1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Any bottleneck in this system?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Krazy Owl, Sep 23, 2012.

  1. Krazy Owl

    Krazy Owl New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    900 (0.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Montreal
  2. entropy13

    entropy13

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4,916 (2.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,193
    Everything's a bottleneck. :laugh:
    n-ster, brandonwh64 and eidairaman1 say thanks.
  3. Krazy Owl

    Krazy Owl New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    900 (0.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Montreal
    Lame comment. Anyone else who could really tell? The computer will be given to a family in need and I want it to be OK for a while.
  4. UbErN00b New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Messages:
    257 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    Ingerland
    What do you want to know? it's all 6+ year old tech, It's not high-tec and won't do any video encoding, rendering etc nor will it run any modern games at decent settings and resolutions but it's a PC that will run windows, standard windows and office apps, flash gaming and older games, though am sure you know all this.
    Aquinus says thanks.
  5. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,165 (6.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,022
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    +1: When I first read your post I wasn't sure what you were asking. What the machine can do is pretty clear. I'm not sure what we can add to the record.
  6. Krazy Owl

    Krazy Owl New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    900 (0.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Montreal
    I don't think games will be played. It will be for school,Facebook, MSN messenger with webcam, watching movies, burning dvd and download. I could at least install them the first Call of duty but that's about it.
  7. ColdCheese New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    Messages:
    6 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    It's slightly better specs than the handme down x2 4200+ I gave to my grand daughter she now uses as a Facebook machine, should suffice for low res casual web surfing. I lol'd at the bottleneck question, not sure if that was the intention or you wanted to know if you could possibly improve or benefit performance with a better GPU or something? personally I wouldn't waste money on ancient tech, just salvage what you can and replace with a more modern bargain bin replacement if it's not up to task.
  8. Capitan Harlock

    Capitan Harlock

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2012
    Messages:
    463 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    70
    Location:
    Arcadia
    what version of windows you are goin to install? windows xp o windows 7? windows xp i think is good enough for all the things you tell to us ,windows 7 with the normal theme and other stuff is much stressfull .
  9. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Remove 1 stick & get a SATA hdd.;)
  10. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,548 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    510
    Location:
    Australia
    :wtf: maybe if yours had alot less ram and lower GPU? but not CPU.

    And yes that system will run all of those things you listed just fine.

    Id just double check on what the webcam requirements would be though?
  11. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,165 (6.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,022
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    I've seen Window 7 run fine on an Athlon 64 3700+ with 1.5gb of ram and a radeon hd 2600xt. Windows 7 is pretty good about running on a machine with 1gb or more. I wouldn't ditch that 3rd stick though. A lot of CPUs (motherboards at this point since that is where the memory controller is), even older ones, can run dual channel even if not all dimm slots are filled. As long as both channels are active they'll usually run in dual channel mode.
  12. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (5.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,615
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    I just installed Win7 x64 on my poor little work computer (Pentium-D 2.9GHz, 3GB RAM) and it runs better than XP ever did.

    The 630 is a single core processor (with HT), but is still quite capable for most basic tasks.
    Gaming with the 3450 will be pretty dismal by todays standards, but it should handle older games fairly well. Reviews show the 3450 as being a decent video playback card (I do believe it was introduced as an option for HTPCs and not a gaming card).
    You will probably need to keep the resolution down to something like 1280x1024 (max) for decent framerates though. With games you will probably need to go lower and run at minimum settings.
  13. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,484 (3.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,147
    I used Windows 7 on a laptop (Latitude D610 if anyone's interested) with a Pentium M @ 1.7Ghz and 2GB RAM and it worked surprisingly well for everyday use (light browsing with adblock+, writing, studying).
  14. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    90/10 on the chipset will not run asynchronous dual channel(I forgot the proper term). I know up to a certain point, I think it was the intel 300 series, they didn't support such feature.
  15. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,165 (6.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,022
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Read Intel's spec. It does support async dual-channel however the benefit for most things will be marginal.
    http://download.intel.com/design/chipsets/applnots/30167003.pdf
    JrRacinFan says thanks.
  16. Krazy Owl

    Krazy Owl New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    900 (0.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Montreal
    I am going to give it to a family in need as I wrote clearly why would you salvage it? I already got my computer. Next time try to read it won't pollute a post. :nutkick:


    Thank you for the specs. I'm gona leave it like that and put XP in it.
  17. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,472 (3.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,014
    Location:
    Mexico
    It'll be fine, the 3450 should have about the same performance as an X700. Heck I played Doom 3 on a 8500DV back in the day (at 640x480 :laugh:)

    Windows 7 should work fine on that motherboard. I've got two office PCs running W7 ST on P4 3.4E and P4P800-VM (865 chipset). W7 has preloaded drivers, everything worked right away, even sound and lan.
    Aquinus says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,165 (6.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,022
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    +1, another good reason to use W7 and not XP.
  19. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,472 (3.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,014
    Location:
    Mexico
    Now that I think about it, I recall having to go run Windows Update to get the drivers but they all worked fine. Here's the P4 running IBT on W7ST:

    [​IMG]
    INSTG8R says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,668 (7.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,980
    Location:
    some AF base
    Windows 7 x64 will work just fine on it. It runs better than XP for the most part on older systems. I have a couple of old school builds I have made on the cheap for people who need them with similar specs all of which perform just fine.

    Hell my netbook runs 7 ultimate x64 with a dual core athlon 1.2ghz and X1270 without a hickup. I tried XP on it and while some things were faster for the most part windows 7 was way better.
  21. Krazy Owl

    Krazy Owl New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    900 (0.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Montreal
    Yes but they dont have money for asimple computer so even less for a win7 serial key in french especially. So ill drop them my XP Pro sp3 Corporate who need no keys to install.
  22. xBruce88x

    xBruce88x

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,356 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    the system should be fine for everyday tasks like web browsing, email, facebook , watching movies (im sure you know to load up a decent codec pack), and office/school work (OpenOffice.org?). could even play some games, esp those using the unreal engine pre dx11/10 and as such XP would be fine for that.

    I guess you could say my laptop is a similar spec as far as raw perf. goes. (just a smaller hdd and older gpu) and does all the above just fine.
  23. IINexusII

    IINexusII

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Messages:
    907 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    London, UK
    you can try ubuntu on it. if youre not going to be gaming, itll be fine for any other task
  24. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,528 (10.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,042
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    I think my phone is faster than that system LOL j/k

    It would make a great simple FB/Youtube machine for a kit
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (5.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,615
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    Your a good egg, KO. :toast:
    The computer should work just fine for them.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page