1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Working on Black Edition Phenom II X6 Part

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Mar 22, 2010.

  1. xrealm20

    xrealm20 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    467 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    129
    Location:
    Houston
    This sound AWESOME! I'll be snagging one of the BE x6's when they come out =)
     
  2. MikeX New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2006
    Messages:
    125 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    no CPU does not significantly increase performance.
    On a single core application it does
     
    Binge says thanks.
  3. kid41212003

    kid41212003

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,584 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    533
    Location:
    California
    I would buy one if I could put it on my 1366 socket mobo :laugh:.

    But that's impossible :(.
     
  4. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,982 (3.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,752
    Location:
    PA, USA
    Some games, and others still only use one core. Also a lot of those physics simulations use less complicated math if there aren't as many CPU workers to make calculations. Game makers are still coding for dual cores mostly.
     
  5. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    I know : [

    But I can hope game devs start actually taking advantage of the hardware available right? lol
     
  6. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,982 (3.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,752
    Location:
    PA, USA
    They'd do it to the hardware most available. That would be still dual cores.
     
  7. Hawkster13

    Hawkster13

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    105 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    FL, USA
    What is the release date for these CPU's?
     
  8. MikeX New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2006
    Messages:
    125 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    most notebook are still in dual cores.
    Vista and Windows 7 now does automatically utilised most of your cores most of the time. Same with ubuntu and other distro
    although you can get 3rd party to manually core each app for you
     
  9. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND

    That's not true or metro 2033 would not exist :laugh:

    the 4xx cards arnt even out yet :laugh:

    The thing is its not hard to make an engine scalable at all, they just need to stop being lazy XD
     
  10. johnnyfiive

    johnnyfiive

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,892 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    876
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    Dev's need to stop being ass holes and make games perform the same on any GPU powered setup. Sick of this nvidia specific bullshit!

    But back to OT, awesome pricing!
     
  11. bpgt64

    bpgt64

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,451 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    ATL, GA
    Really hoping the performance on these is comperable to the i7's...I'd love to take my HD 5870s to an AMD based platform.
     
  12. Zebeon New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2009
    Messages:
    245 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    Location:
    USA
    I want one!!

    Good prices!

    What is the release date?
     
  13. enzolt

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Messages:
    102 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    AZ
    got my eye on that 1055T for $199...so irresistible
     
  14. the_wolf88

    the_wolf88 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    34 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Bahrain
    Way to go AMD :toast:

    This will force Intel to release a new line up of Six cores processors with ~$300 to fight against AMD new processors !!

    I want to see AMD break Intel head like what ATI did to Nvidia !! :D
     
  15. digibucc

    digibucc

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,927 (2.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,495
    i wasn't even considering a 6 core any time soon... but those prices are damned attractive :)

    these will work with existing AM3 socket boards? not am2+ though, correct?
     
  16. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,828 (13.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,202
    [​IMG]

    Why does this show 12mb of L3 cache while these are being "pre-advertised" as 9mb L3 cache? It also shows a DDR2 and 3 memory controller.
     
  17. Yellow&Nerdy?

    Yellow&Nerdy?

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2009
    Messages:
    387 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    It actually shows 6 Mb of L3 Cache. It says "3 MB of 6 MB" twice, so it might me confusing. But it means 3 megs out of 6 megs. The 9 Mb that's being pre-advertised includes the L2 cache, 6 MB of L3 cache plus 512Kb L2 cache per core gives a total of 9 megs.

    Interesting that they kept the DDR2 controller. That would mean that these Phenom II X6 would also run on AM2+ boards.
     
    erocker says thanks.
  18. xrealm20

    xrealm20 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    467 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    129
    Location:
    Houston
    I wonder how much of a performance hit (if any) in memory AM3 chips take by having the ability to run both DDR3 and DDR2?
     
  19. Polarman

    Polarman New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,627 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    Rimouski
    Low prices = Win!
     
  20. LAN_deRf_HA

    LAN_deRf_HA

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,557 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    952
    I'm worried this won't be enough to make intel change any of their prices. For a number of apps an i7 930 will probably trade blows with this for the same price, but with about 300-500 mhz more overclocking head room despite starting at a lower clock rate.
     
  21. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    I think my new goal is to get the money for a 8xx chipset a few GB's of DDR3 and a X6. It would be nice addition to my crunching farm :)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,235 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    832
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    $199 for 1055T - nice price there. 2.8Ghz 6 core CPU is going to be the best selling one if not the BE.
     
  23. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,933 (6.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,258
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    This is definitely awesome, depending on the OCing potential I might pick up an X6 1055T to replace the X4 955 :)
    Can't beat 6 cores for $200 (assuming this would work on my GA-MA785GM-US2H)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,074 (4.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,652
    6 Core OC Unit, bad ass!
     
  25. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,828 (13.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,202
    Now we need some solid information on the 890FX chipset. Of course it will have USB 3.0 and Sata III, but what else? I just want to see if I'll actually benefit with going from a 790FX to a 890FX because my current board already accepts these newer chips.
     
    stinger608 says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page