1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Anyone else having any issues with the newest catalyst drivers, 9.7?

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by WarEagleAU, Aug 12, 2009.

  1. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,796 (3.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Just asking because when I try playing Anno 1404, it gives me a driver error after trying to build the market place. Any ideas?
  2. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    For the games that I play, everything runs fine.
    Except WoW which I seems to get wierd lightning glitches. (Happens with every version it seems)

    Just do the routine, uninstall the suckers + run driver sweeper and reinstall.
  3. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,796 (3.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    I did, twice. I wonder if its just I have the settings up way too high. WHich is odd because I figure it could take it but I could be wrong. I didn;t much change anything from what the game had set. I do get the weird lighting issues when trying to click on the marketplace. Ill give that a shot. Thanks Zubasa.
  4. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    The lighting issues seems to only occur when I set the lighting to the highest.
    Not sure what causes it, but it is sometimes annoying in WoW.
  5. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,796 (3.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    yeah think that is what was my problem. However, when I exited out of Anno 1404 after playing for a minute, the desktop kind of flickers odd colors before going back to normal. Of course I am running Dreamscene for my desktop, but this happens after I upgraded the drivers. Machine and cpu/gpu are very cool, running water so not sure what the deal is. More an annoyance than anything.
  6. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    If 9.6 didn't do it, just roll back. Not every driver release is worth upgrading to for everyone.
    eidairaman1 says thanks.
  7. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    The thing about Dreamscene is that it is actually GPU accelerated. :roll:
    So it does put a load on your card.
  8. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    11,939 (4.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,334
    Finally someone that makes sense with Driver Updates.

    anywho Has anyone tried Running the DNA drivers???

    I was thinking of moving to those for my Current machine, or should I just go after the Catalyst 9.3.1?
  9. jhine5588 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Messages:
    88 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Only issue I'm having is after about 15 minutes of gaming I get VPU Recover where I never did before... Switching back to 9.6's



    Jeremy

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page