1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Antec380W 80PLUS enough for PhenomII X4 955+MSI R4850-512M OC?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by NiGHTsC, Mar 21, 2010.

  1. NiGHTsC New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    17 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    [SOLVED] Antec380W 80PLUS enough for PhenomII X4 955+MSI R4850-512M OC?

    Antec Earthwatts 380W 80PLUS(White) - (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817371005)
    Asus M3A78-EM
    AMD 5200+ (Changing to 955 C3 voltage0.850 - 1.400)
    MSI R4850-512M OC(No fan-control/no powersaving) - (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814127401)
    2 HDs, 7200 and 5400

    This power usage calculation told me it will takes 271w with 955
    http://www.extreme.outervision.com/psucalculatorlite.jsp
    Code:
    System Type:		1 physical CPU	
    Motherboard:		Regular - Desktop	
    CPU:			AMD Phenom II X4 955 3200 MHz Deneb	
    CPU Utilization (TDP):	90% TDP	
    RAM:			2 Sticks DDR2 SDRAM	
    Video Card:		ATI Radeon HD 4850	
    Video Type:		Single Card	
    IDE HDD 5400 rpm:	1 HDD	
    Regular SATA:		1 HDD	
    Keyboard and mouse:	Yes	
    System Load:		90 %	
    
    Recommended Wattage:	271 Watts
    While this one says 390W, shit!
    http://www.msi.com/index.php?func=power
    [​IMG]

    What you guys think?


    Thank you.
     
    Last edited: Mar 22, 2010
  2. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,418 (6.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,495
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    I think you would be fine.
     
    NiGHTsC says thanks.
  3. NiGHTsC New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    17 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    certainly hopes so, just need some more words :)
     
  4. gaximodo

    gaximodo

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Messages:
    277 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    72
    Location:
    Canberra Australia
    you really shouldn't risk it, I'd say find a 450W at least, plus you might wanna start to OC abit in the future. There was a PSU calculator with capacitor aging options, you should try that one with 20% power reserved for better aging purpose stuff.

    Edit: I tried that MSI calculator with my current set up and it says only 608 watts was required while I was using a 650W Antec PSU and the fan on that poor PSU was SOOO loud(caused by overload I believe, wasn't making any noises with 2 9600GT's).
     
    Last edited: Mar 21, 2010
    NiGHTsC says thanks.
  5. EvolvA

    EvolvA New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    72 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    37
    Location:
    Madrid, Spain
    NiGHTsC says thanks.
  6. Flyordie

    Flyordie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,870 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    lol, I ran an EA380 on the same specs pretty much as you and it ran just perfectly fine.
    (See System Specs, remove the HD5770 and put in an HD4850 and thats pretty much all I changed)
     
    NiGHTsC says thanks.
  7. gaximodo

    gaximodo

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Messages:
    277 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    72
    Location:
    Canberra Australia
    And there are like 40~50 watts consumption difference between these two cards. Not to mention those"no fan control, no power saving and overclocked" features on that card op is getting
     
    Last edited: Mar 21, 2010
    NiGHTsC says thanks.
  8. Flyordie

    Flyordie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,870 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Power Play is present in all HD2/3/4/5 series cards. MSI has a power saving line that adds their own custom power play clocks and voltages which is what he is meaning. That card just doesn't have it.
     
    NiGHTsC says thanks.
  9. gaximodo

    gaximodo

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Messages:
    277 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    72
    Location:
    Canberra Australia
    That makes no differences, peak consumption won't change
     
    NiGHTsC says thanks.
  10. Flyordie

    Flyordie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,870 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    HD5770 uses 108W Peak
    HD4850 uses 105-110W Peak. soooo..
     
    NiGHTsC says thanks.
  11. gaximodo

    gaximodo

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Messages:
    277 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    72
    Location:
    Canberra Australia
    5770 110 maximum 4850 150 maximum, go check the numbers yourself
     
    NiGHTsC says thanks.
  12. Flyordie

    Flyordie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,870 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    [​IMG]

    I think you need to check out the reviews here on TPU. :laugh:

    If what you are saying is true, then that would leave 50W left for the mainboard,CPU and RAM at full load.
     
