1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Another Opteron Question

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by suraswami, May 15, 2008.

  1. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,072 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    794
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    Will an Socket AM2 Opteron processor work in any Socket AM2 board? Does it really need a bios update to recogonise it? I remember during S939 days even though the board doesn't support Opteron officially still people used it and it worked fine.

    I am thinking of using it in ECS NForce6M-A V2.0.

    Thanks,

    :toast:
  2. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,362 (3.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    903
    Should work, but check the supported cpu list.

    Edit:

    Yeah it should work, it's the same core as the X2, so it should be the same.
    suraswami says thanks.
  3. OzzmanFloyd120

    OzzmanFloyd120

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,047 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    297
    Location:
    Pontaic Michigan
    I just checked it for him and I didn't see an opty on there at all. It looks like they never tested anything but athlons and didn't go any higher than the 5000 blacky.
    I really don't see any reason why you wouldn't be able to use an Opty though.
    Edit: Things like this are the reason I stopped buying ECS hardware.
    suraswami says thanks.
  4. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,072 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    794
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    Hey don't blame ECS. Somebody on newegg has listed that the 1210 worked on the latest ECS 780G ATX black board. Its not listed on their cpu support list either.
  5. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,072 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    794
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    Only thing is I hate to buy it and then return it. Apart from newegg there are many sellers thru Amazon that sells higher freq optys for cheap.

    Only reason for me to go with Opty is it supports AMD virtualization and I will be running multiple VMs.
  6. OzzmanFloyd120

    OzzmanFloyd120

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,047 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    297
    Location:
    Pontaic Michigan
    I just find their site very frustrating and it definitely needs to be updated more.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page