1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD x6 1090T BE with aircooling

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by FlanK3r, May 17, 2010.

  1. FlanK3r

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Messages:
    241 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    159
    Location:
    czech republic
    Lets look at some few benchmarks, and how look my PC n.1 :). Its only "quick" runs, not time tweaks (main memory), know, i can run with higher RAM clocks and better timing, speccially help me for superpi runs (1M a few and 32M will more better)

    How look my new third PC? I found ,-) ASUS Crosshair IV Formula board and using still 0707 BIOS. Long time i have not ASUS, but must say, it is great looking board with perfect performance. Hope, some bugs will fixed in some next BIOS. Aircooler is Xigmatek 1283 Dark Knight and i changed stock fan for Scythe Ultra Kaze 3000rpm. I was inspired by (many thx.) user CrazyDiamont. With 3000rpm its typhoon :), my old red Aspire case bored me, i buyed new HAF922. RAMs are A-Data 2000x cl9 and PSU 650W classic Seasonic. Changed ASUS 5770 card from 965 BE and my old good 965 BE got older HD3870 :). OS: windows XP SP3 32-bit no tweaking (win 7 x64 il testing later), ambients room between 20-22 (later was 22, PC warmed :) ).


    Crosshair IV+Xigmatek
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    building part:)
    [​IMG]

    new and "old"
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]


    First we look at superpi 1M (my likely benchmark at AIR cooling)


    run1 4573 MHz 3034 MHz NB

    [​IMG]

    run2 4595 MHz 2992 MHz NB 15.11s :eek:

    [​IMG]

    Here is my chance..know, later i hit with better timings and seting under 15s with AIR

    Now coming time harders benchmarks. My favourites are Cinebenchs


    Cinebench R11 at 4357 MHz 1.51V at CPU 7.02points

    [​IMG]

    Cinebench R10 at 4380 MHz :up: 19 335points, Vcore was the same 1.51V, but overvolted a bit sometimes

    [​IMG]

    I like wprime :)

    wprime32M at 4415 MHz = 5.766s (this is not maximum think for 32M)

    [​IMG]


    wprime 1024M at 4358 MHz = 181.64s


    [​IMG]


    Here is to chance for improvement, i tried 4380 MHz wprime, but about 85% down PC :-/

    Later coming some superpi 32M, 3D2005 and 2006, better superpi 1M, better wprime runs, maybe better Cinebench and...why not 4800 MHz with AIR :D:up:
     
    Nosada says thanks.
  2. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,804 (3.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    547
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Wow over 4.5Ghz on air, sweet. I am at 3.8 GHz now that I put my Mugen 2 on with IC7 Diamond paste. That is awesome for speeds on air. What temps are you getting?
     
  3. r9

    r9

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,144 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Before this CPU was released If some one told me that it would overclock so much better than PII 955 knowing that has two extra cores to worry about and the power draw of extra two overclocked cores I would refuse to believe.
     
  4. FlanK3r

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Messages:
    241 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    159
    Location:
    czech republic
    i have 55-56C in burn, max stable i got 4300 MHz, think, my Thuban is one from the best. And yes, im still shocked how it is good :)
     
    WarEagleAU says thanks.
  5. mordant80 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    98 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    West Virginia
    Yea, better than mine. I can't get much past 4000. And can't get that prime stable without raising the voltage to close to 1.5 where the temps hit 60 under full load on my water setup.
     
  6. FlanK3r

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Messages:
    241 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    159
    Location:
    czech republic
    And what think about this ,-) ? Max validation with air.

    [​IMG]
     
  7. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,252 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    837
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
  8. FlanK3r

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Messages:
    241 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    159
    Location:
    czech republic
    WarEagleAU says thanks.
  9. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,252 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    837
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    Nah, till winter you won't be keeping it. Most OCers only keep a CPU for less than 6 months and get bored and sell it.:D
     
  10. mordant80 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    98 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    West Virginia
    I want your chip flank3r.. Makes me wonder if my waterblock needs reseated. i wish i could get 4.0ghz prime stable with decent temps. I'm not sure I could even get mine to boot with the speeds you're getting though.

