1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Anyone can upgrade to Windows 8 Pro for $14.99.

Discussion in 'General Software' started by Phusius, Oct 26, 2012.

  1. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,934 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,358
    yeah but it activated to install, and now wants to activate again and wont, even with the key i paid for -.-


    hoping its temporary
  2. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,934 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,358
    ok got it: by trying to install the key a dozen times over, i finally got an error message that makes sense.


    windows didnt like that i did a clean install, even tho it accepted the key at the time. has to be upgraded from an existing OS.
    Phusius says thanks.
  3. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,430 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,270
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Not a good sign. I was wondering what would happen to my OEM Win7 license key after upgrading, does it become invalid? If you try upgrading on anything other than the original Win 7 machine, doe it fail like you describe?

    My plan was to clone my Win7 HDD and do the upgrade to Win8 on the clone... just in case. But as I said, the concern is the old Win7 install will be checked as invalid.

    Edit:

    That makes sense.
  4. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,934 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,358
    as i posted just before you replied - its because i did a clean install and not an upgrade (Since i wanted to use a fresh OS)


    i just have to upgrade over the top of this OS, and it should be good.
  5. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,430 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,270
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    ... Lol I was editing to reply to the reply for which you replied....
  6. dedi New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    any one who would get a promo code for me? If think it still works, but never has for me, always getting to the validation page where I should enter a Win7 key.

    I know I'm asking for much, but I would really appreciate it so much!
  7. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,257 (3.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,410
    Use internet explorer. I had the same problem but got through it when I tried with IE instead of chrome.
    Drone says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. Drone

    Drone

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    2,475 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,179
    nvm it's fine now
    Last edited: Oct 30, 2012
  9. dedi New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I tried, both 32 and 64bit. From 2 different computers. Multiple times :(
  10. manofthem

    manofthem

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    5,668 (4.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,530
    Great, I did a clean install too so looks like I'll be having this trouble too. :(
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  11. dedi New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I thought there is a registry hack to apply when doing a plain fresh install, which will allow you to activate it.
  12. dedi New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Setup\OOBE]
    "MediaBootInstall"=dword:00000000


    try this.
    Change it from 1 to 0
    then reboot and activate

    If this does not work alone, continue with

    1. Open elevated command prompt (Right click -> Run As Administrator)
    2. Type slmgr -rearm <enter>
    3. Reboot

    After that it should be activated.
  13. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,257 (3.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,410
    Try firefox on ubuntu then. http://www.ubuntu.com/tour/en/#
    I spent an hour trying different info in chrome. Then went to IE and it worked without a problem. I used the info october 2, newegg, other built myself
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. Drone

    Drone

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    2,475 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,179
    nvm it's resolved now
    Last edited: Oct 30, 2012
  15. dedi New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Same thing for me with chrome, firefox and IE.
    Not quite Ubuntu, but I tried also Android, Chrome and FF. Still nothing works.

    The only hope for me is now someone would be that nice to obtain a promo code for me :respect:
  16. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (5.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,615
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    When I try to run certain executables I am getting "The extended attributes are inconsistent".
    Thoughts?
  17. manofthem

    manofthem

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    5,668 (4.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,530
    I may be able to help, give me a bit.
    dedi says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  18. tacosRcool

    tacosRcool

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    Messages:
    860 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    You can get the Windows 8 Pro for $39.99 from Staples, Office Max, and Office Depot. I know Office Depot for sure but customers have to ask to price match it from Staples and Office Max since they are price matching it from Microsoft.
  19. manofthem

    manofthem

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    5,668 (4.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,530
    You have a PM, try it out :toast:
    dedi says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  20. snowbound New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I am a bit confused here is this offer giving keys that do not work on computers which already either have Windows8 Release Preview or on ones that you want to do a clean install onto?

    Its a bit moot here anyways since it did not take my Windows7 key for proof of ownership.
    Last edited: Oct 27, 2012
  21. dedi New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thank you very much! From here on it worked flawless

    It's great to meet such nice people


    I still don't know what makes the difference, I even tried going through TOR, but only with firefox (torbrowser) and firefox/chrome on android (orbot). Maybe VPN to an other country could work, but I dont have access to one.
  22. Phusius

    Phusius New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,318 (1.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    380
    Can't believe some of these posts, sorry you all had so much trouble, I literally just typed a random date, and literally the words Carbide 500r and random what the brand and model.

    I selected transfer Nothing, then deleted the windows.old folder with disk cleanup after all was done, you literally could not tell it was not a fresh install. /shrug

    Windows activated perfectly with 0 hiccups.
    manofthem says thanks.
  23. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (5.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,615
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    No need to apologize, Phusius.
    You posted a link to get Windows 8 for a great price.
    There will always be issues as different people will do different things that may or may not work as planned.
    This thread is a great place for people to figure out the details and ask for help to get everything working to their satisfaction.
    stinger608 and Phusius say thanks.
  24. redeye

    redeye

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2010
    Messages:
    202 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    Location:
    mississauga, on, Canada
    with all due respect....


    you can't use ubuntu to get a windows upgrade key...
    just use any other window browser...

    BTW i used chrome in win7 to get the win8 "deal"... i planned on upgrading the win7, but then remembered that it is always wise to clean install...that is what i did.

    And I Disconnected My Windows 7 drive.

    everything went smoothly.. (only difference is that you must enter your win8 key in order to procede with the win8 install... but it did install cleanly and i did not have to activate)
    of course, when i checked the win8 activation by using "slmgr /xpr" it responded with "this computer is permanently activated"... if that means that it is permanently tied to this computer... oh well,it is only 15 "wasted" dollars on a program.. :laugh: ok overstated a bit...

    anyways, I'm going to let win8 "age" a bit... i think i prefer win7... but i do like win8's task manager.



    TL;DR... use win7 to get the "deal"... must enter the win8 key before installing... clean install preferable IMO, and i prefer win7 at the moment.
  25. redeye

    redeye

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2010
    Messages:
    202 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    Location:
    mississauga, on, Canada
    you get a key for win 8 pro. (and i works for me for a clean install)

    i don't really know if you can upgrade the win8 preview with the key (microsoft "free" preview OS tend not to be upgradable..) you can try, nothing lost. if it does not work, reinstall win8, and you could do the files and settings thing, reinstall all the programs etc... "a clean install"

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page