1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Another Mobo Question...

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by Willhelmet, Aug 8, 2007.

  1. Willhelmet New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    Messages:
    10 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Are DDR II Mobos compatible with DDR RAM?

    Ta.
     
  2. mullered07

    mullered07 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,648 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Location:
    UK
    if they have only ddrII slots then no dont even think about it, some boards (asrock dialvsta <sp?> ) have both slots but you cant run both ddr and ddrII at the same time.
     
  3. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,001 (5.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,091
    Location:
    Ohio
    DDR1 will not physically fit into a DDR2 slot. But, as mullered said, there ARE motherboards with DDR1 and DDR2, but you can't use both types of memory at the same time. I was looking at this one when I was planning to go on a slow upgrde path from my old S478 system to a Pentium D while keeping my old graphics card and memory, but my uncle offered me a much better deal: $120 for the system in my specs lmao
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. Willhelmet New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    Messages:
    10 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    nice, thanks.

    Im looking for a mate as he basically wants to upgrade his whole computer, hes planning on getting a new mobo (socket AM2 with Sli / Crossfire) but he didnt wanna spend more money on new ram... i might convince him to get some, its not expensive.

    Hes also getting a 1950xt and AMD X2 5200+

    Anyone got some good mobo reccomendations, preferably with SLi support.

    Thanks
     
  5. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    You sure you want an SLI board, with an ATI gfx card? You won't be able to run 2 ATI video cards in it.

    Don't you mean a Crossfire board?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page