1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Any issues with this RAM?

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by jsabo, Feb 7, 2013.

  1. jsabo New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Messages:
    18 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  2. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,797 (2.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,519
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Based on the fact that you don't have specs listed, it should work just fine. ;)
     
  3. jsabo New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Messages:
    18 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    whoops, forgot to set show specs to "yes"
     
  4. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,679 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    708
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Hi

    This RAM kit [Corsair Vengeance 16GB (2x8GB) DDR3 1600 MHz (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory (CMZ16GX3M2A1600C10)] *may not work as intended due to motherboard restrictions; according to the manual DDR3 slot A1,B1,A2 & B2 only support 4Gb memory modules

    Manual

    Source - http://www.biostar-usa.com/app/en-us/mb/introduction.php?S_ID=482#dl

    Note: only one 4Gb memory kit was tested at Biostar [TEAM TED34096M1333C9]

    Source - http://www.biostar-usa.com/app/en-us/mb/introduction.php?S_ID=482#memory

    although this list was not exhaustive [*"This is not a full listing but a memory guide used for testing"] looking at the motherboard bios updates, Biostar do not appear to have updated memory compatibility at this time *and or if possible.

    atb (all the best)

    Law-II
     
    jsabo, cadaveca and Sasqui say thanks.
  5. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,797 (2.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,519
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    It should work fine, your board says it supports 4 DIMM supported DDR3-1800(OC)/1600(OC)/1333/1066, the 1.5v for the memory is the DDR3 standard.

    Perhaps someone with an AMD system can chime in too.

    Edit: Law-II is da man.

    Edit2: Support Dual Channel DDR3 1800(OC)/1600(OC)/1333/1066/800 MHz
    4 x DDR3 DIMM Memory Slot
    Max. Supports up to 16GB Memory <- this, meaning you may need to get 4x4GB to use the total 16GB MB capacity.
     
    jsabo says thanks.
  6. jsabo New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Messages:
    18 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    so my mobo maxes out at 8 gb at 2 sticks of 4 gigs? confirm please? i think im misunderstanding (noob here). right now have 2 sticks @ 2 gigs each, going for 2 sticks at 8 gigs each. two of my ram slots are blocked, only two are open.
     
  7. jsabo New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Messages:
    18 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  8. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,679 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    708
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Hi -PM sent

    Corsair Vengeance 8 GB ( 2 x 4 GB ) DDR3 1600 MHz (PC3 12800) 240-Pin DDR3 Memory Kit for Core i3, i5, i7 and Platforms SDRAM CMZ8GX3M2A1600C9 should work fine; looking at the settings for the motherboard bios; there is enough room to tweak the memory timings if required

    nb: you will not see a large drop in performance with 8Gb over 16Gb and may get better OC in general if desired

    atb

    Law-II
     
    Last edited: Feb 8, 2013

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page