A10-7850K in lacking an unlocked CPU base clock multiplier, and a rated TDP of just 65W (compared to the former's 95W). The A10-7800 features four x86-64 cores based on the "Steamroller" micro-architecture, spread across two modules, featuring 4 MB (2x 2 MB) of L2 cache; clocked at 3.50 GHz, with a TurboCore frequency of 3.90 GHz. Also featured is Radeon R7 Series integrated GPU featuring 512 GCN2 cores, with support for AMD Mantle and DirectX 11.2. Its uncore component features a dual-channel DDR3 integrated memory controller, with support for DDR3-1866 MHz, and a PCI-Express gen 3.0 root complex. It's expected to be priced between US $140 and $150.

    [​IMG]
     
  2. HalfAHertz

    HalfAHertz

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,902 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    387
    Location:
    Singapore
    Can these APUs be overclocked by raising the base clock? Or is there a limit for the base clock like on intel's CPUS?
     
  3. Sempron Guy

    Sempron Guy

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    270 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    85
    no A8-7600 yet :confused:
     
  4. Gadgety New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Messages:
    19 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    They hyped it and then won't launch because the awareness has been created with consumers, while the margins are higher for the A10-7850k, and in the laptop segment (OEM volumes).

    AMD are probably just trying to milk the max cash out of the Kaveri. If the A8-7600 ever launches, consumers will have grown tired of waiting, because after a delay of almost a year, and will have already bought some other chip. Perhaps they launch it as the good value swan song after they have announced the next gen APU.
     
    Last edited: Jun 30, 2014
  5. tokyoduong

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Messages:
    478 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    119
    so confused
    such conspiracy
    many wows
     
  6. john_

    john_

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2013
    Messages:
    285 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Athens, Greece
    Is this about A8-7600?
    No?
    Not interested then.
     
  7. Mathragh

    Mathragh

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,121 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    312
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Why not? this chip has full shaders, and also a 65Watt TDP with decent clocks.

    What part makes the 7600 a better choice?
     
  8. Sempron Guy

    Sempron Guy

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    270 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    85
    The A8-7600 is configurable to 45w. Not to mention the gpu part is on par with A10-6800k.
     
  9. emissary42

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    96 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    180
    You can raise BCLK, but there are two limitations. At a very early stage you will lose AHCI and VGA functionality, but then you're good to go up until 136MHz. Beyond that you need a mainboard with an external clock generator, like ASUS A88X Pro or Gigabyte F2A88X-UP4. With one of those up to ~ 180MHz are quite doable.
     
  10. Gadgety New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Messages:
    19 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Missing the pronoun much?
     
  11. Gadgety New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Messages:
    19 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I would assume price would be lower, but the performance will be sufficient. Better value for money. All reviews of the Kaveri line shows performance on the upper end doesn't increase in proportion to energy consumption, heat and price. Diminishing returns.
     
  12. john_

    john_

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2013
    Messages:
    285 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Athens, Greece
    Because of the price. At $140 or more, 78X0K/7700K APUs are just a "NO GO". OK if you need to build a slim PC that will NEVER ever get a discrete graphics card and at the same time you need the best possible integrated graphics, I agree it is the best possible choice at the moment. But this isn't the case for most people who could be interested in a chip like this. We are talking about a very limited market. The rest will do their maths and see for example that a 750K and even a non-K R7 250, are a much better option than 7800K. Or they will choose an Intel. The unlocked Pentium will only do things worst now.

    When Kaveri come out 7600 was a dream come true for the AMD platform. If you wanted to build an all around office PC, or an internet PC, or a light gaming PC, or an HTPC, or a PC to do a little of all the above, 7600 was just perfect. Configurable TDP as low as 45W, quad core over 3GHz, 384 stream processors, HSA, GCN, Mantle, TrueAudio. Compared to the $152 for the 7700K and the $173 of the 7850K, 7600 at $119 was the only Kaveri APU that there was logic in buying it.

    Unfortunately AMD used the 7600 only for positive feedback on the Kaveri and hoped that most people who will lose their patience will just wait doing nothing or go for the higher models that have better margins.

    In my case that I sold one of my AM3s making room for the 7600, AMD was in fact lucky because I am AMD only in the cpu part for many years. AM1 was looking really interesting and decided to built an AM1 with a Sempron 3850 as an HTPC, so AMD kept me as a customer. But it was the first time in 15 years that I thought to go back to Intel and if G3258 had come two months earlier it would have been my first Intel in years.
     
    Mathragh says thanks.
  13. EEQPCyblerr New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2014
    Messages:
    3 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    At least, AMD release APU again and leave FX, I want AMD create FX-APU like 8 core with R7, I hope that.
     
  14. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,397 (6.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,417
    These APUs are like Intel's CPUs. The PCI-E frequency is linked to the BCLK, so you can only raise it ~5%.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. emissary42

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    96 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    180
    Last edited: Jun 30, 2014
  16. buildzoid

    buildzoid

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1,426 (1.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    406
    Location:
    CZ
  17. emissary42

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    96 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    180
    buildzoid says thanks.
  18. buildzoid

    buildzoid

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1,426 (1.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    406
    Location:
    CZ
  19. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,397 (6.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,417
    Suicide runs with just a CPU-Z screen shots don't prove me wrong.

    I can guarantee both of those machines are unstable. They likely didn't have anything but the bare essentials plugged in, were likely running with a single stick of RAM, and the hard drive/ssd was running in IDE mode(because SATA starts to freak out when you clock it that high).

    My statement was about the average person that wants to run 24/7 stable clocks. Show me some BCLK overclocks with 24 hours of Prime95, then you can claim I'm wrong.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. john_

    john_

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2013
    Messages:
    285 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Athens, Greece
    Talking about AMD APUs and bus frequency let me add my Sempron 3850

    sempron.jpg
     
  21. revanchrist New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2014
    Messages:
    18 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    750K combo with R7 250 has same performance in graphics but lower performance in CPU compared to a 7850K. WIth the asking price of the former at $160 and the later at $170 i'll say they are both good in value. But without doubt, 7850K is the best value option if you do not want to use a discrete graphics card. Else simply take an Intel's.
     
  22. arbiter

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2012
    Messages:
    266 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Won't happen without a bigger socket and cpu cause gpu takes up a lot of space.
     
  23. emissary42

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    96 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    180
    That run has nothing to do with suicide. It was plain air cooling and barely any voltages other than Vnb, which was at or even below 1.4V, have been touched.

    I used my FM2 system at 140MHz BCLK for over a year. Of course i didn't prime95 those settings for 24h and that would be have been beyond pointless for FM2(+) anyways. This is not Haswell, where you need a dozen In-Place FFT custom runs for somewhat decent stability. If you don't trust the statement of a techpowerup "newbie", just get yourself a FM2(+) rig and see for yourself. All necessary information to reproduce that overclock were given in my original statement (#9).
     
  24. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,397 (6.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,417
    Yeah, I don't have any experience with FM2(+)*looks at sig*

    And who wants to run their HDD, or even worse an SSD, in IDE mode? No one.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. emissary42

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    96 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    180
    None of your boards have an external clock gen, so you would be limited to 136MHz. But you never even tried to disable AHCI to break 105MHz...?

    And who would use DD3-1600 memory in an overclocked A10-6800 build using the integrated graphics? Yeah, right... suddenly IDE mode sounds good enough to me (and it really is).

    But we are a quite a bit off topic, so lets end it with this.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page