1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Unveils Athlon 64 X2 6400+ Black Edition

Discussion in 'News' started by zekrahminator, Aug 14, 2007.

  1. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    He is talking about a 6400+ at stock.
  2. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,486 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    Thought as much. ^^
  3. a111087

    a111087

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,743 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    194
    Location:
    US
    InnocentCriminal is correct :D
  4. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,486 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    I am? Excellent! Do I win anything? :)
  5. a111087

    a111087

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,743 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    194
    Location:
    US
    You win my invisible 8800Ultra, I will ship it to you tomorrow in an invisible package through Invisible Postage Service (IPS) :roll:
  6. DrunkenMafia

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,277 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Location:
    Cairns QLD, Aussie
    I really don't know why amd has this little sales strategy of theirs... tryin to keep everything top secret and then BANG they release it and everyone goes YAY... its going to be sooooo fast. And then its not... its only just as fast or a bit slower than the competions offerings which have been out for a couple months already....

    I don't get it. They need to try a different strategy...
  7. KennyT772

    KennyT772 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,585 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    103
    dont you guys realize AMD is using intel's prescott marketing. AMD's chips were superior and intel had to keep revising and die shrinking to speed bin higher while they were working on a new architecture. AMD is going the same route until k10 comes out.
  8. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,913 (5.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,063
    Location:
    Ohio
    Maybe but they aren't using nutburst :D

    Bah at this 6400+, if someone would ship me a good cooler I could just OC my 5200+ to its speeds and be satusfied
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    Um no the 64 killed the Intel Pent 4 chips overclocked and at stock it wasn't close . Then they charged giant amounts for their chips remember the extreme Intel chips .The Am2 6400+ if you read will beat a e6600 e6700 e6750 and will catch a stock e6850 when oced so I don't see your point. Intel was just overclocking chips and acting like it was making a difference and they weren't even close, these however are. We are talking in some cases a 5 percent difference. Lets face it the 6400+ is a 12 percent increase over the 6000+ that not a tiny amount. Intel just release the 1333fsb chips and they only increased performance by 5 percent and I didn't hear anyone say a thing. The AM2 64 x2 chips are very capable cpus they can match up with Core 2 Duo chips very well. Which just goes to show you how well they were designed 3 years ago to be able to even compete with in some cases 1 year to 6 month old chips. If AMD can keep pumping up the mghz keep it up. Look at the difference in gpu speeds in say a 8800 Ultra gtx and a 2900xt you wouldn't apply your theory here would you? Those gpu's don't run at or near the same mghz. Should AMD drop there speeds on the 6000+ to say 2.66 ghz to match up right. Why when the chip will run at 3.0ghz and beyond. Thats a really dumb arguement. If Intel was smart they would put AMD down by producing a e7000 running at 4.0ghz, which their chips can do, when bined right but what they are doing is streching their chips out trying to make them last as long as possible just like AMD is doing now. Atleast AMD doesn't give up on it's customers like Intel used to and without AMD Intel would still be making you change your motherboard everytime a new chip revision came out. Way to go AMD I bet we get a e6900 because of this. To make my point look how AMD/ATI is tweaking the hell out of the 2900 xt the newest driver release upped it's performance in some games by 17 percent. Now that my friends is customer support and hard work. Why do you think they haven't released the AM2+ chips yet ? It's because they promised their customers the new chips would be AM2 compatable and are trying to keep their word. If this were an Intel issue instead of AMD, get ready motherboard makers to start pumping out a new socket because Intel would just move on and screw the consumer. I can only go by the past and thats their track record thoe I will give them credit they are learning from AMD
    Last edited: Aug 15, 2007
    Lodzinjsh and a111087 say thanks.
  10. russianboy New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Messages:
    1,800 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    90
    good stuff, thanks zek.
  11. russianboy New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Messages:
    1,800 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    90
    oh and trt740 is my best friend now.
    trt740 says thanks.
  12. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    Why thanks but like Julian Lenon better he was from my era.
  13. russianboy New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Messages:
    1,800 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    90
    I don't care from whos era im in/from, if there was something good, I like it.

    no matter where/when its from.
  14. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113


    I am perhaps the stupidest man on TPU...NEVER put hot sauce on your penis. Unless you want an hour of running around screaming. I would tend to agree. :D
  15. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,569 (5.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,439
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    I'll still be very surprised if an overclocked AMD 6400 will get anywhere near an overclocked 6600....across the board, maybe in the odd test, maybe even almost in Sceincemark 2 but then thats as much the memory and HDD access time as it is the speed of the chip. I know Trt's old 6000 beat a number of C2D's in sceincemark but as I said, because there are so many variables in that test the ones he beat probably were running their memory at 800-900Mhz, Trt's was running around 1160Mhz and in that test thats a HUGE difference, you only need to look at the SuperPi times, the 6000 @ 3.5Gig was hitting just over 23 secs, the C2D @ 3.5Gig were hitting near to 14 secs!

