1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD's best dual core ever overclock like a dream

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Hayder_Master, Sep 25, 2008.

  1. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,173 (2.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
  2. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,201 (11.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,570
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    We'd covered Kuma already in the news, weeks ago, though commenting on the overclock part: 2.30 GHz to 3.30 GHz isn't a "dream OC", it's good only by AMD's standards. At 2.30 GHz and carrying a "6500" model number, this won't beat a 6400+. 3.4+ GHz is tough ask for a 6400+.
  3. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    My 6400+ runs at 3400 24/7. 3560 for benches. I think I'd rather stick with it. lol.
  4. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,201 (11.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,570
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    I said 3.4+ and "tough ask". Asking you to run something at stock speeds is a tough ask.
  5. ChromeDome

    ChromeDome New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    670 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    why the hell are they matching up something with a "6500" in its name with a 5000+? i bet my 5600+ outperforms both of them from the looks of it

    why not pit the "new" 6500 against the 6000+ and see how well it does

    what else besides this 6500 do they have coming from kuma?

    if this is AMD's "best dual core ever" i'ma have to say stick to gfx cards, dudes :slap:
    Last edited: Sep 25, 2008
  6. Jmatt110

    Jmatt110 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    510 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    57
    Location:
    Australia
    Im running my 6000+ at 3.4GHz 24/7.

    They should have compared it to a stock and OCed 6400+
  7. ChromeDome

    ChromeDome New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    670 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    i like AMD stuff but they have chips coming out the butt these days it gets a little confusing

    man i gotta be honest i like my Windsor core. what a great chip. i just don't understand why they would come out with newer dual cores that really don't match the Windsor in performance. or at least just match it. Brisbane, etc

    i mean i understand its "newer" tech and runs cooler, is a smaller die and all that. but while intel increases speed and power in leaps and bounds it seems AMD is just playing musical chairs with its product line up.

    i would like them to put out a few good duals and a few good quads. this they already have. and the tri's. but streamline and simplify things. i ran into this at newegg the other day:

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819103272

    holy smokes a "new" 6000+!

    meh
  8. Fastmix

    Fastmix New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Messages:
    627 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    115
    Location:
    The Kingdom of Heaven
  9. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,867 (6.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    Location:
    Ohio
    I like that 6000+. My F2 Windsor eats about 111W at 2.9GHz.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. ChromeDome

    ChromeDome New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    670 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    yeah its a fine chip i suppose. especially for an upgrade. i'm just waiting for something truly exciting to come out of AMD. it would be nice :)

    whats with the reduced amount of cache, however? why did they do this and what makes up for it?
  11. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    :roll: I suppose I can't really argue with that.

    F3's aren't as bad in power consumption as F2's. Not only that, but the Windsor cores are faster than the Brisbane, clock for clock. Not to mention, the original 6000+ had 2MB L2 cache.

    I'll stick with my windsor.
  12. ChromeDome

    ChromeDome New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    670 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    Windsor 6000+ is still on sale at newegg

    get 'em while they last :(
  13. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,225
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    that absolutely isn't a dream o/c. but 1 GHz over stock, for AMD its not bad at all.
  14. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,173 (2.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    right my friend i see you post amd kuma and sure i remember the link well and the details too , but im talking about overcloing only here , and about the overclock i see it is interesting cuz im there is no amd x2 cpu can jump this far in fsb and clock speed
  15. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,173 (2.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad

    no it is work well

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page