1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

amd8350 overclock

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by atsidas, Jan 30, 2014.

  1. atsidas New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2014
    Messages:
    27 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Morning guys.

    i'm new unexperienced with overclocking. I recently bought an AMD FX 8350 4.2GHX Turbo boost.

    i want to overclock it to 4.8-5ghz. any ideas??

    system specs:
    amd 8350 fx
    GA-970A-D3
    corsair ram 2x8gb 1600Mhz
  2. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,561 (4.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,966
    thats an entry level board and a top tier CPU. you should not overclock on that board.
    get some heatsinks on the VRM chips on board, then try.

    if you overclock now, there is a risk of damaging the board especially since you are new.

    you can get heatsinks at frozencpu, performance pc, and even electronics hobbyist stores.
  3. atsidas New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2014
    Messages:
    27 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Alright my friend

    So far i have just bought a coolermaster 240 for the water cooling of the cpu!
  4. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,326 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    743
    one thing you should take in mind, using a watercooler won't bring the same airflow around the cpu socket as air cooling do, and specially not on the vrms around the board.


    your Gigabyte board was prepared for some VRM cooling because of the two mounting holes there are, but Gigabyte didn't put it on because it's a cheap board, the more expensive board like the D3P got the vrm cooling and it's more or less properly the same board as the D3.

    the layout of the D3 and D3P looks alike on many terms but different colour and companions are mostly used.

    Attached Files:

  5. atsidas New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2014
    Messages:
    27 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    So what u suggest is to leave my amd at maximum 4,5ghz?
    Otherwise buy a vrm cooler?
  6. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,891 (6.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,190
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Id get a different board all together before trying to overclock. Those AMD chips pull quite a bit of power when overclocked, which puts, more stress on the VRMs.
  7. atsidas New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2014
    Messages:
    27 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Pffff!!! I bought it a month ago!!!

    But what mobo u suggest?
  8. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,891 (6.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,190
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Pretty much any decent 990FX board.

    Gigabyte UD5 is what id get.
    atsidas says thanks.
  9. RCoon

    RCoon Forum Gypsy

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    6,643 (7.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,972
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    For 4.8-5Ghz you need a motherboard made of more than paper, carboard and spit, capable of supplying around 1.45v+ on the core, and cooling on the VRM's, provided your case can provide airflow over the heatsinks on said VRM's.

    Perhaps you should have done your research on motherboards before buying all this gear?

    MSI GD45
    Asus Sabertooth
    ASRock Extreme3/4
    Gigabyte UD3

    All decent 990FX boards.
    atsidas and MxPhenom 216 say thanks.
  10. atsidas New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2014
    Messages:
    27 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    What about this?

    Attached Files:

  11. DiegoHH

    DiegoHH New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2014
    Messages:
    7 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    First of all sorry for my horrible english, I'm going to tell you my own expirence, I have a fx 8350 and first a cheap motherboard Asus M5A78L-M/USB3 and with a noctua NH-U12P SE2, my best stable oc was 4.4 with 1.481 v (I dont belive this value ,the true volt was much lower but this was the setting on the board), then i bought a sabertooth 990fx r2.0 and with the same cooler the max oc was

    4.5 , 1.4 v llc extreme(on load 1,44)

    Then bought a Phanteks PH-TC14PE and now my max oc is

    4.6, 1.44375, llc extreme (1,48 on load)

    Now in perspective maybe dont worth the extra expend for only 200Mhz, howeber this motherboard has sli/crossfire support, very good bios and software,temperature sensensors..etc.

    I think you could oc but this motherboard is going to be the limit, and maybe with good cooling 4.4 like me or something like that. You dont say what cooling solution you have, and this is important beacause maybe this is going to be the limit to your oc before the motherboard.

    My old cheap motherboard lie a lot, i try 1,55 y the temps was the same 50º on prime 95, so the problem could be not to broke something, the problem is going to be provide enought power for 4,8.

