1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

An Ongoing Tale of Sadistic Pleasures being Taken with the Silicon

Discussion in 'Project Logs' started by CyberDruid, Nov 22, 2008.

  1. CyberDruid

    CyberDruid New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,888 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,100
    Location:
    On top of a mountain
    Hey guys I thought you might enjoy having a look at this stout test bench by BoxGods. BTW this is going to be my ongoing Benching Thread. I'll probably be using the Blitz until it craps out but I'll be trying different CPUs and RAM just for the helluva it.

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dHd5O07jUj4

    Here's some shots

    [​IMG]
    With the Flash

    [​IMG]
    Without Flash

    [​IMG]
    Asus Blitz back from RMA and it's working well.

    [​IMG]
    Tracers. I've had mixed results with Ballistix...going to find out what these babies have for me in a bit.

    [​IMG]
    Tonight's victim being crushed under the BRUTE FORCE is a hotblooded E5400.

    [​IMG]
    It's a Zotac 8800GT clocking along pretty high.

    [​IMG]
    lol

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VPnc0H-utB4
    A shorter tour.

    I'll see what I can get out of this E5400. It won;t be in the socket long. I have an E7300 on the way I want to pummel.
     
  2. Castiel

    Castiel

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Messages:
    3,319 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    310
    Very nice, just watched that video before I saw this post:D
     
  3. steelkane

    steelkane New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,370 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    237
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Really nice test bench, I like the way it's setup. Really nice
     
  4. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    i thought this was going to be about cyber finding that all along he was playing with silicone boobies... :p
     
  5. zithe

    zithe

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,088 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    North Chili, NY
    I'd rather stare at the computer itself than play games... Maybe not. XD

    I think you sound kinda like Ron Perlman. :p
     
  6. CyberDruid

    CyberDruid New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,888 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,100
    Location:
    On top of a mountain
    [​IMG]
     
  7. CyberDruid

    CyberDruid New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,888 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,100
    Location:
    On top of a mountain
    I bricked the Blitz updating the BIOS. It's a real blow to me.

    Now all it does is start momentarily...shutdown...start momentarily...etc forever.

    Man.

    I really liked this board. I've waited weeks for the RMA and now it's toast again. Not a happy monkey.
     
  8. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,948 (4.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,029
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    What is that case/bench station that you're using for this setup? I'd love to get my hands on one of those.
     
  9. CyberDruid

    CyberDruid New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,888 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,100
    Location:
    On top of a mountain
    It's a one-off prototype made by Geno of BoxGods. He has plans to produce a really sweet looking acrylic one where the angled chassis is CNC folded (with heat) so it's basically one piece. Really cool idea. Then the sides are grooved to receive the bent/folded piece. So a 3 piece station. I think they will be coming out soon. And not expensive from what I've been told.

    BTW the Blitz is fine. The 1505 BIOS hates the E7200. I popped the E5400 back in and it's cranking along at a 400 FSB (stock is 200) and 1ghz OC.

    I'm wondering what chip to try next. Weird that the latest BIOS would not work with the E7200. THe 1101 BIOS worked fine...
     
  10. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (10.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Hey CD, this is just awesome dude. Great work 10/10 for that dude. :toast:
     
  11. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,552 (2.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    so wheres the rest of the comp at psu rad etc in the box ?

    also what do you use to update your bios ?

    do you do it in the bios ?

    nice rack lol

    the DD rack looks alot smaller then yours :p
     
    Nick89 says thanks.
  12. CyberDruid

    CyberDruid New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,888 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,100
    Location:
    On top of a mountain
    I used Asus Updater. It worked fine. The 1505 BIOS does not like the E7200. I got a little sidetracked putting together a rig for my Brother-in-Law...but I plan to get bak to the BenchMaster shortly.

    The pump, rad, fans, PSU and DVD are all in the lower compartment. I rarely change those items unless there is a failure. I am mostly interested in access to the Mobo and peripherals.
     
  13. theJesus

    theJesus

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,976 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    864
    Location:
    Ohio
    I still can't get over how much I love this!
     
  14. Nick89

    Nick89

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    1,742 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    176
    Location:
    The Nevada Wasteland
    Man that made my night.:toast: TY DOM
     
  15. CyberDruid

    CyberDruid New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,888 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,100
    Location:
    On top of a mountain
    Still on the hunt for something fun to OC. The E5400 seems to top out at 3.2
     
  16. theJesus

    theJesus

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,976 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    864
    Location:
    Ohio
    lol get a Pentium D 805 :roll:
     
  17. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (10.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    e7200's are like $119 on newegg with free shipping :)
     
  18. theJesus

    theJesus

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,976 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    864
    Location:
    Ohio
    :slap:
     
  19. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (10.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    ^^^what does that mean, good or no good? :p
     
  20. CyberDruid

    CyberDruid New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,888 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,100
    Location:
    On top of a mountain
    Mean it won't boot with an E7200 in hge socket on the 1505. I could roll back but I guess I will just try something else.
     
  21. theJesus

    theJesus

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,976 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    864
    Location:
    Ohio
    It means you suggested buying something he already had :p
     
  22. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (10.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    ahh crap. :laugh:
     
  23. CyberDruid

    CyberDruid New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,888 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,100
    Location:
    On top of a mountain
    Yeah I specifically bought that E7200 from a FS on OCN just to fry it...and then I thought my board was dead AGAIN but no...just would not even start with that chip in the socket. Odd hunh?

    I've clocked my share of E3110s, E8400, Q6600, QX9650s...I'm thinking there has got be an overlooked clocker. Maybe an E5400? Or an E2180?

    Something cheap enough to kill.
     
  24. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (10.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    To you what has been your favorite chip to overclock? Since you've tried soo many.
     
  25. CyberDruid

    CyberDruid New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,888 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,100
    Location:
    On top of a mountain
    I really haven't tried that many. The easiest one for me is the QX9650. The unlocked multi is the key. Not much to it. Getting an E6600 to 4ghz stable enough to Fold was probably my favorite overclock. The early E6600 was a bear. Took a ton of voltage and produced insane heat. My Phase was overloaded I was seeing 28C load temps.
     
    Chicken Patty says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page