1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Anyone can upgrade to Windows 8 Pro for $14.99.

Discussion in 'General Software' started by Phusius, Oct 26, 2012.

  1. manofthem

    manofthem

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    5,086 (4.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,907
    Stuff your sorrys in a sac ;). Everything on the Internet is do at your own risk, but i think most have been having a decent time with this. I just got my Media key so I'm good there too.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,738 (2.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,043
    You can upgrade from win8 preview. I did that but for the 40$/30Euro ugrade offer via download.
  3. snowbound New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    There are also problem that some people like me are encountering even getting to the point of purchasing the upgrade in that some Windows7 keys are not being accepted. I hesitate in that there appears to be an on going activiation or reactivation problem after the installation.
  4. UbErN00b New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Messages:
    257 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    Ingerland
    Why do you need your Windows 7 key? you receive a Windows 8 key when you purchase at no time did I have to refer to my Win7 key?

    What's this media key?
  5. manofthem

    manofthem

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    5,086 (4.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,907
    Phusius posted this link a few pages back, took a while to get it though.
    http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/windows-8/feature-packs

    Adds on Windows Media Center free :)
    Mussels says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,738 (2.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,043
    stinger608 says thanks.
  7. manofthem

    manofthem

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    5,086 (4.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,907
    If you activate the key for media center, it installs and reboots without asking you. So make sure nothing is unsaved lol
    Phusius says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. Phusius

    Phusius New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,318 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    380
    Yeah, it auto-rebooted me when I was in Steam chat with manofthem, lol
    manofthem says thanks.
  9. stinger608

    stinger608

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    6,710 (3.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,104
    Location:
    Wyoming
    Yep same here!! Just installed the upgrade to my laptop and it all seems to be running great. :rockout:
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. snowbound New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Because if one wants to use the $14.99 offer you have to enter your Windows7 key that is why,.
  11. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,738 (2.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,043
    Install instructions begin in a funny way:

    "Swipe in from the right edge of the screen, and then tap Search."

    Oh dear.
    NHKS and Mussels say thanks.
  12. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (5.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,610
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    @snowbound : I didn't have to for the upgrade. Is that just for getting the ISO?

    If that doesn't work try a double tap :laugh:
    Crap Daddy says thanks.
  13. manofthem

    manofthem

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    5,086 (4.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,907
    Yeah that was funky, made me think that it's really designed for touch application rather than mouse.

    I didn't have to do that, not sure why some do
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. snowbound New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1

    There are two upgrades for Windows8. The $40 offer which DOES not require a key for prior version of Windows and then there is the $14.99 version for recently new purchasers of a Win7 box WHICH requires in step 2 to enter your Windows7 key.
  15. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (5.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,610
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    I got the $15 upgrade and never had to enter any key information.
    Mussels and stinger608 say thanks.
  16. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,738 (2.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,043
    Kreij - Balmer 1-0
  17. snowbound New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Ok the problem was that instead of use Other for the manufacturer build I had used a brand name which forced me to enter a Windows7 key. Tried it again and this time I used Other which did not force me to enter any Windows7 key.
  18. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (5.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,610
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    I was just being honest. I said other and that I built it myself. (shrug)
  19. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,135 (3.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,719
    Location:
    Mexico
    I got the $15 upgrade and it never asked me for a key. I put "Brand: Other" and a make up model in the details, though. Maybe it ask for the key if you specify an OEM model??? :confused:
    Phusius says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. Phusius

    Phusius New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,318 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    380
    Nice, xD I was being honest too I said Carbide 500r :) :rockout:
  21. snowbound New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    What is the size of the ISO file that one creates from 64 bit version of Windows8 upgrade? The file here is 2.69 GB (2,896,756,736 bytes). I thought 64 bit versions were over 3GB in size.
  22. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,135 (3.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,719
    Location:
    Mexico
    Mine is 2.66GB. Spanish version, though
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. manofthem

    manofthem

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    5,086 (4.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,907
    mine is 2.8gb
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,786 (7.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    Where do we get the ISO file from this?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. manofthem

    manofthem

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    5,086 (4.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,907
    It gives you the option after downloading to save to media, and then to save to USB or iso.
    [Ion] says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page