1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Anyone can upgrade to Windows 8 Pro for $14.99.

Discussion in 'General Software' started by Phusius, Oct 26, 2012.

  1. sugiik New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2012
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    thx for the info

    just upgrade, and looks like i got trouble for the metro, and after i reinstall all works fine....

    got question :
    i download the win 8 , wich in : C:\esd (about 2,xx gb), how can i move it to my ekst hdd / flashdisk
    to make a boot for clean install ?

    can i use this for my other pc ?(is this installer 64 and 32 bit compatible ? )
  2. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (5.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,615
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    or Windows-X -> Control Panel -> System

    Still haven't figure out why programs are giving me an error when I try to run them.
    I was googling but didn't see anything concrete on it.
    Run executable
    Say yes to UAC crap
    Get error "Extended attributes are inconsistent"
    Program quits.
  3. lamous New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2012
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    here's a question:

    i want to install 64-bit windows 8 on my self-built pc. right now, i have vista 32-bit, as that was the only windows disc i had at the time. i take it that when i download win8 from microsoft, i'll get the 32-bit version. if i download the 64-bit version from somewhere else, can i use the key that i pay for from microsoft on the 64-bit version i downloaded from an alternate source?
  4. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,739 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,044
    Try disable the windows user account control sound.

    Sounds weird but read this:

    https://chentiangemalc.wordpress.co...rompt-extended-attributes-are-inconsistent-2/
    Kreij says thanks.
  5. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (5.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,615
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    Thanks CrapDaddy. That worked.
    This also fixed the problem that if I tried to run Command Prompt (Admin) it would give me a "no association" error.

    Also found out that by dragging to bottom left and right clicking on start box gives you the same menu as Win-X (for people who can't remember shortcuts. :D )
    Crap Daddy says thanks.
  6. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,451 (5.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,202
    From the sounds of it... Its a good thing im not installing Win 8 just yet.
  7. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (5.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,615
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    Go for it, FE. Half the fun of a new OS is getting it to work right. lol

    I added Shutdown and Restart shortcuts to both the desktop and Metro UI. Not sure why they didn't include that in the Win-X menu.
    I know I can add it with the hashlnk tool, but the shortcuts are just as easy.
  8. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,451 (5.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,202
    I will do eventually :toast:

    this win 8 is destined to be installed on my HP DM1 which is already having some issues with the registry that even CC Cleaner or any well known registry repair software cant seem to fix.

    Its working fine, but there are some software that keeps crashing for no reason after I tried to setup a ram disk. had it load some files and stuff on there. restarted my laptop and the ram disk never autoloaded and thats the end of that story. Ive managed to fix some of the issues but there are some still there that I cant fix cuz i dont quite understand why its happening.

    I was gonna reinstall Win 7 Ultimate on it but Win 8 will do just fine, when It finally finishes all its torrents which isnt going to be anytime soon.
  9. Caleb666 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  10. lamous New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2012
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    this worked, by the way.
  11. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,739 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,044
  12. redeye

    redeye

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2010
    Messages:
    205 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    Location:
    mississauga, on, Canada
    i purchased the win8 14.99 offer, and i did not have to enter the win7 key... (and i only had to enter the win8 key once, and it was activated automatically) probably because i did a clean install onto a spare HDD (ssd)
  13. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,444 (10.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,995
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    WIth Start8 (4.99$) it makes it identical to windows 7 just if you want metro scroll over to the top right and click the start in the middle of the bar
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. RejZoR

    RejZoR

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    4,432 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    873
    Location:
    Europe/Slovenia
    How do you get a CD key? From the looks of it, the program does it all by itself, but where do you get the ISO and key if you want to reinstall it later?
  15. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,472 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,299
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    It gave me the key twice. I think the first time was before the download, and then it gave it to me again after. I know because I pasted into a txt file at the end, and saw I had already pasted it from earlier.

    I downloaded to USB - it formats it and creates a bootable disc. Knowing the size, I wouldn't have comitted it to use all of a nice 8GB stick...
  16. animal007uk

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,205 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    262
    Location:
    Warwick, Warwickshire, England
    It took a few trys but got it to work and downloading now.
  17. redeye

    redeye

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2010
    Messages:
    205 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    Location:
    mississauga, on, Canada

    try installing win7 (without a key) to the hdd, then erase the win7 install using the win8 disk, and continue... enter win8 key...

    that is what I did.

    well, i had a win7 tester install (just skipped the key entry page,) on the drive which i erased in the win8 installer, so maybe that is why i was not asked for the win7 key. I only entered the win8 key in the install and that is all.


    try slmgr /xpr (that will tell you how long you have until you need to activate it.)

    also google "slmrg.vbs" ... it will detail the options for slmgr...


    just checked to win8 install I did yesterday. did not ask me for the win7 key.
    but, I have the win8 in a separate SSD, and win7 on another SSD and i use the bios boot method (press f8 while in bios boot info screen) to get to the win8/win7 install. I dont use the windows "dual" boot screen.

    TL;DR.. install win7 (skip key entry)(or any other qualifying OS)...after (the OS) win7 is installed, shut-down win7, then install win8 clean from the DVD (will need to enter the win8 key), by deleting the win7 install... that is what i did, and maybe that was why i was not asked for the win 7 key.


    "slmgr /xpr" to check how long before you need to activate it.


    BTW, yes this is way to complicated... but if an empty HDD/SSD, does not work for a clean install of win8... probably what you will need to do.
    Last edited: Oct 28, 2012
  18. manofthem

    manofthem

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    5,714 (4.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,651
    How did you add those shortcuts?
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  19. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (5.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,615
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    @manofthem : Here you go

    I could have told you to goolge it, but I HATE WHEN PEOPLE DO THAT. Especially in my sections. lol
    manofthem says thanks.
  20. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,070 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    794
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    Does the upgrade work for XP pro? anyone tried?
  21. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (5.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,615
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    I looks like you can but will have to re-install all your apps.

    suraswami says thanks.
  22. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,739 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,044
    Don't know if this deal will work but the regular upgrade, the 40$ one works, tough as Kreij said you can keep only documents.
  23. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (5.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,615
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    I think it will work (given the limitations) as the $39.99 one is the same except for the promo code to get it cheaper. It still uses the same updater.
    I too, am interested to see if anyone did this.
  24. manofthem

    manofthem

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    5,714 (4.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,651
    That is rather marvelous, thanks for rewarding my ineptitude lol. I was sort of expecting a "let me google that for you" link :laugh:

    Got them pinned right where I want them, thanks.
    Last edited: Oct 28, 2012
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  25. Phusius

    Phusius New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,318 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    380
    I feel like Microsoft owes me for promoting Windows 8 Pro and selling about 100-200 of their products. :)

    lolol <3

    Newegg actually PM'ed me TPU forums here, asking me why I had an issue with them in one topic but thanking me for promoting their great deals I post sometimes like the 7950 for $269.99, etc. They sent me a XL Newegg t-shirt and amd 7950 4-1 game coupon that i missed out on with my 7950 <3 (should both be here around Wednesday)

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page