    Out of curiousity, think i could get you to run prime95 with the 1st test (not blend) and see what your temps do with that voltage? What program you using to monitor temps as well? HWMonitor?
     
  11. rickss69

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,431 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    604
    Location:
    Rockvale TN (Not Australia)
    Why does all his cpu-z validations say rejected?
     
  12. FlanK3r

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Messages:
    241 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    159
    Location:
    czech republic
    dont know, i think, problem with strange FSB on ASUS Crosshair IV ???? Im testing in LiNX, but sure, can try PRIME blend next week ,-)

    temps under load benchmarks was maxat 52 C (coretemp say 42 C, but my experience with 965 BE is simillary 52 C). In burning stability test i got 54 C (44C Coretemp), but cooler at 3000rpm
     
  13. rickss69

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,431 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    604
    Location:
    Rockvale TN (Not Australia)
    Never saw that before and your's is the only one on Hwbot with that flag. :confused: Me thinks that is not a valid submission. Not trying to rain on anyone's parade but please don't submit flawed entry's to Hwbot...it makes it harder for the other competitors. ;) (And mod's frown upon it as well)
     
    Last edited: May 17, 2010
  14. mordant80 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    98 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    West Virginia
    You may want to use something other than coretemp on this chip.. i have a feeling you're going much higher than you realize if your going by coretemp with a 10c offset.. On my system i put in a 13c offset and it matched with hwmonitor and my asrock program until i hit mid 40s. after that coretemp would stay around 45c or so while hwmonitor and my asrock program kept climbing to 60c. Hard to imagine temps are as low as you are getting with that voltage on air.
     
    rickss69 says thanks.
  15. mordant80 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    98 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    West Virginia
    this is hard to see i know.. but it shows what i'm talking about.. i have a 13 offset in coretemp.. at idle, the temp matches what hwmonitor says at around 32.. under a load however, coretemp sticks at 44 while actual temp made it up to 53. Where you said one of your temp was 44 (where coretemp seems to get stuck) i'm pretty sure you're running hotter than you think.
    temps.JPG
     
  16. FlanK3r

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Messages:
    241 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    159
    Location:
    czech republic
    n1 ! Yes, its possible, +10 C was my estimate. Cause collers at 965 BE (CM Hyper 212) and here at Thuban (XG 1283 DK) are simillary performance and remember scaling voltage vs temps with 965 :)
     
  17. JATownes

    JATownes

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,833 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Texas
    I noticed the "rejected" as well. IDK why, but that is weird. I have never seen that before. But I will say, if all things are legit, you have an amazing chip to pull those clocks with those temps. Hang on to that one. But why don't you use HWMonitor for temp monitoring? In my experience it is much more accurate than coretemp.
     
  18. FlanK3r

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Messages:
    241 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    159
    Location:
    czech republic
    today i had bored from my superpi 32M, bluescreen, bluescreen, bluescreen etc etc about 10x. so then i did not have much patience for next benchmarks :). wprime at 4500 MHz for my record score frozed. Cinebench R11.5 at 4336 MHz bluescreen, second run- again bluscreen :) ( "i seen" 7.7 score, f*ck last column on the left side (maybe 3s to the end?)...So, i tried only winrar bench quickly and than superpi 1M in x64 system.
    15.007s :)
    [​IMG]

    winrar more than 4000KB/s
    [​IMG]
     
  19. Wastedslayer

    Wastedslayer

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    Messages:
    860 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    40
    Just ordered my 1090T I hope to some otherwordly god I can do what you have done here!
     
  20. FlanK3r

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Messages:
    241 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    159
    Location:
    czech republic
    but not every 1090T can do this :-/...Only some chips from 1012 and 1015 series. Others are whorse. Now overcloker MAD testing 1016,1020 and 1021 batchs...we will see, how good looking it :)
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page