1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Any program to run my fans at 100% for CPU?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Phusius, Sep 30, 2012.

  1. Phusius

    Phusius New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,318 (1.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    380
    I sometimes crank up my fans on GPU to 100% just to get rid of some dust build up, and I have 3 fans attached to Noctua NH D14, so if I can crank those fans to 100%, it would probably help with some of the dust.

    Just until I get around to cleaning it really good, but that takes a solid hour or two to take everything apart, etc.
  2. twicksisted

    twicksisted

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,436 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    350
    you have an asus motherboard, just use Asus AI Suite > Tools > Fan Expert > "User Setting" (Create user setting for 100%)
    Phusius says thanks.
  3. Phusius

    Phusius New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,318 (1.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    380
    Oh, thanks, never used their AI Suite before I will have to download it.
  4. Hood

    Hood

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Messages:
    795 (1.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    239
    Don't freak out if you start getting messages like "your CPU temp is 147c!" or "your 5 volt rail is at 0.0 volts", it's just Asus' way of saying "we can't write good software". Asus "Probe" software is the culprit; it has conflicts with other sensor reading software (at least it does on my system, I use HWiNFO64 to read all my sensors). My Z77 board has Fan Expert 2 and it works fine.
  5. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,493 (13.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,908
    Just go into the bios and set the fans to "full" or 100% or whatever it says. I can't stand AI Suite.
    Jetster says thanks.
  6. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    With the ASUS boards I have owned, I have never used AI suite.
    Now I have an ASUS GPU capable of using ASUS GPUTweak, I still haven't installed it.
  7. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,346 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    842
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Yep, just set fans to 100% in bios. Should be at that for default anyways. Trust me, Asus mobos do run the fans at 100%, I have 8 case fans, 2 cpu fans, and 2 gpu fans at 100%. The noise is glorious!!!

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page