1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Updates Radeon HD 7950 to Thwart GeForce GTX 660 Ti

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Aug 14, 2012.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,568 (11.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,644
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    AMD is preparing to update the specifications of its Radeon HD 7950 graphics processor to make it more competitive in the sub-$400 market segment, particularly against NVIDIA's upcoming GeForce GTX 660 Ti graphics processor. The update is much like that of the Radeon HD 7750, which got its core frequency increased from 800 to 900 MHz in a specifications update. The company released a new BIOS ROM image file which works on all AMD reference design Radeon HD 7950 graphics cards, which implements the new specifications.

    The new specifications sees the GPU core frequency increased to 850 MHz (from 800 MHz), and introduces PowerTune with Boost, which sends the GPU clock speed up to 925 MHz, when applications demand it. The memory frequency stays unchanged, at 1250 MHz, and so do the physical specifications of the GPU, such as stream processor, TMU, and ROP counts. All Radeon HD 7950 graphics cards manufactured from mid-August will feature the new specifications, prices will remain unchanged. If you're familiar with manually updating the BIOS, you can check it out (at your own risk) from our VGA BIOS Database. Set your card's BIOS selector switch to "1" (if available), and update the BIOS. It works only with AMD reference-design HD 7950 cards.

    [​IMG]

    DOWNLOAD: AMD Radeon HD 7950 Specifications Update BIOS
     
    Last edited: Aug 14, 2012
    Darkleoco, cadaveca and baggpipes say thanks.
  2. Delta6326

    Delta6326

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,827 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    667
    Location:
    Iowa, USA
    That's sweet if you already own one its like a free upgrade.
     
  3. LAN_deRf_HA

    LAN_deRf_HA

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,548 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    946
    Sapphire copies nvidia and then AMD copies sapphire?
     
  4. dank1983man420

    dank1983man420

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    Messages:
    496 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    Near Chicago, IL
    So they overclock it for you, which would put a big dent on user overclocking past those new specs. Would it not?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  5. Mathragh

    Mathragh

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,077 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    293
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Wasnt this the same with the new 7970 bios?
     
  6. buggalugs

    buggalugs

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Messages:
    935 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    143
    Location:
    Australia
    And Nvidia copies Intel. Actually AMD had it on their processors and onboard gpus before Nvidia used it so I guess Nvidia copied AMD too.

    Anyway good move from AMD. No need to rush out a completely new GPU or drop prices too much.
     
  7. dank1983man420

    dank1983man420

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    Messages:
    496 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    Near Chicago, IL
    Yeah pretty much. AMD released a new GHz model to thwart the 680. Then the GHz bios got leaked and people found out they could just flash their standard 7970's with the bios and turn them into the GHz edition for an easy ~$70 savings. At least it's free this time without trying to release a new model !!:toast:
     
    Last edited: Aug 14, 2012
    Mathragh says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  8. RejZoR

    RejZoR

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    4,628 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    932
    Location:
    Europe/Slovenia
    I'll get my HD7950 with core at 900MHz out of the box anyway so i don't care :p
     
  9. Dj-ElectriC

    Dj-ElectriC

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,190 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    838
    I lol'ed
     
  10. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,176 (2.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    nice i am have one
     
  11. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5,819 (3.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,346
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    so its called official OC, bumping some MHz to boost the performance
     
  12. Dj-ElectriC

    Dj-ElectriC

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,190 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    838
    Well, it does include the boost option so...

    I say - every improvement is always welcome.
    There's no need to bash AMD for actually doing something good
     
  13. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    I wonder if other non-reference models will get update bios as well :rolleyes:
     
    Last edited: Aug 14, 2012
  14. SIGSEGV

    SIGSEGV

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2012
    Messages:
    507 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    107
  15. Kenshai

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,646 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    218
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina
    So if AMD is putting this out, they clearly believe every single reference design will hit 900 mhz (presumably with a minor voltage bump.) Why wouldn't they just release them this way from the start? Essentially sandbagging their GPU for extra cash at the time. I know this is common practice but just annoying :)
     
  16. hardcore_gamer

    hardcore_gamer

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    388 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    174
    Location:
    Fabry Perot cavity,AlGaAs-GaAs Heterojunction
    It'd be a lot better if they unlocked some cores also.
     
  17. Ghost

    Ghost

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    272 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    82
    Location:
    Unknown
    Overclocking is free anyways..........
     
  18. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    They are also giving you the boost feature for free, need it or not ;)
     
  19. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,204 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    974
    Location:
    Miami
    Well they did not do it at the time because they didn't want to hurt the sales of their top of the line card, IMO.
     
  20. jateruy New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2012
    Messages:
    11 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    800 and 850 is not too much difference. and in fact almost half of the reference 7950 could be overclocked to 1G without a volt tweak.
     
  21. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,739 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,044
    Interesting move. Now, I have done some research and it seems that this BIOS has been sent to reviewers with a recommendation to use it when comparing to the upcoming 660Ti. Only Wizzard can confirm this but anyway AMD seem to know more about the performance of the 660Ti than us, people who try to get a picture from different leaks. Don't want to comment about the usefulness of such a BIOS update since anyway the major benefit of a 7950 is not the out of the box performance but the overclockabilty. But then again, reviews are made with reference cards and it's not nice to loose from a lower end card. Or not?
     
    NHKS says thanks.
  22. m1dg3t

    m1dg3t

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,247 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    513
    Location:
    Canada
    Le Sigh....

    BIOS, GOOD! Boost, BAD. :shadedshu

    Now all we/I need is some better z77 iTX (hear me MFGs?) enthusiast style boards, no bottom feeder budget stuff, and my blasted case to arrive! :cool:

    Side note: Just started dealing with NCIx.ca, don't think it will continue. Abhorred customer service.
     
  23. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    Because they released their cards before Nvidia, by clocking them lower Nvidia release their cards at a lower clock speed (enough to beat AMD but leaving a lot of wiggle room for 3rd party board makers)

    Which in turn allowed AMD to do this.
     
  24. Frogger

    Frogger

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,180 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    313
    worst in CA
     
  25. T4C Fantasy

    T4C Fantasy CPU & GPU DB Maintainer

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Messages:
    973 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    411
    when will wizzard add TMUs to gpuz?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page