1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Anyone can upgrade to Windows 8 Pro for $14.99.

Discussion in 'General Software' started by Phusius, Oct 26, 2012.

  1. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    great!
  2. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,938 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,359
    some aspects of the UI are semi retarded. they just dont make sense.
  3. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,053 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    790
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    how do I make sure if AHCI is enabled on Windows 8, heard its not the same like W7.

    SSD running on AMD E-300 CPU laptop.
  4. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,938 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,359
    ummm, its a BIOS setting? not a windows setting.
  5. Delta6326

    Delta6326

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,818 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    665
    Location:
    Iowa, USA
    Ugh I hit Install later from your desktop and nothing happened(I did want to put it on my flash drive yet)... does anyone know where it saves the DL or do I have to re-download the whole thing!? I have insanely slow internet.
  6. manofthem

    manofthem

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    5,673 (4.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,542
    Someone posted earlier its dl'd to a hidden folder, I think it was like c:/esd or something along those lines. I think it mentioned in page 1-2. You should have chosen the second which would have allowed you to save as ISO or to USB.

    Yes is correct. Some things don't work as well as they should. Things that used to be simple are slightly more complicated now, like shutting down or restarting or sleep lol. I suppose it'll get better, maybe start to make more sense.
    Last edited: Oct 27, 2012
    Delta6326 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  7. Delta6326

    Delta6326

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,818 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    665
    Location:
    Iowa, USA
    Yep it was under c:\esd now i need to save it as a ISO, it even has the Setup.exe

    EDIT: Ok got it all ready to install some time in the future. When I have some free time I will go to W8!

    [​IMG]
    Last edited: Oct 27, 2012
  8. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,053 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    790
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
  9. Phusius

    Phusius New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,318 (1.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    380
    132 guests viewing... I think some of Microsoft finally found this topic... moderators how do I change my IP address? lol, dem big boys gon' be comin' for me for letting out this trick ^^

    edit: seriously tho i can't get into any trouble for this topic can i? i mean its not my fault they said u had to buy a new win7 pc within 6 months to get the 14.99 upgrade then make a mistake so anyone can do it...
  10. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,381 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,933
    Location:
    Mexico
    the worst that could happen is MS refunds the money and the keys become invalid. You just linked to the offer page, it's their mistake not yours.
    Phusius says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,259 (3.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,410
    133 tpu members watching waiting but not logged in
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. hnsight_pow New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Code? Help!

    Could anyone PM me with a code? I've tried all browsers, various e-mails, clearing cookies, but can't make it without getting the 'verification' page. Glad to spend $15 to try out some new MS sauce.

    I'll be glad to trade a myopia rehab coupon I have (if you have to wear glasses, this is totally worth it - myopia challenge from frauenfeld clinic, for free instead of $200)

    Many thanks!
  13. sttubs

    sttubs

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    640 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    It tells me I'm not elidgible from two different computers using different info. Maybe the put a stop to it?
  14. UbErN00b New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Messages:
    257 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    Ingerland
    Derrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr oh yea :p :roll:
  15. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,394 (5.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,188
    how did you get the x64 iso?
  16. Caleb666 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Damn, I signed up for a $14.99 coupon with fake data (I didn't really buy a Windows 7 machine a while ago) and bought Win8, and now after reading that someone reported a problem, I'm scared that I might've wasted those $14.99 :(

    So what's the latest on this? Has anyone recently used the $14.99 coupon with fake data and has the activation gone smoothly (without requesting Win7 key)?
  17. tacosRcool

    tacosRcool

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    Messages:
    860 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Just got another friend to do exactly this since when I did it it did verify anything
  18. Caleb666 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Did he do a successful install?
  19. tacosRcool

    tacosRcool

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    Messages:
    860 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    So far yes

    Also when you do this make sure that the PC model and Manufacturer has Windows 7 on it like the Toshiba Satellite S855-S5252 for example.
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 27, 2012
  20. MightyMission

    MightyMission

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,030 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    136
    Turning off the computer using win 8 OS is effort!
    I definitely prefer windows 7
  21. UbErN00b New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Messages:
    257 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    Ingerland
    Effort pushing power button?
  22. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,938 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,359
    my win 8 is now trying to activate and failing, says the key i have is invalid?


    -.-'
  23. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (5.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,615
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    Maybe it only likes OEM keys? It's supposed to be for "new PCs" which would imply an OEM install.
  24. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,938 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,359
    yeah, my case is behind my desk. i wake via keyboard, and sleep the PC. it gets rebooted once a month for updates. definitely designed for tablet/mobile with a dedicated power button in easy reach.


    edit, since i nearly double posted: win 8 has installed just fine. its just that now i came home from work many hours later, it wants me to activate and it wont. so far i've had no loss of functionality or anything.
  25. Drone

    Drone

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    2,475 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,179
    It's like Windows 7. You can use it in-activated for 3 days.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page