1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Annoying refresh when typing post, erases what you typed

Discussion in 'Comments & Feedback' started by vawrvawerawe, Mar 29, 2013.

  1. vawrvawerawe

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Messages:
    580 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Page refreshes while you are typing a post (not creating a thread), and it says something like "here's the new version" when you're in the middle of typing, and erases everything you wrote. This is really annoying and on long posts will sometimes do this several times, keeps erasing what you wrote. Very perturbing.

    Been an issue for at least 6 months.
  2. RejZoR

    RejZoR

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    4,552 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    907
    Location:
    Europe/Slovenia
    What browser are you using? I also get new post "flashes", yet all my text remains. I'm using Firefox.
  3. DRDNA

    DRDNA

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,778 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    566
    Location:
    New York
    I use IE10 and b4 that IE9 with OUT THAT ISSUE.
  4. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,548 (10.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,062
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Chrome here without an issue.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,375 (2.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    562
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    I get that on Android 4.1.1 if the screen rotates the app looses my text (tpu app).
  6. MT Alex

    MT Alex

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,765 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,609
    No issues here. I think it's a conspiracy to curb your "over zealousness."
    theoneandonlymrk says thanks.
  7. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,375 (2.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    562
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    As someone else said

    Tpu = Facebook for men
  8. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (5.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,615
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    I think you may have just offended BP.
  9. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,375 (2.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    562
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    BP?, no offence ment to female members obv:)?? lol its addictive tho isn't it.
  10. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,410 (11.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,615
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    GeneralNonsense is facebook for men.

    But you have BlackPanther's authoritah even there.
  11. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,375 (2.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    562
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    It's a shame the tpu app doesn't work in the general nonsense section then , id visit more.
  12. vawrvawerawe

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Messages:
    580 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Chrome and Firefox
    Well when I get the "flashes" it erases my text...

    Wow WHY do you use IE? And you're posting in a computer forum? Use Chrome or Firefox already.

    Perhaps because it's not a browser issue but a TPU issue...
  13. DRDNA

    DRDNA

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,778 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    566
    Location:
    New York
    Preference my fellow. Crazy isn't it?

    Looks like I am fairing a bit better than you are with your browsers.
  14. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,184 (6.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,028
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    I think he is talking about doing a quick edit on one of your own posts that you've recently edited already. You'll be doing a quick edit and some javascript runs and reverts it back to the regular post itself. When you hit "Edit" again, it brings you directly to the advanced editor as opposed to the in-thread editor.

    I have experienced this across multiple browsers but you have to update the same post multiple times and be using the quick edit feature for it to happen. Using the advanced editor is a sure fire way to make sure it doesn't happen.

    I haven't dug into why it does it because it's not my job and W1zz isn't paying me to troubleshoot his site. :)
    However if I really cared about it, I would look into it but there isn't much motivation.
    vawrvawerawe says thanks.
  15. vawrvawerawe

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Messages:
    580 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Yeah, this is exactly what I'm referring to.
  16. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,597 (13.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,986
    No problems here on any browser. Perhaps you have some cookies, adware, programs or other interfering with your browsers functions. Definitely doesn't seem like a TPU issue.
    Mindweaver says thanks.
  17. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,132 (11.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,464
    some people change things in their browsers to speed things up, that can cause this. it loads the page partially, you start editing before its finished and wham, it undoes your typing when it does finish.
    Mindweaver says thanks.
  18. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,165 (2.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,658
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    I agree with erocker and think you have some bad cookies and or something affecting your browser functions. Maybe you have some spyware or trojan. I would scan your pc. Also, try using a different browser, just to test. If it's spyware or a trojan then it could affect any browser installed on your pc. If it doesn't happen in the other browsers then I would uninstall your browser and delete all traces of it and then reinstall. :toast:
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,184 (6.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,028
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    That's a bit ignorant to dismiss it out of hand... You're making me want to reproduce it in a video just to show you that it's most likely buggy JavaScript. :confused:

    I've experienced this on both my Win 7 machine and my MacBook Air. This is not a client-side problem, as in an issue with the browser. No offense, but you moderators are a bit condescending today. :mad:

    Mussels explanation is the only one that is close to making any sense. It's definitely a JS issue though. It appears that an update is made, the javascript sees that the post changes and it updates the post and puts a message saying it was updated. It seems like a laggy update when you do a quick edit subsequent times.
    Last edited: Mar 31, 2013
  20. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,165 (2.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,658
    Location:
    Statesville, NC

    It's a bit ignorant to dismiss our suggestions.. I'm only stating what I would do, and making suggestions. If you don't like it then don't do it buddy. Oh and please take this as not being patronizing or having a superior attitude toward you. I'm just trying to help as was erocker and mussels. :cool:
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,184 (6.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,028
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    I know but when more than one person has experienced it, that's a bit different. I like to think I know how to take care of my machines. ;) I seriously think it's a timing thing though, because it doesn't always happen and it doesn't always take the same amount of time to happen.

    I'm always more than happy to blame JavaScript anyways though. :)
  22. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,165 (2.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,658
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    I'm all for chalking it up to JavaScript, but if it's a big enough problem to post a thread about it then I would remove all equations. Of course this is vawrvawerawe and he really doesn't need a good reason to start a new thread.. :roll: Sorry vawrvawerawe but you do make a lot of threads buddy and they never cease to amaze me at the volume of people that reply.. hehe :toast:
    MT Alex and vawrvawerawe say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. vawrvawerawe

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Messages:
    580 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    No, that's something different. And personally I don't have anything in my browsers to cause this. You've got the wrong idea.
  24. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,184 (6.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,028
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Okay. I think I can offer clarification.

    It happens when you're doing a quick edit and someone else adds a post to the thread. It gets rid of your quick editing box and then looks like this (just took a screenshot because it happened right after Dent1 posted.)

    So instead of adding Dent's post while I'm editing. It hijacks my post and put the message on it and doesn't update it with the new post.

    That screams code glitch.

    To reproduce it start a thread post, open quick editing, get another browser, login with a different user, make a post on the same thread, and the other one will do what I described. I haven't tried it but that is what I would to do try and reproduce it, but I think it's worth trying and I think it will do it. I don't want to make a test user, but I suspect you moderators might have a test account worth testing with.

    Attached Files:

    Mussels says thanks.
  25. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,567 (4.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,967
    i use opera, never faced this problem.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page