1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Another PSU Question

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by freaksavior, Jan 21, 2007.

  1. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,084 (2.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    909
    Last edited: Jan 22, 2007
  2. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,084 (2.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    909
    anybody?????
     
  3. bruins004 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Messages:
    2,480 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    75
    Neither of them are good at all.
    Raidmax used to be a good PSU manufacturer, but now they use cheap parts. Plus this PSU only have 18A on 12V rail which is really WEAK.
    The other PSU I never heard of and it doesnt list any info for the PSU, hence it is cheap.
    I would say use neither of them.
    Take a look at this list and it will help show you the quality manufacturers ( http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?t=23843 ).
     
  4. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,084 (2.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    909
  5. bruins004 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Messages:
    2,480 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    75
    A word of useful advice.
    Never skimp on the PSU.
    Its quite funny to see many people who build systems for $1000 and spend $20 on a PSU.
    A bad PSU can kill your entire system.

    Also, nowadays, the computer component that uses the most power are graphic cards.
    So what is the GPU you have and are you going to be upgrading it anytime soon.

    Just a suggestion is to get a good PSU so your parts dont get fried from under/over voltage.
    Try to look for an OCZ or FSP PSU since they are good.
    FSP makes pretty good budget PSUs as well.
     
  6. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,084 (2.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    909
    it's only a 7300gs it's a low end card. ok yeah thanks for the advice as soon as i get some $$ i think i'm gonna get me a good psu
     
  7. bruins004 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Messages:
    2,480 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    75
    Then look for a FSP one.
    Newegg has quite a few of them and they are very reliable brand.
    You could prob. get a good one for $50.
     
  8. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,084 (2.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    909
    btw the 7300gs is on my dad's system. (i :slap: myself) Anyway the psu would really be going in my system, see specs:)
     
  9. bruins004 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Messages:
    2,480 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    75
    I never heard of that brand.
    Which is never a good sign.

    I myself usually stick with OCZ and FSP since they have very good parts in them as well as being reliable and a best bang for the buck.

    I used to go with Antec, but they have been developing a lot of DOA and PSUs that blow up or die lately.
    So I wouldnt go with them.

    As they say you get what you pay for.
     
  10. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,812 (3.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    547
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Enermax makes great psus as does Antec, TT, Ocz, Seasonic and PC P&C
     
  11. simsim44 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2007
    Messages:
    11 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pilesgrove,NJ
    There are so many PSU's out there, which ever one you chose, (as it was said Don't skimp),if your vid card requires a ,say, 25a/12v rail, don't get the one that just matches get one thats SLIGHTLY higher as this will prove to be money saving as well as peace of mind ,you don't have to get (or you shouldn't get) the one that, say, 38a/12v as the PSU will deliver to much in the event that your vid card takes a dump,causing a damaging surge ( so i'm told) .
     
  12. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,084 (2.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    909
  13. simsim44 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2007
    Messages:
    11 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pilesgrove,NJ
    I would not recommend a modular PSU take the time and read some reviews (this may help), and that OCZ PSU is IMHO a tad to much for you (this is only MY opinion) im sure you could find a suitable unit for around 60 bucks ,unless of course your future holds costly upgrades
    "gigabyte ds3, e6400, ocz platnuim ddr2 800mhz, and one sata hdd" is this what you had in mind. here are some that I think would help you,for your current setup
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16817182030
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16817103928
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16817104954
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16817103936 ,here are some that are 500+;
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16817182017
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16817182046
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16817182045
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16817174024
    and some of these maybe pushing it. ....Good luck... last thought, if your doing an upgrade it is usually 1or2 steps up, if your building a rig, start with what you want out of it.
     
  14. AshenSugar

    AshenSugar New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,998 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    ashentech.com
    i would grab a fsp or epower unit, good choices all.
     
  15. Thermopylae_480

    Thermopylae_480 New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    Messages:
    3,686 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    393
    Location:
    Little Rock Arkansas, United States
    If you want to take a risk with something cheap try this. It's my backup PSU which I'm unfortunately using at the moment since my Seasonic died. It's lasted me two years, which is good since it was supposed to be "temporary."

    There is Thermaltake
    and FSP.

    I recommend not skimping on quality though. It's just not worth the headaches, and you just usually end up replacing the PSU in less than a year.
     
  16. bruins004 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Messages:
    2,480 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    75
    I got a question for you.
    How could you reccommend all those PSUs.
    Most of them are shit PSUs.
    No offence, but Rosewill does not have quality parts within their PSUs, hence why they are cheap.
    Also, Antec has had a really bad rep. for their PSUs lately since they have been using cheap parts as of late.
    THey have been dying in like 8 months for no reason.

    The only one I can reccommend that you have up there is the FSP one.
    FSP is a great PSU manufacturer.

    Next time when you decide to give advice, you might want to do your homework as well.
    Its not just about the amps on the 12V rail.
    It is also about the quality of the parts that are used and what OEM are used for these parts.
     