    Maybe i have bad luck with my cheap but for prime 95 stable this is my volt requirments.
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2014
    atsidas says thanks.
  12. atsidas New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2014
    Messages:
    27 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Thats my cpu coller

    Attached Files:

  13. RCoon

    RCoon Forum Gypsy

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    6,643 (7.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,972
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    Solid, good quality motherboard, I had one but the Z77 for Intel version.
    atsidas says thanks.
  14. DiegoHH

    DiegoHH New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2014
    Messages:
    7 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Wow!! the motherboard is definitely going to be a problem. Good cooling.
    atsidas says thanks.
  15. atsidas New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2014
    Messages:
    27 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    So far catalyst at auto tune gives me maximum 4,6ghz!!! But its not stable!!! I want 4,6+ all the time!!! Not in turbo mode
  16. DiegoHH

    DiegoHH New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2014
    Messages:
    7 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    New motherboard or less OC. but try to find the limit of your board. what voltage are you using?llc?
  17. CrackerJack

    CrackerJack

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Messages:
    2,702 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    449
    Location:
    East TN
  18. atsidas New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2014
    Messages:
    27 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Maximum 1,35-1,4V
  19. DiegoHH

    DiegoHH New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2014
    Messages:
    7 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    I need 1,44 (on load with llc 1,48) for 4.6, you need more voltage i think.
    atsidas says thanks.
  20. DiegoHH

    DiegoHH New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2014
    Messages:
    7 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Catalyst auto could be a start but this is what i do

    -First of all read a some tutorials. CrackerJack post 2 good ones.

    -Disable Catalyst auto tune,i prefer bios

    -You are going to need visit your bios and reset a lot of times

    -Disable turbo and cool and quiet and c6.

    -LLC is important, i leave in auto but beacause on my board is similar to extreme, on you board i dont know maybe better set manual on extreme. You could try and see the diferent volts on idle/load.

    -Try something like 1.4 and 4.5 (multiplier 22.5), test with prime 95, 10 min, watch temps carefull

    -If not stable, more voltage, if stable more Mhz.

    -Temps must be under 60º on prime 95, if go higher stop test and put less volts.

    -When you find a stable Mhz /volts use normal your pc and if when you play crash put a little more voltage.

    -Play temps are like 10º/15º less than prime95 , so 60º on prime95 is not that bad. (45/50 on load in real world)
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2014
    atsidas says thanks.
  21. atsidas New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2014
    Messages:
    27 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Thanku DIEGO!!! U r the best
    DiegoHH says thanks.
  22. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,561 (4.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,966
    dude do not even try to overclock on that board because you will pretty much fry it.
    should have got a better board rather than a budget one if you are looking for overclocks.

    i have an asrock 990fx extreme 4 and it gives strong stable voltages.
    also since you have gone watercooling, you should REALLY invest in some VRM cooling because there practically,wont be any airflow there.
    d1nky says thanks.
  23. redeye

    redeye

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2010
    Messages:
    207 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    Location:
    mississauga, on, Canada
    sabertooth 990fx, i have the first version, use a h100i and only managed to get 4.4 stable (with reasonable temps and noise levels.) 1.36 volts and all loadline calibration settings at max.

    in the end I got bored with overclocking, replaced my gtx680 with a gtx 660, (2133 with the 1866 ram) and put the gtx680 in a h87/i3 4330 (bought the 4330 for 109) system, and found that i did not notice any real differences compared to the oc'd 8350... (3dmark physics scores were lower of course.) (and not being a great gamer, perhaps that is why i did not notice any differences)
    (perhaps it is the 16x pcie 3.0 on the h87/i3 4330 compared to the 16x pci-e 2.0... )
  24. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,611 (6.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,232
    RCoon says thanks.
  25. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,552 (5.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,430
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Just checked some reviews on the OP's board, seems they have a high falure rate when overclocking due to poor cooling, often resulting in difficulties with the RMA/Warranty process...... proceed with caution! :fear:
    atsidas and d1nky say thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page