1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Anyone can upgrade to Windows 8 Pro for $14.99.

Discussion in 'General Software' started by Phusius, Oct 26, 2012.

  1. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,259 (3.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,410
    I don't need help upgrading. I upgraded to windows 7 just fine, and installed windows 8 release preview way back just fine. I did remove the preview soon afterwords though. The problem is buying the upgrade key for $15 dollars. I think my cropped screen shot was misleading.

    [​IMG]

    I do not think upgrading to windows 8 is worth $40.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. Phusius

    Phusius New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,318 (1.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    380
    yes, its only for new machines. which is why my topic is brilliant because my machine is 1 year old. lolol

    here are my desktop wallpapers, im in the mood for sharing today.

    http://imgur.com/41cfA,fkcPA,UPrB3,MPanZ,0FpLN,P8c8h,qV0aN,xyonq,pD90X,gE3mj,Wf5gi,je8F9,fNIQo,4ZtBy

    14 images there just click next, see if you like any
  3. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,259 (3.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,410
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (5.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,615
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    I don't know. Maybe has something to do with the date you entered or the model?
    I don't remember what I put in, I was just winging it. :ohwell:
  5. Phusius

    Phusius New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,318 (1.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    380
    They must have fixed it James, I am sorry. It never asked any of the rest of us for our Win 7 key, lol. Like I said I think Microsoft did it on purpose to just get the talk riled up, throw some freebies out there, just get the pot boiling. :roll:
  6. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,259 (3.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,410
    Same here. What date did you put in? I put in october 1 2012.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,430 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,270
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    WTF is this?

    [​IMG]
  8. goodgreenganja New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2012
    Messages:
    4 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    YEEESSS!!

    After pausing, closing out, and reopening the program a few times it now says "11 minutes". I am psyched.
  9. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (5.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,615
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    The pages still look the same to me.
    I don't remember, I just picked a random date in October and retailer was Newegg, and I think I chose "other" for the computer.
    I don't remember what I put in model.
  10. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,430 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,270
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    For a model, I just put in a dell from the internet :)

    What's with the screen above, ship a DVD for $14.99, or download for $39.99?
  11. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (5.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,615
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    I think once you go past that if you don't check the media one it asks for the promo code and you get the download one for $15
    Sasqui says thanks.
  12. manofthem

    manofthem

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    5,672 (4.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,535
    Sasqui says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  13. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,259 (3.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,410
    I think it just doesn't like me. I just tried 10 different dates. All had different reference numbers.

    This is the last bit of info I put in.
    [​IMG]
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. Phusius

    Phusius New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,318 (1.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    380
    clean your cache with cc cleaner and try again is all i can say

    and yes sas that page is normal, just hit continue u enter your promo code after you put in your credit card info. :nutkick:
  15. Delta6326

    Delta6326

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,818 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    665
    Location:
    Iowa, USA
    Maybe try Pc brand as Other, unless the computer your trying is the HP Envy maybe it knows.

    At 35% DL I have slow internets
  16. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (5.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,615
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    Sigh ... the things I do for my friends on TPU.
    I'll try again and blow another $15 and let you know what I did. :laugh:
  17. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,259 (3.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,410
    Not for me please. Sasqui seems to be getting it just fine.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (5.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,615
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    Okay, I picked USA, Put in all my information, picked October 2nd 2012 and Newegg.
    Computer was "Other" and "Built it myself".
    I got the promo code almost instantly in e-mail.

    I can't run the upgrade assistant now as I already am upgraded here, but I can do it later at work or something. Up to this point it never asks for any CC info.
    Hmm ... Maybe I can just pull the ISO? Nope, looks like it will check compatibility.
    james888 says thanks.
  19. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,430 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,270
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    OK, no option to download to a USB after paying, what happens after this step?

    [​IMG]
  20. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (5.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,615
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    It's loading .... after a whole bunch of other stuff it will install (upgrade the OS) and run.
    Sasqui says thanks.
  21. manofthem

    manofthem

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    5,672 (4.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,535
    That comes after downloading ;)

    When it's done, you can choose to install now, save to media (usb or iso), or a third option....
    Sasqui says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  22. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,259 (3.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,410
    Got it now. Decided I would try internet explorer instead of chrome. It worked. I used kreij's details first without trying any others on IE.

    I got the promo code email. Gosh what an hours of stupid chrome stuff. Thanks everyone. I was getting pretty frustrated wondering why I got the short stick.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. manofthem

    manofthem

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    5,672 (4.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,535
    I too used Chrome. I tried several times and got errors, but I came back to it and it worked. maybe there's some weird power behind Chrome giving errors when IE should be used lol
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  24. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (5.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,615
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    Never thought it might be happier with IE, but it makes sense. lol

    IE FTW !! (at least in this case).
  25. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,430 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,270
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Rock on... thx.

    I hope it doesn't just start the install... don't want that till I clone my drive.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page