  17. Testing New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2007
    Messages:
    32 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    http://silverstonetek.com/products-56zf.htm

    I recommend this for several reasons, whether your GPU requires the power or not.

    38amp SINGLE 12v rail.
    -I have no faith in multi rail PSU, even if you can use split adapters for the 6pin on PCI E GPUs. The multi rail PSU is not for GPU, it's for a different kind of system setup, and anyone who forked over £600 for a 1k watt quad rail PSU got ripped.

    500-600 Watt range.
    -Ample wattage.

    150mm width.
    -Will fit any mid size or higher case(average case size = 180mm width)

    Silverstone brand.
    -High end PSUs, strong, reliable, powerful.


    These are the four things to consider with a PSU, as someone has made obvious in this thread, a PSU is a far underrated component, and no computer can survive without the proper one.


    Current GBP price of this model Silverstone is on average, £65, or roughly $120-130 USD.
    No frills, no empty thrills, this won't accent the uberness of your r337 computer case at a lan party. It's just good ol' refined power.
     
  18. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,084 (2.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    909
    thats alot of amps. you sure that wouldn't fry my vid card from so much power? Testing what psu do you have? is it that one?
     
  19. Testing New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2007
    Messages:
    32 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I have a thread in this forum about a computer I am 'remodeling.'

    And on any of my other machines I use these PSUs, always.

    Read the beginning of this article, then scan the "Tier 1" listing of PSUs, it is there.
    http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showthread.php?t=108088

    To reassure you about your question: The computer mentioned in the other thread, ran that exact PSU for a month, before having the 8800 installed, and suffered no voltage fluxuations or power issues. If anything, it ran better, far better than those ridiculous 300 junkers they come with.
     
  20. bruins004 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Messages:
    2,480 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    75
    Silverstone makes very good PSUs.
    As for the multi-rail comments, it can be better to have a single rail since there is overhead in multi-rail PSUs when rails have to share amps.
    However, the way I see it (with PSUs reaching new extremes like 1k and 2k PSUs), it will be pretty hard to keep it to one 12v line rail.
    If you put too much current on a rail (which 38A is not even close to this), the rail will get fryed.
    However, for now I agree that 1 rail is better.

    Freak,
    Your computer only uses the amount of amps it needs.
    So it will not fry anything.
    That is why you look for quality PSUs since they have undervoltage and overvoltage protection to help protect your parts.
    I also suggest a power strip with this protection as well, just in case.

    Anyways that is a very good PSU and if you notice it can supply up to 45amps max on the 12v rail.
    The 38Amps is just what it will always supply.

    As I tell everyone, if your computer takes (for example) 20 Amps to run, dont get a 20 Amp PSU, bc that PSU will be running at max all the time and die out quicker.
    Give yourself some more headroom and get 28 or 30 amps PSU so you can OC or upgrade without worrying about the PSU.
     
  21. Rhino666

    Rhino666 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Messages:
    42 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Szeged, Hungary
    600W PSU?! Jeez, what are you hiding back there, 20 HDD drives?? Never seen a rig that needed more than 300W... Sheesh...
     
  22. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,084 (2.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    909
    sounds to me that thats a kick ass psu on my not so kick ass sytem. ok then i think it will be the 38A psu (damn that alot of amps)
     
  23. bruins004 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Messages:
    2,480 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    75
    I was just noting that it is a very good PSU (both brand and quality).
    If you do not want to dish out that much money then look for a 400W or 500W PSU that is a little cheaper.
    Look for the brand FSP on newegg and they should run you much cheaper.
    They use great parts as well.

    I was just stating that if you are going to move to a C2D and a high end video card like the 8800 series then you will need that PSU listed above.
     
  24. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,084 (2.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    909
    i don't know shit about psu. so if that is a really good one then i will get it. i'm going to sell an old computer that i have (p4 2.66ghz 533fsb 40gb hdd, radeon 9600, soyo p4i-845pe 1gb mushking 333mhz ram!) so if i got that one i could use it over again on the next build i do.

    But something about $70-$110 would be better so i can get me some more ram as well.
     
  25. bruins004 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Messages:
    2,480 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    75
    Mainly the components that use the most amps out of your PSU is the CPU and GPU.
    However, as of late, the CPUs have been using less and less.
    Therefore, the GPU is your #1 source of where most of the amps on the 12V line is used.

    Also, if you are into Raiding, multiple Hard Drives and many DVD/CD drives take up some power as well.

    As I said before it depends on if you are going to get a new video card soon (one that is high-mid level GPU).

    I got a 550Watt for my build, but now when I upgrade that wont even be enough since it prob. wont be able to handle the 8800GTS.
    So I would say if you are upgrading soon then get that one, otherwise, get a cheaper and lower wattage one (look for FSP on newegg as stated before if you go this route).
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page