1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Any fix for the Cursor Bug?

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by Bobington, Oct 27, 2010.

  1. Bobington New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Messages:
    28 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I recently read some people have managed to fix the cursor bug by flashing their GPU bios and was wondering if there was any truth to this. I'm using a Powercolor PCS+ 5870 and they don't seem to provide a download for the GPU Bios so I'm hesitant to take any risks.

    Using 10.10 attached is a pic of the cursor glitching this morning.

    [​IMG]
  2. robal

    robal

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Messages:
    484 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    110
    Location:
    Hampshire, UK
    As far as I know, there's no official fix (driver) yet.
    If you've got a second GPU (that you could use for BIOS recovery), flashing BIOS is not risky at all.
    Just make sure you make a proper backup of the original one !

    As for cursor... You know that 'rubbing' it against right border of the screen fixes it, right ? :)
    That is the most bizarre 'fix' I've ever seen in my life. (But it works for me)

    Cheers,
  3. Bobington New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Messages:
    28 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Yeah I know I can fix it by moving to the other screen and clicking something but it gets annoying to do that every x amount of time.
  4. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,397 (4.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,475
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    The fix is DisplayPort 1.2, and the MTB for multi-screen rendering, or use of a daisy-chained set of monitors. You cannot buy either at the moment.


    Just my opinion, but the problem is hardware related, and will never be fixed. It's now offically over a year that this bug has existed, so to expect it fixed now might be stretching expectations a little bit.
    digibucc says thanks.
  5. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,601 (3.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,937
    I have it from time to time, and it's not too bad, but I don't do anything challenging that I need the cursor for. If I was trying to do graphic editing or something else, I probably would be mad enough to get rid of eyefinity.

    AFAIK, I have a very recent BIOS for my cards. I flashed them to fix the "cold bug" I was getting with watercooling. However, I still have the cursor issues occasionally.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. largon New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,778 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    432
    Location:
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    My HD4890 does that.
    Bloody annoying. And it's just absurd AMD's driver dept. has apparently done nothing to fix it.
  7. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,691 (11.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,213
    i get it every now and then (mostly starcraft 2)


    i find the cause is often mousing over the 'minimise all' thing in the bottom right corner of the screen in 7, even if a full screen app is running. mousing over the same corner of the screen fixes it again.


    i'm running single monitor over DVI and still getting the issue, so its not display port, HDMI, or multi monitor related.
  8. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,397 (4.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,475
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    while you may have the issue without using more than one monitor, that doesn't mean it doesn't have anything do with the display output hardware. it's actually all three together, not any one single part.

    If this is a new problem to your system, chances aredriver bugs have changed the behavior. FYI, i keep my taskbar on the far right screen, on the far right edge, and have never even come close to the taskbar when it happens..for me, it happens when I move the cursor from one monitor to the next.

    It's been OVER a year..any simple answer that would fix this has come and gone by now.
    Last edited: Nov 3, 2010

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page