1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Any Gateway FX530 owners out there?

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by freejay, May 7, 2007.

  1. freejay New Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan
    Hi all,

    I'm new to the forum here and am looking for someone who owns the gateway FX530XT pc. I'm trying to verify that the BIOS allows overclocking the CPU. I believe it does, and here is where my little quest begins. I have the Gateway FX8030 which is the retail version of the 530. The motherboard is identical in both systems (Intel (Big Arm) 975X Viiv Motherboard BTX) and I think the BIOS from the 530 will work on my 8030. On my PC I can change memory timings, but not any processor settings. I have tried to obtain the bios from Gateway and thay wont provide it. I believe this boards closest retail equivalent is the Intel Bad Axe 2 board except that that board is ATX, and this one is BTX. Anyone got any ideas?

    :banghead:
     
  2. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,075 (2.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    909
    if you google Overclocking Gateway FX530 it shows up as being a choice to be factory overclocked.....did you choose that? but i find no where in the google search as people getting into the bios to overclock it themself!

    sry if this wasn't any help
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. aximbigfan New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    848 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    why did you buy a gateway in the first place? gateways and emachiens are nutorias for being pecices of crap. matter of fact almost all oem computers are crap...


    chris
     
  4. Namslas90 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    4,851 (1.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    555
    Location:
    Earth
    Not realy thats a Gateway GT5056 in system specs <<<< 5824 3DMark06.
     
  5. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,075 (2.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    909
    so your saying gateway are worse than dell? if i was to buy a computer, i would buy a gateway!
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,223 (2.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,697
    i would also go gateway,actually i did go gateway..have since built myself another pc but the gateway was pretty solid,didnt have any problems with it at all
     
  7. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,804 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    547
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    maybe someone can customize the bios for you to overclock. I had thought the new Gateway gaming pcs allowed users to overclock as well as setting it at the factory. I could be wrong though.
     
  8. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,804 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    547
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Apparently they dont. It all comes factory overclocked. Best bet is to see if someone out there modded a bios for it. Good news is, you can change your memory. Bad news is, the cpu ocing is grayed out so as to keep the warranty in tact.
     
  9. freejay New Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan
    I would be interested in trying a modded BIOS, but I have no idea where to start. Also, this is an Intel BIOS, and I have heard that they are difficult to deal with.
     
  10. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,804 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    547
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Hmm. I dont know how to rewrite bios' so Im no help there. Yeah, I have heard that too, but it being a C2D, I would think Intel would allow it to be oc'd unless they have a special deal going with Gateway or summat.
     
  11. freejay New Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan
    I believe it is an option that has been turned off, but is still there. If gateway factory OC's these, they would do it through the BIOS right? As to earlier comments about quality, this system uses top notch components. Intel board, ATI X1950 CrossFire, Segate hard drives, etc. I bought it because it is a quad core rig that comes pretty loaded for 2299 from CC.
     
  12. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,223 (2.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,697
    if your bios is an award bios send it to me and i can take a look at it
     
  13. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,804 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    547
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    what is CC? Circuit City?

    If so, not a bad price at all.
     
    Last edited: May 7, 2007
  14. freejay New Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan
    Yep Circuit City.
     
  15. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,804 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    547
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Haha, dont I feel like a tard :)
     
  16. freejay New Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan
    I tried something I know is stupid and tried to flash the BIOS with a retail Intel version that most closely matched my board. The iflash utility wouldent let me do it. Oh well. Guess I'll just have to live with what I have. I was using clockgen, and now when I launch it it wont give me any PLL controll (weird.) It just lists the current clocks. It was working before.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page