1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Any benefit 7950 > 7970 BIOS flash?

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by soulrider4ever, Feb 1, 2012.

  1. soulrider4ever New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I know it doesn't unlock shaders, but have seen rumors of increased performance from flashing due to memory timings and increased voltage limitations / CCC OC limits.

    Can anyone else confirm this? I just don't trust that review, and would like to hear from actual users who have tested this.
     
  2. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,772 (3.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,337
    Where did you read this?
     
  3. soulrider4ever New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  4. soulrider4ever New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  5. soulrider4ever New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    OK, well I don't have a utility that sees the 7950 as a valid ati card or adapter. Any beta atiflash/rbe around someone can share?
     
  6. ZenZimZaliben

    ZenZimZaliben

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    2,566 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    531
    Surprised there isn't more interest in this. From those posts seems to be an obvious benefit. But no one is probably willing to flash their expensive card right out the door...otherwise IDK.
     
    Last edited: Feb 2, 2012
  7. soulrider4ever New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I'm willing to do it, I have the 7970 bios, I just need a tool to flash it!
     
  8. soulrider4ever New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    So I went ahead and flashed the card with the new atiflash tool, and was unable to get it to post, thankfully the asus cucore has the bios switch and I was fine. I'll need to try more BIOS's or modded BIOS's.
     
  9. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,791 (13.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,168
    ATiFlash should do it as I don't think it needs to be updated, ATiWinFlash probably doesn't work. You need to remember that there are no "reference" 7950's so finding a workable bios will be tough.
     
  10. boomstik360

    boomstik360

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Messages:
    2,232 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    433
    I'd like to know as well:D
     
  11. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,773 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    825
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    Like Erocker just mentioned above.... I think the best someone could hope for right now is to flash the BIOS with a Unlocked HD7950 BIOS. What I mean with unlocked is "Unlocked Core Clock" Not unlocked shaders.
    I just spent about 1/2 hour examining PCB's of both the HD7970 and HD7950 and I could not find one HD7950 that has the same PCB as the HD7970. So unless there is a reference version of the HD7950 out there manufactured by AMD themselves.... I don't think it is currently possible.
     
  12. LAN_deRf_HA

    LAN_deRf_HA

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,555 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    952
    I think it would take a deeper examination of the differences in the bios. There seems to be a clock for clock advantage from doing the flash which suggests better ram timings, and maybe a vram voltage boost, which is where people got into trouble with the 6950.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page