    Bottom line tho, for those AM2 owners who are waiting for Phenom, it is at least an upgrade path, whether it's worth it or not is another matter, IMO unless the 6400 can give you 200Mhz overclocked on the 6000 then it's clearly not worth it and TBH I cannot see a 90nm chip doing 3.7Gig, today, tomorrow or even when the pigs fly!
  16. MacboY New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I really dont know why these so called AMD Fanboys wont just give over and accept that the evil dark side is far superior at the moment and that phenom will be as disapointing as all current "new" developments from said company -= I betrayed them and now have 2 core2duos - they overclock more than any of my old amds did and after maz\king the change i wont look back- Dont get me wrong - a loss of AMD would be the worst possible thing that could happen to the IT industry i xan think of as Then intels prices rocket and the dev process slows down to a total halt - we wouldnt have conroe and so forth if it wert for athlon64 - Get ur arse into gear and make sumit revolutionary again - bad things recently - ATI head geeza steps dwn - Oh dear !!!, 45nm fabs cancelld - oh dear oh dear - Am i right in thinking that intels 32nm process is inc atm and they have a 80core cpu ffs - Bring it amd we need u
  17. Grings

    Grings New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,303 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    184
    Location:
    Blighty
    it amazes me how people make out amd is so inferior because their chips are slightly slower than intels, yet when intel were making nutbursts everyone was making excuses for intel, clearly intel have a superbly efficient, well oiled propaganda machine
  18. MacboY New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I couldnt agree with you more - Apple being the Gods of turning every consumer into a unpaid computer vidgulati hell bent on telling every1 how much greater macs are than anything they have and yet receiving no gain from said free marketing - Is very odd indeed.
    Im not quite sure what to make of current price war though - a core2quad drops 120quids in a month - u can get retail boxed goodness for 160quids with VAT - WTF! how on earth are amd sposed to compete with that - is not faair but sadly thats business.

    All hail Mac - You know u wanit --- lawl
  19. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Wow, that makes 3 of us Mac fans on this forum. lol
  20. Grings

    Grings New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,303 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    184
    Location:
    Blighty
    i abide macs, just cant afford one (my pc's only up to date because i can do it bit by bit) i'd love to see them release the os alone (to run on any x86 hardware, without hacking it) as i'd prefer it to linux (what i use for anything other than movies/games)
  21. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,569 (5.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,439
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    I dont think AMD chips are inferior......on the contrary, I am an AMD fanboi at heart....no doubt about it, all I am saying (If your comments in part were addressed towards me) is that currently (and I constantly remind people AMD held the performance crown in most things for over 3 years), the C2D is clock for clock supposidly 15-20% faster across the board, but raw speed does not always actually = better. My other point being that unless the 6400 will give at least 200Mhz exra overclock then IMO the 6000 remains the better option.
  22. mak3nshi

    mak3nshi New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    Overclock athlon are still pretty competitive. Got this picture from another forum.

    [​IMG]
  23. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    Guys stop arguing. The real bottom line is that we are getting controlled by market stratergies/propaganda. One SAD fact AMD needs to address is their advertising segment. I did a survey and most of my schools students didn't have a clue about what AMD was. EVERYONE knew what intel was, and everyone knew what a Pentium 4 was. See? AMD Should advertise when they are KICKING ass, i.e. the Prescott era. They would have generated a large revenue, but no.

    Now going onto the performance of the 6400. Guys stop talking about OVERCLOCKING. The general consumer will not whatsoever overclock. If its cheaper and has better performance, then by ALL means go for it. Dont think about overclocking so much, the unknown MAY happen (example slightly oc'ed Prescott with good cooling literally frying for no apparent reason). I am no way a fanboy, and at this day and age, calling people FANBOYS is a insult, especially you MacBOY; you cannot deny the fact that AMD gives better performance for their money, do not try to counter this with overclocking as an excuse.
    russianboy says thanks.
  24. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,486 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    Don't forget tk - AMD don't have anywhere near the capital that Intel does, so I can only guess that their PR budget would be much smaller. They'd most likely be using that money on refining their processes and Fabs.
  25. mak3nshi

    mak3nshi New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    Which school and what area in Sydney are you talking about TK? My work colleague, friend's
    all know what AMD is. In fact most of the guys i knew when i used to go to school all had AMD processors on their machine. No offense by any means man. But AMD is not as unpopular as you think in Australia. Especially with it being in Sydney.
    Last edited: Aug 15, 2007

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page