1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Anvil's Storage Utilities Compilation

Discussion in 'Storage' started by Live OR Die, Dec 24, 2011.

  1. _JP_

    _JP_

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,684 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    738
    Location:
    Portugal
    One more. :)

    _JP_|HP DV6625EP/nVidia MCP65P|Fujitsu 250GB|#26|114.62
    [​IMG]
     
  2. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,994 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    406
    Ok so i got my RAID0 going for my raptors here it is.

    Drive 1
    LiveOrDie|ASUS Rampage IV Extreme (C600)|WD VelociRaptor WD3000HLFS|#27|306,80
    [​IMG]

    Drive 2
    LiveOrDie|ASUS Rampage IV Extreme (C600)|WD VelociRaptor WD3000HLFS|#27|308,88
    [​IMG]

    RAID0
    LiveOrDie|ASUS Rampage IV Extreme (C600)|2x WD VelociRaptor WD3000HLFS RAID0|#27|542.46
    [​IMG]
     
    Lionheart says thanks.
  3. InnervateD

    InnervateD New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
  4. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,380 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    864
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Couldn't resist.. I'll just leave this here for educational purposes!
    [​IMG]
     
  5. _JP_

    _JP_

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,684 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    738
    Location:
    Portugal
    Holy crap! :eek:
    That's one hell of a score!
    Wicked results too.
    :rockout:
     
  6. Arctucas

    Arctucas

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,772 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    290
    What is the trick?

    I see you are using a 4GB RAMDisk, but what did else did you do?
     
  7. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,380 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    864
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    I just set up the ramdisk properly. In the case of benches, I consider it a bit of cheating, it doesn't reflect 100% real world performance. But for things like gaming, where you may need to reload a level several times in a row, it can be a huge help. Just use this, it's free for 90 days or even more if the beta continues, it's fully functional:
    http://www.romexsoftware.com/en-us/
    I recommend Fancycache for Volumes, if you have partitions like I do.
     
    Last edited: Jan 7, 2012
  8. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,994 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    406
  9. Arctucas

    Arctucas

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,772 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    290
    No help on what 'properly' is, then?

    I get this on the RAMDisk (Primo):

    [​IMG]

    But I am interested in how to set it up so running the benchmark on my C:\ will improve the results as well. If you are willing to provide some instruction...
     
    Last edited: Jan 7, 2012
  10. chevy350

    chevy350

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Messages:
    196 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    I have Superspeed Supercache 5, it works along the same lines by using unused ram. I'll throw it back on and see what the RAID0 shows ;)
     
  11. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,380 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    864
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Wheeee! Look what I started! :laugh:
     
  12. Arctucas

    Arctucas

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,772 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    290
    Yes, this is fun.

    QSoft Enterprise:

    [​IMG]
     
  13. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,994 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    406
    Any one tried GiliSoft RAMDisk its a small program i mite download it and give it ago.
     
  14. Arctucas

    Arctucas

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,772 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    290
    I tried it.

    Two things;

    Kaspersky complained when I installed it.

    Anvil could not see it.

    Uninstalled for now.
     
    Live OR Die says thanks.
  15. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,994 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    406
    Ok i found this and it works with Anvil, The free version only lets you use a up to a 4GB ram disk.
    Dataram RamDisk

    [​IMG]
     
  16. Arctucas

    Arctucas

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,772 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    290
    Dataram is a bit slower:

    [​IMG]
     
  17. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,994 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    406
    Yer maybe because its FAT32 not NTFS? I see you beat me haha better ram timmings.
     
  18. mime_fx

    mime_fx New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Messages:
    30 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    mime_fx/GA-E350N-USB3/ocz Vertex3 60GB/#43/2.697.73


    [​IMG]


    my little beast

    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]
     
  19. Arctucas

    Arctucas

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,772 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    290
    I formatted it as NFTS, but got an alignment error in Anvil.

    The result was slower than FAT32 also.
     
  20. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,994 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    406
    Beta11 has been released i've updated the 1st post with the new link. :toast:
     
  21. Arctucas

    Arctucas

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,772 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    290
    Update.

    With the BETA 11:

    Arctucas | eVGA Classified 3 | 4x ADATA S599/RAID0 | #46 | 8,206.01

    [​IMG]
     
  22. _JP_

    _JP_

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,684 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    738
    Location:
    Portugal
    I'm still dominating the bottom of the charts! Wicked! :rockout:
     
  23. chevy350

    chevy350

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Messages:
    196 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    chevy350 | Asus Maximus IV Extreme Z | 2 OCZ Solid 3 60Gb RAID0 | #48 | 8318.71

    New board so I ran it again to see how it compared to the MSI.... :toast:
     

    Attached Files:

  24. rottencat New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Drives: 3 X Corsair Force 3 120GB SSD RAID0
    Motherboard: Asus Striker II Extreme

    Any good SATA III adapter recommendation? :D
     

    Attached Files:

    • ssd.jpg
      ssd.jpg
      File size:
      122.8 KB
      Views:
      65
  25. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,261 (2.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,745
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    I just ordered a OCZ RevoDrive 3 X2 240GB. I'll post up some numbers once i get it installed into my i7 970 x6 @4.0Ghz. :toast:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page