1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Any Sacred 2 players?

Discussion in 'Games' started by ZenZimZaliben, Apr 28, 2009.

  1. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,421 (2.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,146
    ok, it's done and i need a guinea pig.
    mike, login, if you will.
  2. Mike0409

    Mike0409

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,142 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    126
    Location:
    Connecticut
    No go. No server found at address provided.
  3. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,421 (2.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,146
    forgot the port number. it's 8767. add it to the end of the ip: xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx:8767
  4. Mike0409

    Mike0409

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,142 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    126
    Location:
    Connecticut
    Yeah did that as well, didn't find the server still.
  5. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,421 (2.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,146
    hrm. i gave you the only ip ts:server gave me.
    gimme a minute, it's been months since i ran a ts server.
  6. Mike0409

    Mike0409

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,142 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    126
    Location:
    Connecticut
    BTW for anyone that has Xfire it's awesome to run with Sacred 2, The screenshot's are easy and they have an In-Game browsing window..make's like easier when trying to respond to post's instead of alt-tabbing
  7. CarneASADA

    CarneASADA

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Messages:
    102 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Location:
    tempe. arizona
  8. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,421 (2.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,146
    CarneASADA says thanks.
  9. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,421 (2.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,146
    ok, issue resolved. turns out it was fucking windows firewall. i'll rewrite the pm with the proper ip and send it out in a minute.
  10. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (5.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,615
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    Okay so we got TS servers now (I need to find my headset, it's around here somewhere).
    What we need now is a 24/7 Sacred 2 server.
    I have the gear, but my internet connection is horribly limited.
    I'm willing to donate parts (if I have them) for someone who is willing to host a server.
  11. Mike0409

    Mike0409

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,142 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    126
    Location:
    Connecticut
    Can we actually host a 24/7 server? I didn't think Sacred allowed for that?

    If we can host one I can run it. I have 2 939 Chipsets' one is completely built Dual Core 4200+ with 2Gb's of memory. I got the HD's and everything. Just need a case.

    The other 939 need's a PS, a Fan/Heatsink, a Case, and DDR400 memory. And it would be up and running.

    and if some people help donate for my electric bill those 2 rig's can run a FTP, TS, Sacred 2, and whatever else we want, all can be setup on Server 2008 as well.
  12. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (5.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,615
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    Why couldn't someone host an Open Net (passworded) S2 server that was always up?
  13. Mike0409

    Mike0409

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,142 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    126
    Location:
    Connecticut
    I suppose you could, but the machine would have to be able to play S2, and that person would have to be logged in all the time.
  14. ZenZimZaliben

    ZenZimZaliben

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    2,561 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    528
    Actually there is a Dedicated server client. Been looking at it. I have an extra Dual Core 939 rig as well, 2gb ddr500. Doesnt even require a video card. Just a moderate cpu, maybe 4gbs ddr, a small hd, and a good nic.http://forums.techpowerup.com/newreply.php?do=newreply&noquote=1&p=1418323

    if you host a game you will notice a 3rd service startupin the task manager. One is the game client, one is for steam, and one is the server service. So we could actually setup a dedicated server...the problem is it would have to be freeplay, because anyone that joined would/could advance the main quest line.

    i need to install teamspeak...but im ready to play when ever. gotta take the GF out for dinner around 6:30, but should be back by 8:30, then Im up for gaming all night.
  15. Mike0409

    Mike0409

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,142 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    126
    Location:
    Connecticut
    Wow! Ok cool, I'll actually set something up this weekend if I can get a case.

    EDIT: Doesn't look like this is availble with Steam Downloads. I am unable to find anything with Dedicated Server that is provided by Steam or in the actually downloaded files from Steam.
    Last edited: Jun 6, 2009
  16. ZenZimZaliben

    ZenZimZaliben

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    2,561 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    528
    ok after some more reading it looks like if you own the retail copy you can install on 2 different machines. One machine can run the dedicated server and the other can run the game client. THe machine that runs the server can not run the client at the same time if it is hosting dedicated. which is fine. the server needs to either use port forwarding or be in the dmz for internet clients to connect.

    just saw your edit, and you are correct. You can also download the entire disc from steam and burn and use that.
  17. Mike0409

    Mike0409

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,142 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    126
    Location:
    Connecticut
    NM Just realized there is a backup game content and that does it.
  18. ZenZimZaliben

    ZenZimZaliben

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    2,561 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    528
    so anyone up for a game tonight?
  19. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,421 (2.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,146
    i'm hopping on now. can't believe the only one to have even joined ts was mike, and that was for a test...
  20. ZenZimZaliben

    ZenZimZaliben

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    2,561 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    528
    oh yeah i need to install that
  21. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,421 (2.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,146
    lolzorz.
    so i'll see/hear you in the ts server soon?
    EDIT: now that i have my intarwebz configged correctly, maybe i can host a server on sacred. gimme a few, i'm gonna try.
  22. ZenZimZaliben

    ZenZimZaliben

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    2,561 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    528
    which client do i download/ the normal or updated exe?
  23. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,421 (2.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,146
    both. you download the noraml one, install it, then overwrite the installed .exe with the updated one. it's a crude, but effective, method of patching.

    EDIT: still can't host a scared 2 server. it's odd.
    ZenZimZaliben says thanks.
  24. ZenZimZaliben

    ZenZimZaliben

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    2,561 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    528
    alright, servers up....cant use teamspeak tonight.
  25. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,203 (3.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,090
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    Meh, whatever man, I'm just gonna go to bed. Pisses me off when I die when I type.

    My girl's already falling asleep next to me anyway. Gnite man.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page