    NiGHTsC says thanks.
  13. DonInKansas

    DonInKansas

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,112 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,295
    Location:
    Kansas
    If you have to ask if it's enough, it's probably not. :laugh:
     
    NiGHTsC says thanks.
  14. gaximodo

    gaximodo

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Messages:
    277 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    72
    Location:
    Canberra Australia
    your looking at the maximum consumption here, don't try to play trick just to prove your right, that graph is right under your one lmao, I don't even bother to post it, yeah on average those two cards consume similar amount of energy, but under extreme conditions(extreme scenes etc.) you don't want an unreliable set up right?
    And LMAO again, try pair a 4870X2 with a 400 watt psu, it would below up in no time once you put some stress on.

    Edit: some ppl might be too ignorant to find the right graph and I'll do them a favor:[​IMG]

    P.s. never take any risks on PSU's, if you have a question, go for the one you sure its enough
     
    Last edited: Mar 21, 2010
    NiGHTsC says thanks.
  15. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,280 (4.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,033
    Location:
    Home
    As long as you don't overclock or overstress your rig, you will be fine. Maybe undervolt and underclock instead?
     
    NiGHTsC says thanks.
  16. Flyordie

    Flyordie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,870 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Thats not a trick. Thats peak power consumption for a single card system. I have owned an HD4850, I know how much power it uses. I have run an HD4850 on my EA380 before... don't believe me?

    [​IMG]
     
    NiGHTsC says thanks.
  17. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,418 (6.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,495
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    I don't see what all the fuss is about. He/She WILL be fine.
     
    NiGHTsC says thanks.
  18. gaximodo

    gaximodo

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Messages:
    277 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    72
    Location:
    Canberra Australia
    I believe you had such a setup and I believe it didn't had any problem while you had it, but it might not always work and check out the graph I posted on the other post, maximum consumption of just a card is more than the whole system consumed in your graph, when you put stress on, if only for a short period it won't matter, but if you keeps pushing the limit it definitely will make damage to the PSU and even the entire system. For instance anyone with right mind and appropriate knowledge won't pair a 4870X2 with a 400W PSU not even a 500W, but according to your graph and your logic it is perfectly fine to do so.
     
    NiGHTsC says thanks.
  19. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,280 (4.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,033
    Location:
    Home
    Can we stick back to the topic? OP wants to know whether his psu is powerful enough to run his rig, and Flyordie just proved that it is possible. Can we leave the 4870X2 out of the thread too? Its not part of the question, just adding unnecessary complications.
     
    NiGHTsC says thanks.
  20. gaximodo

    gaximodo

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Messages:
    277 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    72
    Location:
    Canberra Australia
    It's just a example to help flyorDIE to understand, and the whole thing was about psu consumption and I don't see anything off topic about that, but anyway I've said enough and won't reply anymore, easy things get complicated here, as giving a related example being off topic.
    Unsubscribed.
     
    NiGHTsC says thanks.
  21. NiGHTsC New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    17 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Thanx alot guys, fast replies :)

    I have another Antec 500W on my brother, but too lazy to switch it...:D

    I'll run some heavy tests after I got my 955 and hope it will work well.


    Thanx again.
     
  22. Flyordie

    Flyordie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,870 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Ok, the EA380 series is one of the most reliable low wattage units ever built. It is just a lower badged EA430. Parts are all the same.

    Also, its not my graph. Its TPU's graph and it was tested by the sites owner, W1zzard. The peak power demand for the reference HD4850 512MB as listed by AMD and UL is 115W. I never ran into any crashes during the 3 months I had that setup. It ran F@H GPU on one core and F@H CPU on the other 24/7 and no issues. It was drawing 390W from the wall while doing it, but it never once BSOD'd because that unit is built very very very well.

    The EA380 is built by SeaSonic. The EA380D is built by Delta. Both are very well reputable OEMs. Also, I would trust my 550W PSU for an HD5870 or an HD4870X2.
     
    NiGHTsC says thanks.
  23. Indra EMC

    Indra EMC

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    170 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    Nagoya Hills
    That's fine but i prefer you to upgrade to 450 watt, you will need change your PSU if you're about to upgrade you GPU or HDD.
     
    NiGHTsC says thanks.
  24. Kantastic

    Kantastic

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,180 (2.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    997
    I doubt your system will ever be seeing full load, that's only when you stress every god damned component at once. If you notice that your PC is crashing, yank the 4850 out and use the onboard while you wait for a new PSU.
     
    NiGHTsC says thanks.
  25. NiGHTsC New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    17 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    This sounds always cool

    Awesome, thanx for the replies.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page