1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Anyone can upgrade to Windows 8 Pro for $14.99.

Discussion in 'General Software' started by Phusius, Oct 26, 2012.

  1. segalaw19800

    segalaw19800

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    383 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    Location:
    Lost in space
    it will be on your order summary Don't forget to print it
     
    Agility says thanks.
  2. Agility

    Agility

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,646 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    Location:
    Singapore
    seagalaw, those two posts are for me? :\
     
  3. segalaw19800

    segalaw19800

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    383 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    Location:
    Lost in space
    yes
     
  4. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,565 (11.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,835
    that should be in teh first post.



    any way i can buy a key or two and save them for later? i dont really feel like upgrading my laptops just yet, but want to grab this deal while i can
     
  5. Agility

    Agility

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,646 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    Location:
    Singapore
    Mussels you could keep em aside and use anytime. Its only purchasing Windows 8 at a much much cheaper price then its original. And that's what i'm doing right now. You might want to get some promotional code for an even cheaper discount. Buying mine for $18SGD ($15USD)

    http://www.windowsupgradeoffer.com/ links here for offer.
     
  6. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    7,467 (3.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,112
    Location:
    Wyoming
    :laugh: I know Mussels!!! Didn't think about that until I had already posted.......Sorry man! If you can do it, combine the two posts........Sorry for the double post bro. :eek:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  7. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,565 (11.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,835
    at what stage do i reach that tho? do i need the download first?
     
  8. Agility

    Agility

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,646 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    Location:
    Singapore
    No. Before. It will prompt you for particular details. The next page would confirm the checkout and includes a box for placing your promotional code. I'm not sure if code is region given. Make sure you press the APPLY before confirming your checkout
     
  9. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,565 (11.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,835
    coolio. i've been stuck at the 'lets see whats compatible' screen for a while now.
     
  10. Agility

    Agility

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,646 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    Location:
    Singapore
    It took me a few minutes. You might want to restart the application. :cool:
     
  11. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,565 (11.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,835
    $14.99 Au and i've got legit windows 8. woooo!
     
    stinger608 says thanks.
  12. Agility

    Agility

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,646 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    Location:
    Singapore
    Cool story bro. If i were you, i did make a few purchases for future use.
     
  13. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,565 (11.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,835
    yeah i'm going to install/test this later on a different hard drive, and if i like the OS i'll grab a copy for the missus and/or laptop.
     
  14. kid41212003

    kid41212003

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,584 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    533
    Location:
    California
    kool

    I did it

    thank bro
     
  15. Drone

    Drone

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    2,919 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,697
    Same here, it didn't work.
     
  16. dylanando New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2012
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Worked for me. $15 windows 8. bargin lol
     
  17. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    14,053 (5.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,430
    Worked for me.... Just purchased for £15 ($24 - Welcome to ripoff Britain!) not as cheap as you folks from from the U.S but its still a great offer which i can afford and not something ridiculous like close to £170 ($274) for Win7 Ultimate.

    Currently downloading as we speak. going to burn it onto DVD then install it on my laptop at a later date since my laptop is not much of a gaming machine.


    Does the upgrade assistant give you the option to burn the ISO??
     
  18. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,565 (11.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,835
    yes. AND to make a bootable USB drive (which i'm doing right now)
     
    FreedomEclipse says thanks.
  19. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,778 (9.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,238
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Purchasing now. I guess since its so cheap might as well upgrade while I can. :)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,875 (1.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    689
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    What is the size of the download?
     
  21. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,565 (11.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,835
    2.62GB folder in mine. it may have given me the 64 bit version.


    late edit: yes, it gave me x64. it detects based on the OS you ran the tool on.
     
    Last edited: Oct 27, 2012
  22. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    14,053 (5.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,430
    fingers crossed it did the same for me too :eek::eek:
     
  23. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,778 (9.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,238
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Ok purchased and its downloading BUT How do I know if this is x64 bit?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,801 (2.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,523
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    It also says:

    Why is that?
     
  25. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    14,053 (5.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,430
    I think its all down to the autoupdate tool they make you run. If it detects that you are running a 64bit OS, they might give you the 64bit one.


    In any case, if there is no x64 option then I will just not install it and wait until its going for more £££ or $$$ before selling it to a friend.

    Its a legit copy after all.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page