1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Working on Black Edition Phenom II X6 Part

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Mar 22, 2010.

  1. A Cheese Danish

    A Cheese Danish

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    2,963 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    413
    Location:
    your local vending machine
    Prices definitely look reassuring! :)
    Can't wait to get my hands one of these
  2. nt300

    nt300

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    868 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    159
    Location:
    Toronto, ON. Canada
    HOw about X4 975 @ 3.6Ghz, this one should be good too. Maybe prices will go down for the x4's once the 6's come out :)
  3. Salvadorian Stuff

    Salvadorian Stuff New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    41 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I Like it!
  4. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    The way it looks is AMD is going to discontiune the Deneb sooner or later and replace them with the 9X0T X4s from locking X6 dies.
    If the yields are good enough, why makes so many different dies? They got the low-end Athlon IIs which pretty much replaced the low end Phenom IIs.
  5. AlienIsGOD

    AlienIsGOD

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    3,411 (1.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,456
    It looks like ima have to get on the AM3 bandwagon. This would crunch very nicely IMO.
  6. Marineborn

    Marineborn New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Messages:
    2,144 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    312
    ill buy it when it comes out along with a nice am3 motherboard and swap my shit over and then proceed to flail my mitts most violently
  7. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    intel, better pull up your socks .... 199 is CHEAP
  8. Vagike New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Messages:
    89 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    this could be a hard pressed comparison. On one hand you have AMD, where you have to buy a mobo with coincided chipset to run nvidia or ATi Multi-GPU, with an unlocked cpu, and save cash on your build. Or, you buy an X58, pay through the nose for an unlocked CPU, but you can switch between nvidia/ATi multi-gpu setup in the blink of an eye.
  9. MikeX New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2006
    Messages:
    125 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    what OC differences compare to 955 or 965?
  10. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND

    waaaa? all these chips have 6 cores.



    Anyway!

    Best start saving for an AMD rig :laugh:
  11. Yellow&Nerdy?

    Yellow&Nerdy?

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2009
    Messages:
    356 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    6-cores, 125W TDP, 3.2 GHz, 9 MB cache for the same price as a Intel i7-930? The first time that AMD is slapping Intel all over the room in these recent years :nutkick:. I'm going to get one of these paired with a Asus Crosshair IV Formula when they come out. I don't think Intel will drop their prices because of this. Intel never drops prices.

    Too bad though that the 1090T Black Edition is coming in Q3, later than the other ones. Atleast according to Fudzilla. I hope it isn't true.
    El_Mayo says thanks.
  12. Hawkster13

    Hawkster13

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    105 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    FL, USA
    Both CPU will be 6 cores. You probably thought that because one will be called X5 that it is going to be a 5 core. Well you're mistaken both are 6 cores ;)
  13. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,201 (11.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,572
    Location:
    Bangalore, India
    There are no "X5" chips, but there are going to be "X4" chips (codenamed "Zosma", carry a "T" in the model number), that are based on the same die. You can probably unlock it to X6.
  14. MikeX New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2006
    Messages:
    125 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    I would be really surprise if AMD actually sell 2 enable cores ones from a 4 failed core :roll:
    Perhaps cover to the rest of x2 x3 x4 x5 x6 lines from the same chip with bad cores
  15. ASharp New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Messages:
    225 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, ON, Canada
    I think there's some confusion because you called the 1055T a "Phenom II X5" processor in your news post. ;)
  16. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND

    Is it supposed to be "Phenom x5" in the first post then?

    Its listed as "Phenom x6" all other places.

    Typo maybe?
    btarunr says thanks.
  17. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,981 (3.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,751
    Location:
    PA, USA
  18. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,201 (11.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,572
    Location:
    Bangalore, India
    Yes, it was a typo.
  19. MikeX New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2006
    Messages:
    125 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
  20. kid41212003

    kid41212003

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,583 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    532
    Location:
    California
    Yeah, i knew the price would be $999, but damn, anything can happen... It isn't hurt to hope!
  21. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,981 (3.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,751
    Location:
    PA, USA
    It's just unfair to say AMD's chips will cause Intel to change their strategy. 6 core machines won't beat the 920, but they might get close to matching it. Intel has 8 threads that overclock from 2.66GHz to 4.0GHz without much effort. Their 12 thread processors are at $1000 and they don't intend to do anything less with the 6 cores until after 2010.

    :p That's a lot to hope for as it won't happen any time soon. Intel has other more pressing things to sell to consumers than 6 core, 12 thread, uberchips.
  22. MikeX New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2006
    Messages:
    125 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    atm 980x i7 dont really add up much fps in games compared to OCed 920s i7
    If 32nm were to come out, we could hit 4.5g on air with atleast 5-10% behind the 980x i7
    AFAIK AMD is really good with price war
    Bulldozer should be out in Q1 2011 said wikipedia lol. Hopes it slightly better than 980x i7
  23. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,981 (3.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,751
    Location:
    PA, USA
    I have to laugh infinitely more.... You're saying that the CPU changes game performance significantly? Dude... can I have some of what you're smoking?
  24. kid41212003

    kid41212003

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,583 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    532
    Location:
    California
    I don't see anything beyond i7 can improve gaming performance.
  25. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND

    Games that use the cpu for physics simulations : ]

    More cores = more POWA

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page