1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Another SandyBridge build

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by nocrapman, Jan 16, 2011.

  1. nocrapman New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2006
    Messages:
    264 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    So I have decided to jump to the 'evil' side by ditching the 45nm AMD platform for a 32nm Intel. This is going to be just an Update! At least thats what the CFO approved.
    So out goes the PII 940BE/AM2+ Gigabyte MOBO + DDR2 RAM and the Vista (finally!)

    The rest will stay the same. Will be adding an SSD for the OS - WIN 7 Pro
    The system will be used for internet/word processing/ audio,video encoding/photo PP using Adobe Lightroom and Photoshop. Minimal Gaming.

    So here's what I know I am getting:
    CPU - SandyB i72600K

    Here's what I need recs for:

    MOBO - P67 based?
    Something I can overclock easily with. Was looking at this - GIGABYTE GA-P67A-UD3P LGA 1155 Intel P67 SATA 6Gb/...

    Any reason to go with UD5/7 for more $$?
    Any other better options I should consider.

    RAM - G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 ... seems to be the consensus choice.

    GPU - ATI/Nvidia - 460 vs 470 vs 570 or 6950
    - havent kept up, but I remember Nvidia being ahead in the race currently. Dont need the fastest. Just a sweet spot product. Also lower power consumption will be preferred since this computer is almost always on.

    Thanks for reading folks!
     
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2011
  2. bucketface

    bucketface New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    142 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    Perth, Australia
    Do any of the programs you regularly use require CUDA?, or any other proprietary technologies?
    Why do you need such a powerfull gfx card for "Minimal Gaming"? what is your monitors resolution?
    Get a GTX 470 if you can get it cheap (ebay). radeon 6950 is a pretty good deal at the moment if you think you can manage a bios flash, you can get it to perform like a 6970.

    6GB of ram should be enough but if it doesnt cost much more go for the 8GB.
    everything else looks fine. if you dont need a gfx card for some of the specific things you do you may aswell use the integrated gfx on the SandyB i72600K. its pretty good. deffinately good enough for lght gaming but if you intend to play demanding games then get a gfx card.
     
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2011
    nocrapman says thanks.
  3. rickss69

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,431 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    604
    Location:
    Rockvale TN (Not Australia)
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2011
    nocrapman says thanks.
  4. nocrapman New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2006
    Messages:
    264 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    I think Intel recommends 1.5V RAM.
    The G skill above is 1.65. I know some folks have used this too, but dont know the effect on performance.
    It appears for some reason, the 1.5 Rams are pretty uncommon.
    Also thinking of going faster on the RAM - 2133 - or would that be over kill?
     
  5. rickss69

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,431 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    604
    Location:
    Rockvale TN (Not Australia)
    1.65 volt ram is fine for 1155. Yes, you can buy better ram...I think you may be fudging on the true intent of this build tho. :p (Uber ram will not gain you much unless you intend to benchmark alot)
     
  6. nocrapman New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2006
    Messages:
    264 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Dont know about CUDA - will need to investigate... why do u ask?
    I dont really need a powerful GFX card at all. Actually I think I could get by with the onboard GFX for now and add a GPU later if needed. But unfortunately the H67 chipset has onboard GFX but no way to OC and the P67 has no onboard GFX but very easy OCing.
    So I will look into the 6950... I should be able to manage a BIOS flash.
     
  7. nocrapman New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2006
    Messages:
    264 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    You are correct... I need to control my hedonistic urges sometimes.
    Dont really benchmark anymore. Maybe a few runs to test stability/performance etc.

    Since my last build, I have become a father, and work 3 jobs 6-7 days/nights a week. I make good money, but have much less time for fun!
     
  8. bucketface

    bucketface New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    142 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    Perth, Australia
    The integrated gfx is on the cpu, does the motherboard have to support it or something otherwise shouldnt the p67 still be able to use the igp?
    About CUDA, well you mentioned that you well be doing encoding and some gpu accelerated programs for that use it and it is a proprietary Nvidia technology so if you were using said programs then you should probably use a Nvidia gpu other wise get watevers best for you within your price range.

    i second these G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 ...
    good timings and decent speed
     
    nocrapman says thanks.
  9. nocrapman New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2006
    Messages:
    264 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Got everything figured out except MOBO.
    Any help would help!
     
  10. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (1.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,506
    Asus Pro or the Asus Evo.
     
  11. rickss69

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,431 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    604
    Location:
    Rockvale TN (Not Australia)
    Don't think you will go wrong with many of the mb's available now until you go extreme overclocking...even there they are not that far apart.
     
  12. LGV

    LGV New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    260 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2011
  13. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (1.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,506
    Yup, if prices is an issue get the Pro.
     
  14. nocrapman New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2006
    Messages:
    264 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Will likely get the Pro.
     
  15. pany New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    40 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Limassol, Cyprus, Europe
  16. nocrapman New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2006
    Messages:
    264 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Too late. Would prolly have gone for it. Had already ordered the ASUS Pro. Now for the painful wait!
     
  17. renozi New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2005
    Messages:
    255 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    Glendale, Arizona
    very solid board! so easy to overclock, at least for me and I've been out of the overclocking game for a while. Make sure you look up the cold boot problem, or just PM me and I'll help you out. Simple jumper fix.

    I'm @ 4.5GHz on 1.24v set in bios :D

    I'll try lowering voltage tomorrow. Good luck with your build!
     

    Attached Files:

    nocrapman says thanks.
  18. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,571 (3.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,682
    I was curious how well the Noctua NH-D14 would cool these new cpu's. Looks pretty good:toast:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. nocrapman New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2006
    Messages:
    264 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Thanks for the thumbs up and fix on the cold boot issue!

    Your temps look great!

    Wonder what will happen when u drop the volts...
     
  20. nocrapman New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2006
    Messages:
    264 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Does anyone know if I can make the Xiggy 1283 CPU cooler work with the 1155 socket? Or should I forget about it and sell it/give it away?
     
  21. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,036 (5.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,108
    Location:
    Ohio
    If it works with 1156, it works with 1155.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. nocrapman New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2006
    Messages:
    264 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    I dont think it works with 1156 either... I might be wrong.
     
  23. Zen_

    Zen_

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    494 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    112
    If you get an ASRock board there is an extra set of holes on the mobo for 775 heatsinks (so 775, 1155 and 1156 all work). They call it combo cooler or something.

    If you don't plan on running dual video cards or need a ton of features I can recommend the ASRock Pro3 as a good low budget board. If you want a little more the ASRock Extreme4 has been getting good reviews too.
     
    nocrapman says thanks.
  24. nocrapman New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2006
    Messages:
    264 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Here's what I ended up with:

    i72600k
    ASUS Pro MOBO
    G.SKILL Ripjaws 8GB(2 x 4GB)DDR3 2000 (PC3 16000)
    HAF X case
    H70 cpu cooler
    Seasonic 750W modular gold PSU
    Windows 7 Pro
    Liteon DVD writer
    OCZ 90G SSD
    Samsung Spinpoint 1.5TB HDD
    Use my 5770 for now for graphics.

    What started as a CPU-mobo, spiralled out of control :slap::slap:
    Wait for the CC bill next month. Till then I will be OCing like nobody's business!!

    Thanks for all your help guys... enablers!!
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page