1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

and 1100t 6core to amd 8350fx 8core

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by tuunade988, Apr 10, 2014.

  1. ne6togadno

    ne6togadno

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,471 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    681
    Location:
    GMT +2
    tested games arent best example for demanding
    i played dragon age perfectly fine on my P8600+gts8700m at 1440x900
     
  2. Devon68

    Devon68

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2014
    Messages:
    945 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    430
  3. ne6togadno

    ne6togadno

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,471 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    681
    Location:
    GMT +2
    hm i dont think 20-60% in most games about 60% in memory bandwidth, 300% in decryption can be qualified as "not far behind".
     
  4. tuunade988

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2013
    Messages:
    190 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    So I guess I should just keep the 1100t and perhaps get the sabertooth motherboard
     
  5. arnoo1

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    746 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    124
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Just go 4770k and ditch that amd stufff
     
    AlienIsGOD says thanks.
  6. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,690 (2.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    665
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  7. m0nt3

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2013
    Messages:
    278 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    I have recently made the switch and have noticed, when overclocked, that my minimum framerate in BF under DX have gone up quite a bit. That is in MP.
     
  8. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,961 (4.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,142
    Location:
    Mysore
    if you want to game.... not worth it. other things like rendering etc... go for it.
     
  9. tuunade988

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2013
    Messages:
    190 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Bringing this thread back to life, coz im really thinking about whether or not i should get the 8350 or just a new cpu cooler. ATM as you guys can see, i've got the AMD 1100t and have overclocked t to 3.7ghz, i've recently bought a corsair 750d which improved my temperatures by a lot but still not enough to overclock my cpu further than 3.7ghz. I'm using the corsair H75 liquid cpu cooler as my cooling component. I've went ahead and searched up some benchmarks and see that the 8350 is able to give around 10 more fps in games than the 1100t at stock settings. To be honest, after overclocking my amd 1100t im not noticing much of a difference either... So.. im thinking about either keeping my 1100t and buying a coolermaster nepton 280L or keeping my corsair h75 liquid cooler and buying a 8350, and when i decide to overclock it... i will consider getting the coolermaster nepton 280L with the 8350 as i've heard that the 8350 is a very good chip to overclock.
     
  10. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,125 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,037
    You will need good cooling with either the 1100t or the 8350, they both run hot. I doubt you will notice anything from a h75 to a 280L though.
     
  11. tuunade988

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2013
    Messages:
    190 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    you sure? the 280L should be heaps better, bigger radiator... more fans..
     
  12. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,125 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,037
  13. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,457 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    603
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    It is a pretty cheap upgrade though I like mine at 4.8 all the time I need it (eco features on stable)
     
    More than 25k PPD
  14. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    7,234 (6.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,719
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    The R2.0 doesn't have PCI-E 3.0. That would require the chipset to support it, which the 990FX does not.
     
  15. tuunade988

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2013
    Messages:
    190 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    i seee... luckily i haven't bought the coolermaster nepton yet... I thought that if the radiator is heaps bigger on the coolermaster nepton 280L it will give me heaps better temperatures than what im getting now with my h75 which has a small radiator.



    EDIT: These benchmarks seem promising http://www.neoseeker.com/resourcelink.html?rid=500807 the higher the overclock the more you see the nepton work.



    For some reason teh link leads to the h105.. check out the the reivew they have for the coolermaster nepton 280L which is on the bottom of that page.


    What kind of speeds do you guys reckon i could get to on a 8350 with the corsair h75 with stock h75 fans.
     
    Last edited: Jun 20, 2014
  16. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,611 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    834
    tell Asus that, bcs they call it "SABERTOOTH 990FX/GEN3 R2.0" specs:
    3 x PCIe 3.0/2.0 x16 (dual x16 or x16/x8/x8) *1
    Note: *1: When running dual graphics cards, be sure to insert the card in the first and third PCIex16 slot to get the best performance.

