1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Updates Radeon HD 7950 to Thwart GeForce GTX 660 Ti

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Aug 14, 2012.

  1. m1dg3t

    m1dg3t

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,246 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    513
    Location:
    Canada
    Dunno 'bout worst in Canada but definately not on my "Good seller" list. Have dealt with them 3 times. Twice i've had issues. Not good odd's, unless you're gambling! :roll:
  2. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,812 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,501
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    Oh good, they changed the UVD clock from 500MHz to 850MHz (unless XFX changed it to 500 originally on my card). Really want to flash my XFX DD HD7950 if it's possible.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  3. Delta6326

    Delta6326

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,824 (1.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    667
    Location:
    Iowa, USA
    There are people that don't like to overclock and this will help them. This also adds boost clocks so your not at Max OC during gaming when you don't need it to be at 100%. Though I dunno if those people are willing to flash bios then...
  4. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,211 (4.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    No Unless if they get full phone support
  5. techtard

    techtard

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    930 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    That's weird. I've been dealing with them since 2006 and no issues whatsoever.
    m&m's says thanks.
  6. Aceman.au

    Aceman.au

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,420 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    Until that magical puff of smoke or *CLICK* comes from the card... Then it becomes expensive
  7. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,812 (4.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,893
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    That's why basically every 7950/7970 comes with dual BIOS. Is there one model without? That extra BIOS takes all the real danger away...if it fails, flip a switch, and reboot. Done deal.

    If this is done at the hardware level as indicated, then AMD planned this from day one. I always thought they were sandbagging by not releasing cards @ 1000 MHz...it just didn't make sense. Until today.
  8. Salsoolo New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    222 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
  9. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    This is dumb IMO.

    Hoe any people really want to overclock with a factory BIOS flash?
    Hopefully we do not see an influx of members posting on the AMD/ATi thread about bricking their 7950.

    AMD just leave it as is.
    nVidia pulled out a wild card and surprised me as well considering I see them usually as an overpriced company.

    7950 is a great card....just nVidia released something better later on.
  10. Hilux SSRG

    Hilux SSRG

    Joined:
    May 1, 2012
    Messages:
    888 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    142
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    Smart for AMD to re-market its 7950 against the newcomer 660Ti and also keep their prices from flling once the Nvidia counterpart hits shelves.
  11. Prima.Vera

    Prima.Vera

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    2,201 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    286
    Can we have the 89xx series now? Thank you.
  12. H82LUZ73

    H82LUZ73

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,782 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    265
    Location:
    Cobourg,Ontario

    PowerColor's HD 7950 PCS+ is a full custom implementation of the HD 7950. It comes with a revamped PCB design, a new dual fan cooler and increased clock speeds of 880 MHz out of the box. Unfortunately memory is still clocked at 1250 MHz, like the reference design.


    whistles :eek:
  13. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,211 (4.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    sounds like something that should be pushed honestly.
  14. tacosRcool

    tacosRcool

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    Messages:
    860 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    a free overclock? Sweet
  15. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,812 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,501
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    It's a free power consumption increase as well unless you actually overclock it further. Voltage is quite high in this BIOS.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  16. cou8 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Can i use this bios even if my hd 7950 can't do 900 mhz (890 mhz max)
  17. Mathragh

    Mathragh

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,050 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    285
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Yes, this bios ups the voltage, so you should be fine.

    Actually, as long as you've got a reference design board, they guarantee it I think.
  18. Xzibit

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Messages:
    1,121 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    252
    I think the extra voltage throws off a lot of people.

    They have to provide the extra voltage to make sure the additional 125 mhz is safe for all 7950s that went out. I also suspect the additional voltage includes room for the basic 100-125+mhz (I know some go higher) core increase thats been there for all HD 7800-7900 series.

    Essentially there moving the bar/slider over for all 7950. A 7 month window since its release and just adding v0.05.

    W1zzard didnt include overclockability this time but it might of brought more perspective.

    If v0.05 increase is too much for you like some seam to sugguest in dramatic fashion there is always the option of undervolting on the new bios or a crazy idea dont use it. ;)


    I think AMD learned from the 7970 GHZ Edition roll-out and decided this is a smarter move. Just roll out the new 7950 off the line with the new adjusted core clock and just release a BIOS for the previous 7950s to bring them up to speed. Save time and money for both AMD and AIB partners. No need to spend extra cash on Marketing/Awareness and AIBs dont have to re-print there boxes and stickers for the cards. Much smarter move IMHO.
  19. WarhammerTX

    WarhammerTX New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Messages:
    277 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    Location:
    Texas
    I updated my 7950 bios no problems it works just fine I was running 975/1450 anyway

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page