1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Unveils New Embedded G-Series System-on-Chip

Discussion in 'News' started by Cristian_25H, Apr 23, 2013.

  1. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,581 (4.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,976
    did you miss their 4.5W x86 tablet processor?
    what you are saying makes no sense and is not based on actual facts. AMD already demostrated a tablet with 4.5W x86 core CPU :/

    infact i can quote from the endgadget post someone just linked:
    and i believe if they can work on their 22nm and 18nm manufacturing processes, they can easily bring that down to 3W.

    infact AMD has already been able to get Global Foundries to make 22nm stuff.
  2. alwayssts

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    357 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    78
    Just out of curiousity nay-sayers...I have two questions.

    1. What are the first designs tested on any of the new process at TSMC/GF?

    2. Who generally tapes out and produces graphics chips on a process first?


    You don't have to believe it...even though they explicitly said it.

    Just understand an ARM core is more power efficient in many applicable tasks/scenarios, there are markets AMD wants/needs to get into, some existing markets they feel ARM will work better than x86 (as Intel has indirectly shown to be the case) especially when leveraging HSA in certain power envelopes. ARM cores mean faster time to market on a given process and AMD's graphics guys are typically ready to pounce with a design ready to manufacturer as soon as a new process is open for orders. Example: Jaguar chips on Glo-flos 28nm process. Example: 110, 90, 80, 65, 55, 40 and 28nm at tsmc.

    It. Just. Makes. Sense.

    I don't understand the doubt. Do you really think they could do worse than Tegra?

    nvidia, the company whom generally (gk104 excluded) makes bloated gpus generally not well-designed for the voltage/clock/power/bandwidth specifics of a process surprisingly has ARM chips that under-perform in a given power envelope or use too much power for typical ARM platforms. AMD, the people that took on a 576mm chip with one measuring 256mm and won by leveraging those same specifics, and generally that set up all their chips (apus included) to use bw up as efficiently (Tahiti at stock excluded) as freaking possible want a piece of that market. They are going to challenge, and perhaps personally help forge a way against whatever proprietary crap nvidia/intel attempts to instill on this emerging market with open standards along with a gigantic host of other important players.

    Again...not getting how people aren't excited. This...is good. We want this. :confused:
  3. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,188 (6.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,028
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    I'm not saying that they're not doing it as this point. I'm just saying that practically nothing has been said about it so I suspect that their 2013/2014 timeframe is going to be more like 2014 or later. I completely believe that they're designing an ARM based CPU but I don't think we'll see it soon. The rumor mill also has been churning up the possibility that Apple is thinking about moving their laptop platforms to ARM-based processors but I think that's all rumor and speculation. It does make you wonder though, but I think if anything big happens it is going to be further down the road.
  4. 63jax

    63jax

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Messages:
    47 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Romania
    it doesn't matter if it is 10x faster that an Intel or Nvidia equivalent, people will still not buy them. most of them are uneducated and dumb on the matter, they only heard of Intel and NV, and that's what they want.
    poor AMD marketing is on of the culprits.
  5. Vinska

    Vinska

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1,409 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,248
    Location:
    Kaunas, Lithuania
    Most of them also have their HDD pre-formatted to have two partitions. Then they cry about their disk being full w/ 215KiB free in C: disk and disk D: being 99.9% empty.

    In other words, world goes like this:
    Code:
    if (client->cash > 9001)
    	salesman(tosell->top_intel_nvidia);
    else if (client->cash > MEH)
    	salesman(tosell->midlow_intel_nvidia);
    else
    	salesman(tosell->amd);
    Chevalr1c says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. Xzibit

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Messages:
    1,121 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    252
    Surprised this wasnt included in the post.

    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 20, 2013

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page