1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Unveils ATI Catalyst 10.6 WHQL Software Suite

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Jun 16, 2010.

  1. pjladyfox

    pjladyfox New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Messages:
    232 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    43
    Interesting. I thought I was the only one that was seeing this issue on a dual-monitor setup. The odd thing is that, from what I remember, the issue only seems to affect Vista or Windows 7 systems and appears to be fixed on those running XP. After getting tired of it I put an NVIDIA card in my workstation in the Lab *shudder* which I hated to do but had no other choice. That and I was doing some troubleshooting for a Mechwarrior 3 issue for another forum related to NVIDIA cards going to a black screen when using newer drivers. :banghead:

    Honestly, I'm not sure what the heck is going on with all of these odd display-related issues on the 5-series cards. I've been a die-hard ATI/AMD user ever since the early Pentium days but when this gets to a point where even I have to put an NVIDIA GPU in my system to work normally something is seriously rotten in Denmark. :wtf:
  2. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,746 (4.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,776
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Yeah, I don't get it either, other than Dell may have very well been right about the card not outputing a strong enough display signal. At this point, it's the only reasonable answer to the problem I've heard, and AMD and thier board partners are denying there is even a problem at all, and that it must be the monitors.:shadedshu

    I'm going to actually test the output signals this weekend...both for signal strength and waveform. :rolleyes:

    I ogt a new card from XFX on monday, with Black Edition specs...but isn't a Black Edition, and I am going to pick up a couple of non-reference cards to compare iwth the reference, to see if there is any change.

    I'm just stubborn, and refuse to give up on them, even though hey seem to have given up on me.:p

    I can now consistently make the cursor bug out...but it will take more testing before I can confirm what I think is happening.
  3. alexsubri

    alexsubri New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,391 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    199
    Huge thanks I forgot about this :)
  4. TRIPTEX_CAN

    TRIPTEX_CAN

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,304 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    723
    Location:
    BC.CAN
    Actually I just had the chance to try it again and BC2 is still broken for me on 10.6. Reinstalled-> used Crossfire profiles -> rebooted. When BC2 loads the map I CTD around the time I finish loading. No error message or anything.. just CTD.

    Back to 10.5 indefinitely.
  5. Hockster

    Hockster

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    392 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    100
    Installed these today and my 2D clocks are nonexistant. Whether Overdrive is enabled or not both GPUs are at 725/1000. If I OC via Afterburner 2D clocks of both GPU's drop to 400/1000. 3D does kick back up to proper clocks, or my OCed clocks if selected.
  6. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    7,997 (3.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,872
    10.5! you serious? That has gotta be the worst driver and one that will mess things up big time!
    you guys must be leaving some driver stragler's behinde when installing the 10.6cat's

    Im having no issues at all with this driver... 2d clocks run nice and low and switch to 3d clocks nice and smooth...
  7. Hockster

    Hockster

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    392 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    100
    Only if Driver Sweepr is missing something.
  8. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    7,997 (3.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,872
    you go into the registry and delete ati files? driver sweeper for me has left entries behind for me.
  9. Hockster

    Hockster

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    392 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    100
    Manually? No. I set DS to clean it. I've looked afterwards and never found anything, but haven't checked for a while.
    fullinfusion says thanks.
  10. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    7,997 (3.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,872
    If you had 10.5 ccc installed before I pretty much betcha there are stragglers left behind
  11. MelodiousUltra New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    86 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Southern California
    Then do you have to take any action if you buy a brand new ATI HD5000 card, put it into your system, and download the latest driver (Catalyst 10.6)?
    I take it that before you download an update, you must go through and remove the drivers in control panel, delete ATI stuff in registry, and use Driver Sweeper in order to ensure stability?
  12. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,490 (13.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,900
    I updated from 10.4a's (I think). Something before 10.5's though and I get 400/1000 for 2d clocks now.


    Yes, I made this little guide for it. http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?t=52502
    fullinfusion says thanks.
  13. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    7,997 (3.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,872
    your using a 5870 - 50 thou are you not?

    the others are using 5970's and I was pointing out that sence im using the beast Im not having any problems with 2d clocks...

    also your how to remove ccc thread is my golden bible to do a clean install of ati's drivers :respect:
  14. DonInKansas

    DonInKansas

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,096 (1.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,265
    Location:
    Kansas
    I'm sticking with 10.2 (I think) until the super idle downclocks come back or at least become an option again.
  15. ariff_tech New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    44 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    but they still didnt support 5x1 potrait mode, :banghead::banghead:
    i wonder what driver they used on their booth at computex 2010:confused::confused:
  16. anonemus

    anonemus New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    189 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Location:
    Davao City, Philippines
    Same with mine. From 10.5 to 10.6 and now my 2D clock in XP is 400/1000 :(
  17. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    7,997 (3.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,872
    Old driver stragglers are present man, XP ? :slap: common and get with the times!!
  18. anonemus

    anonemus New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    189 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Location:
    Davao City, Philippines
    Will clean drivers and reinstall other GPU OC tools later :)
  19. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,543 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    510
    Location:
    Australia
    Was 10.3 the last driver to have performance improvements for the ATI 48xx series?
  20. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,934 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,358
    it should be noted that i still have had no trouble with idle clocks being above normal.

    I do not:
    use OC software (stock clocks)
    use driver sweeper/cleaner programs.
    run multi monitor (atm)
  21. Mr McC

    Mr McC

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,248 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    323
    Specs as shown, card completely stock, connected only to my tv, downloaded and installed last night following erocker's installation guide. I haven't unlocked the Overdrive section in CCC, but the clocks are displaying as 157/300, can I assume that I have escaped the dreaded 2D clock issue, or do I have to enable Overdrive before I can tell?

    I did notice corrupted text on the ATI registration window that pops up at the start (don't know why I haven't permanently closed that yet), so I may revert back to 10.4. It seems that ATI's priorty was to coincide with Nvidia's release and increase synthetic benchmark scores, rather than ensuring that the driver was properly tested before becoming available to the public.
    Last edited: Jun 18, 2010
  22. TRIPTEX_CAN

    TRIPTEX_CAN

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,304 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    723
    Location:
    BC.CAN
    10.5 works great for me. Solid consistent performance in the games I play. Stable OCs and no 2D/3D issue.

    10.6 just breaks BC2 performance. (http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?t=124736) not much else to say about it.
  23. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,934 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,358
    you've escaped the bug as well.

    i think the 'feature' is present only when you OC, or run dual monitors. Its a bug when it happens to crossfire users.
    Mr McC says thanks.
  24. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,746 (4.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,776
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    The idle clock thing is better for Crossfire multi-mon...10.5, secondary card would get same idle clocks, 10.6, secondary gpu will go down to 157/300, while the main card sits @ 400/12xx.


    However, it doesn't fix any issues they claim it does. I'd rather have my lower idle clocks back.

    Big testing this weekend...gonna have to install fresh OS and start everything new again...:rolleyes:
  25. mab1376

    mab1376

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Messages:
    946 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    No issues, no real performance increases thus far, checked APB and Splinter Cell Conviction.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page