1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Any DFI SLI-DR owners out here with 4G of RAM?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by heelix, Jun 12, 2005.

  1. heelix New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2005
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Tying to sort out the memory hole issue with 4G of RAM. When the BIOS posts, it shows up about 512M short of how much physical RAM is in the box. With the MMIO option disabled (default setting) the machine will post, but WinXP-64 reports back the total RAM is the same as the BIOS. Enabling the MMIO option (which remaps the memory around the 32-bit PCI devices) causes the board not to post at all. Popped my RAM into another brand of motherboard and it was golden. Memtested each stick, in pairs, and all four sticks without issues either.

    Trying to sort out if this is a bug in my board or if it hits DFI owners. Anyone else out there running 4G of RAM with MMIO enabled?
     
  2. Agility

    Agility

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,645 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    Location:
    Singapore
    It should be like that. My computer motherboard manufacturer also stated that due to the south bridge resource deployment, the system density will only be deteted up to 3+ GB and not fully 4GB when each DIMM is installed with an 1GB memory module. Check your motherboard book. It should be stated. If not check the website. Just my 2cents. Sorry if it is wrong.
     
  3. gR3iF

    gR3iF New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,807 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    Hamburg
    your bios has to support the new venice core because only thisone can handle 4 gig ram
     
  4. heelix New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2005
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    The BIOS was updated to a version that not only supports the rev E cores, but also the X2 chips starting to come out. The BIOS would have a hole for any PCI devices, and so misisng ~512M is normal from the post. WinXP-64, if you have the MMIO option enabled, will actually remap the RAM so you have access to all 4G of physical RAM in a 64-bit OS. Only been able to try with one other board and that worked. Looking for another DFI user with 4x1G config to see if the posting issue is just me, or if this is DFI.
     
  5. Ittiz New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2005
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I have the same set up with 4gbs of ram. except my bios only showed 2.75gbs with my Radeon X850 PE in. With a Bios update released by DFI today it shows 3.25gbs of ram.
     
  6. heelix New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2005
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Woot!

    The 6/23 beta bios did the trick. When I enable MMIO, not only does the system post but it also remaps the memory hole in 64-bit OS. Saw the 6/18 did the trick as well, but by the time I was ready to give the system a serious workout (or more importantly, trash everything inadvertently) the BIOS had an update.

    This also fixed an issue I had with the 5/10 BIOS and a couple games. Farcry would hardly run, and CS:Source would crash after a few seconds when running the video stress test. No driver change, things are very stable.
     
  7. Ittiz New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2005
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    yeah the 6/15 Bios fixed my problem. Remapping the MMIO did the trick for me as well. Now the only trick is XP only lets programs use 2 gigs of ram. Putting /3gb in the allows you to get 3 gigs but my system won't boot with that setting. Are there any new features with the 6/23 Bios?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page