    Link: http://www.asus.com/Motherboards/SABERTOOTH_990FXGEN3_R20/
     
  17. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    7,234 (6.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,719
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Look at the motherboard versus the non GEN3 version. There is a heat sink in between the first and second PCI-E slots. There is probably a PLX bridge chip that handles the PCI-E 3.0, the problem is that the chipset still only uses 2.0 and that you're still restricted by the same bandwidth limitations even if it's running at 3.0 because the chipset is still using PCI-E 2.0 and the chipset's HTT bus isn't running any faster than it was before. It seems like a marketing gimmick more than anything else to me.

    I say this because if you look at wikipedia or AMD's chipset tech doc for the 900-series chipset you'll see that all 900-series chipsets support PCI-E 2.0 and nothing more.
    http://support.amd.com/TechDocs/48691.pdf
     
  18. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,611 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    834
    ino all that, just states what Asus writes nuth more then that Aquinus.
     
  19. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,125 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,037
    Its random luck, you might get as high as 4.8 or not much higher than 4.2. Theres variability. Also I've heard that because of sale of the 9590 and 9570, the better Vishera yields went to that instead of the 8350.
     
  20. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    2,739 (2.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,077
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    well it's not like PCI-E 3.0 offer a huge increase in % over the 2.0 (except for ultra high end and dual gpu cards iirc) my experience of a A10-7700K + 270X at 3.0 and then X4 760K +270X at 2.0 did show no noticeable improvement but, again it's with mid ranges hardware.

    now that i have a 6300 on a 990X with a 290 on 2.0 i might see some difference if i ask a friend who has a Z77 mobo with a i5-2500K and i5-3570K to test the 290 with it to see the "real" difference between the 2 revisions (real life one, not : "3.0 offer double bandwidth over 2.0")
     
  21. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,125 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,037
    For a single card it helps with running a card in the x8 slot, I had a x16 slot fail on my prior z77x ud3h motherboard thanks to a cheap power supply, and could still run the card in the x8 slot with the same speed. Otherwise it doesn't help with the current cards IMO.
     
    GreiverBlade says thanks.
  22. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    7,234 (6.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,719
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    That's because the PCI-E bus doesn't need to be used all the time. It's used when the CPU needs to give the GPU info or vise versa. It's kind of like the SSD argument, you're going to be able to load textures on to the GPU faster because the bus is wider, but once the textures are there, it doesn't matter. W1zz did some PCI-E scaling reviews a while back and it really depends on the game (which I'm sure depends on what the game is doing in the first place,) but if you're using the 990FX, running 16x @ 3.0 at full speed will almost saturate your PCI-E root complex on the chipset.

    I'm just trying to say that it might run at 3.0 and ASUS might claim that it's 3.0, but in the end, it's still getting to the chipset via 2.0 and it's still getting to the CPU via HyperTransport at the same speed as before so I don't see it running any faster than the PCI-E 2.0 variants even if it's using the latest PCI-E revision somewhere between the chipset and the PCI-E device. I'm just saying it's a waste just to get it for PCI-E 3.0.

    Edit: If no one noticed, this is the same argument I make about skt1155/1150 boards having PLX chips and how you're only sharing 16 lanes, you're really not getting more bandwidth. I should also note that by no means am I saying the 990FX is a slouch, 38 PCI-E lanes at 2.0 is really still nothing to shake a stick at. Two PCI-E slots with 16 lanes at 2.0 will handle just about every video card on the market.
     
    Last edited: Jun 20, 2014
    GreiverBlade and Vario say thanks.
  23. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    9,644 (8.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23,679
    The Sabertooth 990FX Gen3 R2.0 definitely uses a PLX chip for PCI-E 3.0 and from most reports that board is a stinker... I believe Asus pulled the model from stores due to issues they've had with it. The R2.0 non Gen3 is a much more reliable board...
     
    Aquinus, ne6togadno and GreiverBlade say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    5,472 (4.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,358
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    What are your temps with the h75? I am running a h100i on my 8350. I have it oced to 4.4 and under full load crunching it runs high 30's. Also give the Gigabyte 990 FXA Ud3 a look. Beast of a board.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page